We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, apartment good for families”
Review of Maleny Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maleny Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, apartment good for families”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at Maleny Hideaway for 1 night while touring around SE Queensland recently. The property is located a short way out of town in a lovely secluded spot overlooking a beautiful valley.

We stayed in the 2 bed apartment which was fantastic for a family of 4. It had a twin room, a sitting room with limited kitchen facilities, a private verandah and a large king bedroom with ensuite. The bedroom was nicely decorated with a supremely comfortable bed - I had a great sleep!

The hosts were nice and friendly and the sitting areas etc very nice taking advantage of the views and fireplace. Breakfast cooked to order was great. There was good visitor information for local restaurants and bushwalks etc.

When you are travelling with the kids having extra facilities like the games room downstairs with giant chess set was much appreciated.

There were a couple of small details which would have made the stay 'excellent'.
Firstly, we had a broken lock on our door, which the hosts apologised for.
A lamp in the loungeroom would help with ambiance. Finally it does get quite cold in Maleny in the winter and the one small fan heater would suit one room but not a whole apartment.

I would love to return one day to enjoy a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hubby and I went up for 3 nights as we are due for bub No.1 in 3 weeks and wanted one last quiet getaway. It was just wonderful, Grant and Kerrie were the MOST friendly hosts Ive ever had at a B&B (and Ive been all over the world) no request was too much and they made you feel right at home.

As we were on a budget we did go for one of the cheaper rooms which had the shared toilet. These were located downstairs and were basically but neatly fitted out with a shower (good hot water) and TV in the room (plus a comfy clean bed and tea/coffee stuff) which was all we needed as we only used the room for sleeping and spent the rest of the time doing a puzzle and chatting with other guests in the communal areas (with log fire!).

There were plenty of spots (balconies etc) that people could escape to if they wanted some quiet time, but being winter the fire was the place to be.

Breaky was wonderful and I loved the variety of items on offer. Even considering my size I had no problems getting comfy and the stairs were no problem, neither was the separate toilet.

Hubby and I are looking forward to heading back in a year or so for another get away (this time with bub) as this is one of the few (only around 2) places that happily takes children.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are like us, need somewhere reasonably priced, good welcoming hosts and a nice clean basic room to sleep in while you venture around Maleny.

Thanks again Grant & Kerrie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieChick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

A big thank you to Maleny Hideaway for a fabulous weekend stay. The lounge room and fire heater were the perfect way for us to get some much needed relaxation in while absorbing the amazing views. We were visiting nearby family on a trip over from London and will happily look Grant and Kerrie up again. Great people make a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teflonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This would have to have been the worst holiday experience I can recall. We only stayed one of three nights we were booked. We had no idea when booking, that the room was under the house. We were told our money for the other nights would be refunded as we were not happy, however that didn't happen. The only positive thing, apart from the view, was the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't believe the photos. Ask first which room you'll be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maleny Hideaway, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Other than our 3 room apartment all the rooms are downstairs. Even if you have booked the smallest and least expensive rooms all our guests are encouraged.to enjoy the use of the main lounge room the fire place the gardens or games room.
Our refund policy is pretty staight forward if you cancel before 7 days there is a full refund within 7 days there is only a refund if we can resell the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

VALUE FOR MONEY: unbeatable value for accomodation + breakfast (included in the price). I was pleasantly surprised to find gluten-free and vegetarian options on the breakfast menu.

ONE NIGHT STAYS OK: This accomodation is perfect if you're after a one-night stay (most hotels have a two-night minimum).

EXCELLENT SERVICE: The owner operators could not be more accomodating. Best service ever.

For future stays in Maleny, I will definately be back. This is not a big, flashy hotel, it's a small homely setting with a laid back feel. Excellent service. Great views.

Room Tip: TIP: If you're fussy about having your own bathroom, ensure that you book an ensuite room (other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Wow is all I can say! We booked for one night and loved the friendly welcome. I arrived with a back injury which has occured a few hours before. A one night booking turned into one week because I decided "this" was the place to stay and heal my back. I felt like I was home and was fed and spoilt, given a hot water bottle and a great Chiropracter contact in the town. A week later and Im back to new.

I would highly recommend this B&B. The breakfast included was yummy, the owners Grant and Kerrie are super friendly and helpful and the gardens and views are stunning. The room was lovely, the bed was soooooo good. We will certainly be back here again and highly recommend Maleny Hideaway as the BEST place to stay in Maleny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A huge thank you to Grant & Kerrie, Molly & Christine for the most wonderful accommodation,
service & hospitality, we've ever experienced, staying at a B & B. Spectacular views, amazing service, incredible low cost, making it possible for us to come & stay, the best food, and gorgeous accommodation. What more can we say, just ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

We felt relaxed, looked after, safe, and extremely comfortable. We will be telling every one about
our stay, and we will definately be coming back LOTS !!! THANK YOU MALENY HIDEAWAY!!!

Room Tip: all were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maleny hotels
5.0 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.6 mi away
Artisan Spa Views Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#9 of 16 in Maleny
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
3.7 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Hideaway

Property: Maleny Hideaway
Address: 32 Sidney Lane, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Hotel Class:3 star — Maleny Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA country guesthouse retreat located at Maleny above the Sunshine Coast and set in 20 acres of the beautiful Blackall Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maleny Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing