We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea with a view”

Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit the 'Jewel' of Maleny: Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World: AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE. "The most exquisite gardens I've seen in my 41 years in the garden business. It will be the next wonder of the world!" Graham Ellis, The Garden Guru 2011. Set on over three hectares the manicured, magnificent Gardens are positioned high on the escarpment. They are privately owned and form a panorama of waterfalls, lakes, ponds and colourful plantings. Uniquely landscaped layers, idyllic rainforest surroundings and the spectacular Glasshouse Mountains backdrop create a truly unique garden. BIRD WORLD: Our facilitated, interactive Bird Encounter in the Bird Aviary brings you up close and personal with colourful birds of the world from Finches to Macaws. We conduct regular guided walks daily, please enquire about Tour Times when purchasing your Garden Entry, as tour times may vary due to demand. Sit near the waterfall, watch, listen and photograph birds as they alight upon you -an awesome experience. Then visit our MINIATURE ANIMAL enclosure - a favourite with all ages. Enjoy chicken, ducks, geese, guinea fowl and pat our animals: Ginger & Frosty the alpacas, cuddle Bah Bah the sheep and snowflake the billy goat. There are lovely walks throughout the Gardens however you are welcome to just enjoy our fabulous Devonshire Tea any time during the day, in one of the gazebos overlooking the Gardens and mountains. Bring a picnic to enjoy in the gardens by one of the many lakes, lounge on your blanket and soak up the peace and serenity. You can even bring your dog on a lead! Our gazebos are ideal to hold your special celebration with friends or family - book for a High Tea catered especially for you. For group bookings phone or email us to arrange a date and time. A breathtaking location for your magical day: "You could not have a more beautiful venue for your wedding" is a comment we regularly receive. Explore the many tranquil and romantic settings for your ceremony and photography and choose one or a combination of components to suit your special day. The photo opportunities are endless. Let the sights and the sound of running water enchant you and your guests and provide you with an experience that you will cherish for life. Gardens are open 9am to 4.30pm 7 days a week and only close on Christmas day. Aviary tours run several times daily. Entry by Admission, take advantage of our Family Day and Annual Passes. 233 Maleny-Stanley River Road corner Mountain View Road, Maleny.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Set halfway down a steep hill and overlooking the Glasshouse Mountains, these are very different from any other botanic gardens I have visited. We had a beautiful afternoon tea of homemade scones and locally produced jam and cream before going for a wander. The gardens are massive: there are loads of water features, picnic tables and shady seats; a paddock with a very affectionate pony and goat (kids would love them); an aviary, and a variety of flowers and different plants. We liked how colourful the garden is. It's more bushy than tropical, too, which seemed unique and made it interesting. We stayed a couple of hours and really enjoyed our afternoon. A great spot - we highly recommend it.

1  Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We hope to see you back again soon after the opening of our new 'Walk-through Aviary' on the 17th of November. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your 'Maleny Botanic Gardens experience' and for your wonderful feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
There are newer reviews for Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 882 of 932 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We celebrated my birthday walking throughout this magnificent massed planted, terraced wonderland of gardens and lily pad ponds with stunning Glasshouse Mountain backdrop. This former cattle property is being lovingly converted to a Garden of Eden. A huge aviary and petting zoo will be added soon, with future plans for more gardens and a chapel and restaurant.

We enjoyed a delicious Devonshire tea served with special Maleny dairy cream, in a shaded gazebo that overlooks these gardens topping off a splendid birthday celebration!

Please note though you will need good walking shoes as some garden pathways are steep. There is a small entry fee but well worth the visit.

We left with such a sense of peace and tranquillity.

Thank CatCam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Belated Happy Birthday to you and a big thank you for your warm review of the gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the gardens two days ago for a birthday celebration. It was a lovely day and the perfect location to meet up, with extended family travelling from a couple of hours away in each direction. We hired a gazebo for an hour (to enjoy our picnic lunch together) and spent the rest of our visit resting on the grass in a shady spot or walking around looking at the gorgeous gardens. The couple of family members who couldn't walk far were happy to sit back and enjoy the view while the others were exploring - everyone found it to be a very relaxing day out, and so much more interesting than just meeting at a restaurant or in a park. The views of the Glasshouse Mountains were just stunning and visible from almost every part of the gardens. It was exciting to see how much more development is obviously planned - in just a few short years it will be even more beautiful.

Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Gardens' Pink Gazebo as a venue for your Birthday Celebration Picnic and for sharing your enjoyment of the Gardens with us and fellow Tripadvisor travellers. Our Gazebos are ideal as shelters from the elements and afford wonderful views, to enjoy your own or the Gardens fare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely place to spend time. More road signs in town would direct more visitors. With development taking place now it is going to be even more enjoyable. To sit in the gardens and view the mountains is so peaceful and good for the soul. Well done by the owners to spend so much time and money developing such a wonderful environment for everyone to enjoy. Good luck to you. Bev. (Grafton).

Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We are looking forward to more directional road signs with applications being attended to as we speak.
We are thrilled to hear that you found peace and serenity in our lovely Gardens, and look forward to welcome you some time soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Was surprised by the colours if the iris, loved seeing the frogs nestled by the water edge, enjoyed the diversity of the displays..... happily waiting to see what time will bring as the gardens mature...will definitely go back more than once to this garden in years to come. Great place to let children run (easier when they are safe around water) but manageable any way, though fairly steep in places - wear sensible shoes and socks. Not so sure about some of the sculpture...preferred the natural environment to the somewhat out of place pieces displayed. Another reason to eagerly await the garden growing, as they will become less prominent amongst the plantings! lots of sitting spots, and you can take a thermos and muffins (as we did) under shade or enjoy the hospitality offered.

Thank JulieJulie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of all the spring Iris in flower. The display of the variety of colours from blue through pinks and yellows is truly spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing