We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Lunch”

The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.The Tamarind Cooking School offers a cut above the rest with a purpose-built cooking school headed by Chef Phil teaching the intricacies of Thai, French & Italian cuisine. The school features state of the art cooking stations, air-conditioned comfort and spectacular views perched amongst the beautiful green grounds overlooking the rainforest. Each class is highly informative, hands-on and intimate (limited to maximum 12 people). Chef Phil teaches in a simple, approachable way, enabling you to recreate delicious dishes at home to impress family and friends. Demonstration classes are also available, where you can learn unique tips in a short 2 hour class. Take home the skills to make dumplings, desserts to tie for or impress your friends with a range of great dinner table options.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch with the family. The setting, the food and the service were top shelf. Despite a couple of small issues we left impressed and vowed to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarind_Spicers, Front Office Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time in informing us of your experience here at Spicers Tamarind.
We apologise for any 'small issues' that you may have experienced and appreciate your understanding, and acknowledgement that we strive to meet our guests expectations and to create a unique experience. We always look forward to welcoming our guests back and impressing them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    37
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful degustation”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We opted for the five course degustation - each course was brilliant, loved every mouthful. Started with oysters, a beautifully constructed dish and excellent oysters. Then onto our favourite course, the Moreton Bay bug tails in a broth, stunning! The next courses of pork belly and eye fillet were very flavourful, and finished off with a decadent chocolate torte. Excellent service from Ben who really described the dishes well. Highly recommended, the only thing is trying to find the place in the dark - very small signpost off the main road, nothing a U turn can't fix!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tantalising Thai at it's best”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food was superb with a wonderful menu and wine list to choose from. Our waiter provided excellent service along with great knowledge. Restaurant decor perfected this wonderful dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaaren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A taste sensation”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I have date night monthly and this was my pick. We have been to many beautiful places but this is one of the favourites now!! Being not too far from home, we thought we would give it a try and I am so glad we did. On arrival, it was peaceful with beautiful surrounds. The restaurant was toasty with a beautiful log fire roaring. We chose pork belly and chicken salad for starters. Both were yummy and left us wanting more. I then decided to try the recommended crispy whole fish and what a choice!! It was a taste sensation that I have never experienced before. The combination of the crispy fish skin and the spicy sharp sauce was amazing. I loved every mouthful but was so full when we left. My husband had the beef curry which he loved. Big portions and you certainly wont leave feeling hungary! My only issues (although only minor) would be that the wines by the glass are very limited and we were sat beside a back door that was constantly being opened due to an outside function. It was a little annoying and let the cold air right in on us. Other than that, top pick and we would return for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“mmm Beef Rendang!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate here during a stay at Spicers Tamarind. All the food was excellent, especially the beef rendang which was fantastic. Service was also very good.
We were also able to use the discount card from ‘The Entertainment Book’ for some money off which is always good.
We had drinks in the bar too, it’s only a small cosy bar but the cocktails are good and staff friendly.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing