We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Curries”

Daawat Indian Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Childers, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Curries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We are having a short holiday in Montville and decided to have lunch at the Dawaat Restaurant yesterday. We have been eating and cooking Indian for 40 years and know a bit about it. This was one of the best indian meals we have ever had in a restaurant. The curries were tasty, prawns in the prawn jalfrezi were plentiful and the naan delicious!! We ordered the curries "hot" and they were perfect to our taste. We can certainly recommend the Dawaat Restaurant also for the good friendly service - 2 young people having a go - they're certainly on their way!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Foodie725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ordered curried prawn and a curried fish dish to take away. Not many prawns and not much fish in lots of sauce. Maleny is poorly served by cheap take away restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank graemet483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, quality, good value curries and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We had takeaway from Daawat two weeks ago with my curry loving family from the UK. It was our first try at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Tasty, fresh curries, in our case including a delicious beef jalfarezi, chicken korma and some malai kofte were complemented by rice and piping hot naan breads. All I can say is that if you want to know how good a curry is, ask a Brit, and my family loved it all. The fact that we could specify the chilli level was also helpful, as our kids vary in their taste for hot spicy dishes. At the end of a long day it was wonderful to have such fresh, tasty food available at a great price. Certainly very affordable for our families and a rare good value meal in a town with often grossly inflated restaurant prices. The staff were lovely too and there was certainly a family feel. We rarely eat out but have been back since and plan to do so again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yes they do have the best butter chicken!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Cooked traditionally with the best ingredients, this restaurant offers you the best tastes of Indian cuisine to the taste and level of spice you desire, service with a smile and a friendly family environment, and yes they offer the very best butter chicken on the Sunshine Coast and hinterland,

I thoroughly recommend this restaurant whether you want to eat in or have a takeaway,

Awesome food!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank ZCC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daawat Indian Restaurant also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Daawat Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing