We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unpleasant experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maleny Hills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maleny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maleny Hills Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Maleny
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was shocked at the tired and dreary condition of this motel. We were fast running out of accommodation options on what looked to be a very busy weekend in and around Maleny. I understand that there are many beautiful wedding / function venues in the area and I suspect this motel survives solely on the overflow demand for accommodation. Most of our friends stayed at B&Bs for approx. $165 for the night and were thrilled with the accommodation, extra comforts and service and of course the breakfasts provided. For our $140 for the night we had scrawny towels, noisy airconditioning and a fridge that hummed and rattled... but a lovely breakfast in town. Sorry but really cannot recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monniej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maleny Hills Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Our motel offers clean and comfortable accommodation (we are not a Bed & Breakfast). Self-contained rooms are what we advertise and help support our local cafes and restaurants for those like yourself who want the option of eating out.
Our Web page has the right information for those who do their homework prior to making a booking. Our pre-scheduled renovations commenced in January 2013 as planned and will be completed by the end of May 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The owner was very friendly, and I think that is so important, for first impressions. Our room was clean and spacious everything that was needed was there.
We will stay again when we return to Maleny.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chook255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst travelling through the area and were impressed with the motel right from the friendly reception on arrival to our lovely rooms and peaceful surroundings. The room had a well equipped kitchenette, a washing machine and all we needed. There was an extra blanket ar the foot of the bed as well as an electric blanket for the cooler nights. Maleny was a short drive away and we had an excellent meal at the local pub. Meet all our needs and excellent value for money. The surrounding gardens were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventures1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The motel probably enjoys low vacancy rates because of the vibrant wedding party business close by every weekend and the choice of available accomodation for wedding guests is limited. It is however a tired old place, with no sign of service or upgrade in the 30 odd years since built. For our $140 per night we had an airconditioner that did not work, a fridge that almost walked out of the room when it swithched itself on and from when we awoke until checkout there was no water. Apparently the pump switch on the tank had flipped again and any thought of a refund was quite unreasonable!

Room Tip: The Maleny - Montville road is quite busy now and all rooms at this motel are close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaguar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny_Hills_Motel, Public Relations Manager at Maleny Hills Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel. We are sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We are more than happy to address any concerns our guests have if they bring them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
3.9 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#5 of 6 in Maleny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.1 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
2.3 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleny Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleny Hills Motel

Property: Maleny Hills Motel
Address: 932 Montville Road, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility and Comfort at the Right PriceLocated on the beautiful Blackall Range, just an hours drive from Brisbane and a half hour to the Sunshine Coast.Only 5km from the heart of Maleny and 10km from Montville, we are close to many of the fine restaurants, arts and crafts galleries and rainforests of the area. Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of our well appointed boutique style units situated on one acre, surrounded by dairies, green hills and abounding with bird life.Our guests are conveniently positioned to enjoy the award winning produce of the area, national parks, and Sunshine Coast Walks Festival in this beautiful region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing