We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything that was promised was fulfilled.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natalie M...
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything that was promised was fulfilled.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the African Cottage was truly beautiful. Our group are all cooking enthusiast and the provisions in the kitchen surpassed our expectations. The rooms were large, spacious and airy with plenty of room to spread out. The tranquil setting and privacy of the grounds is just what we needed to relax and unwind. We took advantage of the in-house massage and facial which was truly bliss. Our stay was magical, relaxing. The meal delicious. This is the perfect place to go with a larger group and we will be back to enjoy the fire and create more memories over a glass of wine or two. Thank you Matilda for your hospitality and friendship you showed us. We wish you well. Until we meet again, all the very best from Natalie and family.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: Fear of snakes - Im from New Zealand
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Natalie, you have made my day! It is guests like you who make all the hard work worth it! We loved having you and we really hope you will be coming back - seeing you have to travel over the Tasman to get here. But I'm sure you'll be back - Tiger also thinks so. To make more memories over a glass of wine, or two. I might just join you as well. Take care. Matilda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYANN47...
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Friendly, welcomed kids, comfortable, close to all and would recommend”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great stay at African Cottages. The children were made to feel comfortable played outside and were never seen as a problem. They loved the hidie bed( not saying anymore. It was close to everything and Matilda was so hospitable, we even learnt how to cook a Arican Breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Matilda and how she made the kids welcome
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
Thanks Maryanne! With guests like you it is not difficult to be nice. Glad the kids enjoyed the "cubby house". And hope to see you here again in the not too distant future!
Matilda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissBeeHa...
HEATHWOOD
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great location!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Spacious house, formal dining room, breakfast nook, large kitchen, bedroom on lower floor, with 2 bedrooms upstairs with additional bedding in a loft cupboard (children may like this & call it an adventure!), has an upstairs bathroom which may not cater for a 'full' house of guests. Loved the African knick knacks on display, and a nice selection of reading material.Wonderful Hostess, so welcoming. We can't wait to return with the rest of our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland.
Liked least: I prefer a softer mattress, with luxury padding (just me I guess!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaZe...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A 'Must-Do' Experience”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our second stay at the African Cottages and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once again. The Cape Cottage is a little piece of Africa in the beautiful Maleny Region - comfortable, modern and with all the mod-cons. Matilda's cooking is to die-for - absolutely delicious! We loved the convenience of having the meals delivered piping hot to our cottage and will definitely return for the fantastic Bobotie and Malva Pudding! We ended up buying Matilda's recipe book and some of her amazing sauces and chutneys. Definitely worth trying at home! The bed is very comfortable and the cottage was spotless. Matilda's friendly hospitality and local knowledge (she suggested a fabulous place for breakfast in Maleny) just added to the enjoyment of the whole experience. Highly recommended :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed and Matilda's cooking!
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
col_joan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different experience to the usual holiday property”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Matilda was most hospitable and went out of her way to make us feel welcome.
The accommodation was nicely presented and well placed to visit either Maleny or nearby Montville.
The African influence in her décor is truly representative of her love for that country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deslee201...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great place to relax, unwind and re-connect.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at the Rondawel Cottage with my adult children. The two bedroom cottage was well set up with everything needed, including a well equiped kitchen. I loved the views through the many windows and doors to the beautiful trees and gardens outside. The cottage had a full bathroom with a large bathtub and separate shower, plus another separate toilet and vanity. We were supplied with dinner one night - a delicious African menu, which we served ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Casual, relaxed feel and central location for visiting the area.
Liked least: Parking was a little inconvenient
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2014
Thanks Deslee! We love the Rondawel as well. hope to see you back here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frogmouth...
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Taste of Africa in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in 'The Rondawel'- a spacious two bedroom cottage, perfect for two couples. The bathroom was shared but a separate powder room was a considerate touch. Interesting African bric-a-brac decorated all the rooms. A deck at the back overlooked a beautiful spreading 500 year old fig tree, the Avatar-style branches of which provided a perfect night time roosting place for six resident guinea fowl and a couple of bush turkeys. Maleny Cheese factory is across the road in one direction and a well-stocked quilting shop, art gallery and restaurant in the other direction.
The cottages are set up with everything you'd need, and all with an African twist, right down to books and magazines in both English and Afrikaans. We ordered meals both nights and found them tasty with African spices- a welcome change from usual accommodation fare. The deck had a gas barbecue for our use too.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing