We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to cook Laos food”

The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School
Reserve with
The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $71
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.The Tamarind Cooking School offers a cut above the rest with a purpose-built cooking school headed by Chef Phil teaching the intricacies of Thai, French & Italian cuisine. The school features state of the art cooking stations, air-conditioned comfort and spectacular views perched amongst the beautiful green grounds overlooking the rainforest. Each class is highly informative, hands-on and intimate (limited to maximum 12 people). Chef Phil teaches in a simple, approachable way, enabling you to recreate delicious dishes at home to impress family and friends. Demonstration classes are also available, where you can learn unique tips in a short 2 hour class. Take home the skills to make dumplings, desserts to tie for or impress your friends with a range of great dinner table options.
north yorks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great to cook Laos food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

There were ten of us in our group and what a laugh watching the males trying to cook. Us girls sat back and enjoyed a glass of wine whilst the men cooked for a change. nice atmosphere , the ownners were very proud to teach us about all the fresh produce, They showed us how to cook fish steamed in banana leaves, sticky rice, luang probang salad, stuffed lemon grass, spicy laos curry, green papaya salad, all were outstanding. This school provides a unique day of cooking in open air pavillions amidst picturesque gardens and lotus ponds. after cooking all these lovely dishes we sat down to a wonderful feast.
Tamarind a taste of laos
on the Nam Khan River
Ban Wat Sene Luang Probang
Lao PDR
Tel 071 213128 (+856)2077770484
email info@tamarindlaaos.com
www.tamarindlaos.com

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delisimo Food”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had the Banquet here for Lunch and I must say the food was outstanding full of flavour and it was timed beautifully as it gave you sometime to digest each course which every dish was a delight and the desert Sticky rice with Pumpkin Ice Cream was divine as the flavours again were outstanding, service was great and the surroundings were beautiful, Thank you so much as we will be back for sure Yumm...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Front Office Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and took time to take in the amazing scenery that we are so proud to be able to offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tamarind in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow. We are staying at this boutique rainforest resort and had heard the food was good. It's part of the Spicer's Group, with a strong rep amongst hospitality industry pros. The service, menu, ambience and more importantly the food were all superb: Thai chicken salad, but not as you know it; confit of ocean trout with all sorts of Asian influences; then mains of a class-leading beef rendang and massaman duck leg, yum. Great wine list, varied, range of prices. Go, now. You must.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ate here as part of a group. Service was well off and the meals came out way too slow for banquet style dinning. Staff didn't feel like they were up to the quality of the restaurant. Food was good but let down by service... maybe we had a bad day there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AusAdvisor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarind_Spicers, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at Spicers Tamarind. We aim to have a high standard in service and in the quality of our meals and we are disappointed that you did not experience this. We have taken your feedback into consideration and we will continue to strive for a high level of guests satisfaction. We welcome you back to experience The Tamarind at a later date and hope that we can improve on your previous visit. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice setting”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous atmosphere, dim lighting and good service to match. Thai inspired food with a modern twist. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed it all and the chef let us change a couple of dishes on the degustation menu, which was appreciated.
Would definately go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarns29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarind_Spicers, Guest Relations Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing your time at Spicers Tamarind. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and the service that you received. Our talented chefs are very accommodating to dietary requirements so that everyone can enjoy their delicious meals!
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tamarind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing