We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great ethnic getaway!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanineCol...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great ethnic getaway!”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

African Cottage is like stepping into Africa! All the decor & furnishings are traditional african style, even the plush toys on the beds are african animals. The place is managed by Matilda, who went out of her way to assist us with planning our stay. A traditional africn menu is available for delivery tothe cottage, all home cooked by Matilda herself.
Fantastic service & comfortable, well equiped cottage. A must for anyone who want a bit of Africa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
I love what I do! And I suppose it shows. But it is even easier with wonderful guests like you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here. Because we know you will be back. Thanks for your lovely words! It makes all the hard work worth it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Z
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay and enjoy some African hospitality and cuisine !”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a wonderful time at the African Cottage. Matilda goes way out of her way to make you feel welcome and looked after. The facilities are spacious and very well thought through.

The selection of cuisine gives both the novice and experienced taster (and tester) a wonderful example of how South African food is properly made.

Thanks Matilda for having us there !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: It had to end sometime.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Well, it is not difficult to be nice to fabulous people! I loved having you there, and spoiling you! Hope to see you back here soon - so I can cook you some more delicious African food. I have a few new vegetarian recipes! Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbieina...
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Clean, Spacious, Friendly, Fun place, surrounded in beauty.”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had a really great time with my Grandchildren ages 7,14 & 16. We so loved the African cottage we were in. Nate says thanks for the cave you created Matilda and Suzy. Our first night Matilda cooked up a African feast which we enjoyed by candle light in our cottage, this was a beautiful experience for us. The Grandchildren have already requested we go back for a longer stay. You are just minutes from Maleny, Montville and a great Rainforest walk at Marycains Cross Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the atmosfere of the cottage
Liked least: There wasn't anything I did'nt like
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2015
We would love to have you back! Your grandchildren were delightful, and you are a very good "ouma" (grandma to them. And once again a big thank you for leaving the place so tidy! If only everyone who stayed could do that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquilee...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Fabulous, relaxing time... taken away by the surroundings”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful short stay in the lovely Cape Cottage. Transported away to an African experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host and Staff friendly attitude, welcoming and peaceful
Liked least: Nothing - all good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Cape Cottage is magic, isn't it? SO glad you enjoyed it there! Getting some more guinea fowl to entertain everyone. And new delicious dishes on the menu as well. So come back in winter, and enjoy dinner by the wonderful Eco friendly campfire! Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail L
Palmwoods, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect setting with unmatched service”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2012

A two night romantic get-a-way seemed ideal at the African Cottage so I booked THE RONDAWEL. I also requested some African canapes to be in the room on arrival so we could enjoy an early evening drink and get into the African theme. This was not in the room and I had to go and search for Matilda to bring it to us (annoying). We also decided to eat in-room with an African speciality dish - so disappointed with the mince meat on rice! Again, we had to ring Matilda and ask her to deliver it. She seems so pre-occupied with making chutney & sauces for her other business venture that the in-house guests are left to themselves. That would be OK once we got the extras we had ordered. Our towels were crunchy not soft and fluffy. The bottle of wine with dinner was also forgotten and had to be requested upon our departure. I booked for a 2 night stay, cancelled the second night preferring to find alternative accommodation.
If you are in the hospitality industry, and want return customers then you need to put the WOW factor into their stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
I just always wonder why people can't be honest with you. Why not say to my face "we are not happy". Then at least we will KNOW there is a problem, and we ALWAYS go out of our way to solve it! Most probably the reason why the nibbles were not in the cottage, is because it was samoosas or boerewors, which needs to be eaten as soon as it is cooked, otherwise they become soggy and cold. That is why I wait until guests have arrived before I cook them. Maybe our unhappy guests would have been happy with cold, soggy samoosas. Who knows. As for neglecting my guests - sorry, it could not be further from the truth! I love being in hospitality, I enjoy meeting my guests, and I love inter acting with them. But as I've said, if people can't be honest, then I can't solve their problems. As for the bottle of wine - we don't know if guests want red or white - so again we wait until they arrive. And again, what is wrong with just asking if I forget? Sorry about your experience, but if you read all the reviews, it will be clear that we offer fantastic service. You don't get a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for neglecting your guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay W
North Lakes, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stay at the African Cottage put the "R" in relaxation.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our 3 night stay at African Cottage started before we had left home with my wife phoning Matilda to discuss sleeping and bathroom arrangements for her 93 year old father. Matilda confirmed that the downstairs bedroom had an ensuite with a shower that would be ideal for her father.
Matilda greeted us on our arrival and made us feel most welcome, the African Cottage facilities were spacious and the fire place in the lounge a real winner. The grounds surrounding this little bit of Africa in Aus complete the experience.
Sleep ins were the order of each day with late breakfasts cooked in the spacious kitchen, followed by reading a book in the private outdoor BBQ area in the morning sun, or for her dad more rest. The fire was lit late afternoon and a relaxing evening was enjoyed by all in front of the fire.
We came up to African Cottage to rest and recharge our batteries and have spent three beautiful days, shame it had to finish, but we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and facalities
Liked least: Could do with better lighting for reading in lounge area.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bex0918
Brisbane
1 review
“Spacious modern house”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Clean, tidy, modern. Great for large families/group of friends. Handy location to Maleny city centre, as well as the wedding venues. Very friendly owner who is always floating around if you need anything. Would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing