We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Ranked #2 of 15 Maleny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Priceless”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The peace and quiet, the privacy and supurb views, the spectacular king size 2 person spa and a very comfortable king size bed, a wall mounted wide-screen 3D TV, DVD player with a library of dvd's to choose from and a stereo/cd player, full bathroom facilities and kitchen together with the free standing wood fire, huge private balcony and attached carport of the Candi Dasa Villa, the chirping birds, kookaburras and the friendly cattle made this an outstanding destination for a mid year break. Although we made our own breakfast on a few occassions, the accomodation came with a yummy breakfast thrown in each morning for the 6 night stay which made this journey south truly breathtaking. The hospitality shown by Ken and Dawn, Benji and Cassie was outstanding, they couldn't have done a better job. A welcomed rest enjoyed by us both, therefore truly priceless. We will return!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
237
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Amazing views- definitely.
Privacy- maybe.
Can hear every footstep in the one large wooden house- cabins look better in that regard. The lack of a door on the toilet may take relationships to new levels of intimacy- not quite what I'm into!
Has great potential, though needs a few tweaks I think.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capalaba, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at one of the excellently appointed villas during the Queens' Birthday long weekend. We stayed at the Candi Dasa Villa that overlooks a beautiful valley with the Baroone Dam in the background. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our included breakfasts, the relaxing environment and the ability to enjoy the time away from our hectic lifestyles. We also enjoyed visiting the local towns of Maleny and Montville.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Maleny Tropical resort and had a very wonderful time staying at the beautiful maleny retreat. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by one of the dogs Benji and he was barking excitedly to let Ken (our host) know that we're there! Ken is a great cook and we were pampered with eggs benedict, bacon with eggs and sweet berry pancakes in the morning. The room is spacious, very cosy with spa bath and a romantic natural fireplace. We also went down to the Obi Obi creek with the company of Benji and Cassie (his mum) and the dogs are soo cute...they are always so excited when they see anyone walking down the creek and can't wait to lead them to the Obi Obi's wonders. We had such a relaxing time getting away from the chaos and busy lifestyle from the city (Brisbane) and it's like a paradise overlooking the mountains with waterfalls of the Obi Obi creek just at the bottom of the Tropical Retreat. Local restaurants are only a few minutes away. Thank you Ken :)

PS - We fell in love with a picture featuring a pair of Twany Frogmouth on one of Ken's brochures and we rang Ken up the next day asking whether he could do us a favour and whethr it'd be possible to scan it for us. He went to town the next day just to scan the picture to email to us. He is such a nice guy and a great host and cook!! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: For couples I will recommend the secluded and romantic Lovina room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I agree that the 4 nights we spent here were among the most relaxing times of our lives! Our room was perfectly appointed (comfortable bed, lush towels and a fabulous double spa, among other things), with sublime views. The breakfasts cooked by Ken were simply delicious and we found him and the other staff to be most obliging. We enjoyed being accompanied on walks down to the creek by the dogs - Benji and Cassie. The accomodation is in an ideal location for those who want some peace and quiet, yet enjoy short pictureque drives (approx 10 mins) to local cafes and book shops. We can't recommend this place enough. Thanks Ken and Dawn! T and C

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We escaped up to the mountains for our 'anniversary night' to celebrate 7 wonderful years together. The incredible room was private, spacious and divine with a vast selection of movies and CD's to peruse. Our fabulous hostess, Dawn, knew all the delicious restaurants close by and also mentioned that the Montville Bar and Grill would send a complimentary bus to pick us up and deliver us back! Done. We had time to go for a leisurely walk down to the Obi Obi creek and escorted by the 'happy body guards' (their 2 lovely dogs). My partner (he is European!) had a refreshing swim in the gorgeous, scenic, waterhole. We then had time for a warm bubbly spa, some champagne and at 7.30, the mini bus arrived outside, as organised. We were whisked away for a night of fun, amazing music, excellent meals and even some 'dancing on the deck'. Next morning, we had a fabulous home cooked feast, but then sadly, retreated back down the hill to our frantic life of work (nurses at the Nambour Hospital), our family of teenagers, and dull, usual routines.
An amazing experience that was refreshing, bonding, fun, enjoyable, we were so incredibly well looked after, and we shall return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha_benno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

What an relaxing and enjoyable stay. Had 3 nights in the Candi Dasa unit and what a stress free holiday it was. Fantastic views of tropical country surrounds overlooking Lake Baroon with a short walk to Obi Obi creek. So peaceful watching and listening to the magpies and other bird life through the day and the sounds of the frogs and crickets at night. Just lovely to sit on the verandah of our unit taking in the sights and sounds whilst sampling a nice red with Maleny cheese and biscuits. Beautiful appointed private unit with the spa, kingsize bed and double shower etc. Would be a hit with honeymooners. Highly recommended with fantastic and friendly hosts to boot. Superb breakfast of fresh fruit topped with the greatest yoghurt (locally produced) we have tasted. Situated in close proximity to Montville and Maleny and other tourist sites in the Blackall Ranges.

Room Tip: Best view and privacy in the Candi Dasa unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
1.9 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 15 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Artisan Spa Views Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Tropical Retreat

Property: Maleny Tropical Retreat
Address: 540 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maleny Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maleny Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing