We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The African Cottage and Rondawel
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had read a few older reviews which were very critical, so we arrived with an open mind, and were not disappointed. Rondawel Cottage was perfectly clean and well maintained. The bbq looked in pristine condition and there were no signs of spiders, cockroaches or webs etc. No cat hairs either and we did have visits from Tiger. The cottage is beautifully decorated and themed with attention to detail. We enjoyed a delicious home-cooked meal from Matilda on one of the nights. The guinea fowl were adorable and I loved hearing them around the place.

Our bedroom was at the front and a previous review had commented on the traffic noise. I had taken ear plugs in anticipation, but didn't use them at all. There wasn't much traffic noise at all and we were there on a Sunday and Monday night.

We had a minor problem with the fire, but I think that is being attended to by Matilda, but it doesn't really matter anyway because we are coming into summer and who needs a fire in summer! Will probably be all sorted by next winter! Thank you Matilda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovechocolatecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went away with our neighbours. We both have 2 children. We were spread between all 3 rooms. The kids loved the cubby house cupboards in each of the top bedrooms. The kitchen was outstanding with plenty of room for all. We were close to our favourites - Montville, Kondillia Falls, Maleny and Landsborough library and playground. Great family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enjoyable two days in Cape cottage. We found the cottage clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Great meals provided by the host and facility to self cater, which we did for breakfast. Would like to have had better phone reception and wifi. Couldn't fault anything else.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank indi2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wanted to treat my partner to a weekend away for his birthday and as we both LOVE Maleny I knew I wanted to book in the area. I first came across The African Cottage when I Googled 'Pet Friendly Maleny Accommodation', and I knew from the pictures right away that The Cape Cottage was for us.

From the moment we stepped out of the car we both knew that I had made the right choice. We were greeted by some gorgeous Guineafaul, hens and the resident cat named Tiger. We then walked down to the reception area and there we met the lovely Matilda. She made not only us but our dog feel completely at home and showed us to our Cottage. It was exactly what it looked like in the pictures and the figtree enveloping the deck was superb.

The massages that Matilda organised for us were to die for and don't forget to try some of her cooking! It was delicious!!

There is no hesitation whatsoever recommending the African Cottage to whoever is looking for a romantic time away and we will definitely be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeC182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently enjoyed a weekend retreat at the Rondawel. Although the Maleny weather was raining it was a most wonderful and relaxing stay. I can highly recommend the dinners that are prepared on site, they are delicious! And most welcome when you just want to sit around the fire and enjoy a glass of wine when the weather outside is inclement. Oh, Maleny Cheese is just across the road which is in the perfect position.

Two couples would be accommodated easily and I'm pleased to report the place is spotless, the gardens well maintained and overall a beautifully presented package. Thankyou for a wonderful stay and I am happy to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Either room is spacious, decorated and prepared for a relaxed ambience and the beds are very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DSA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Returned a couple of days ago from a very needed stay at the Rondawel. The owner/operator Matilda was very welcoming, efficient and experienced. Hospitality is definitely in her blood. The Rondawel itself is a very comfortable retreat amongst beautiful grounds that are a mixture of cottage and rainforest style. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious. Lovely African theme from the resident cat named Tiger, to the African music and homewares. Spotless amenities and very comfortable furnishings added up to a lovely couple of days. Short drive to both Maleny (offering a full sized IGA store for self catering) and Montville making this a great central location. Thank you again Matilda for your excellent property and service.

Room Tip: Comfortable and clean and large. Window furnishings made the room dark and the heating was sufficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just returned from our midweek stay up in Cape cottage where we celebrated my husbands 50th Birthday. We had the most wonderful time. The room was just perfect and very spacious. we had our meals brought directly to our room which were just yummy! We loved the personal service offered to us and it made us feel comfortable and ease talking with the owner Matilda. The prices for the food and accommodation were more than reasonable and we even got a return voucher for our next visit. We loved her food so much that we purchased the cook book and some of her products "Afika". We would highly recommend staying here for that perfect escape and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
452 reviews
4.2 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
House of Laurels
House of Laurels
#14 of 15 in Maleny
54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
0.9 mi away
Maleny Terrace Cottages
Maleny Terrace Cottages
#6 of 18 in Maleny
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Cottage and Rondawel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Cottage and Rondawel

Address: 943 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range: $151 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Cottage and Rondawel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Cottage and The Rondawel - and now our NEW CAPE COTTAGE and KALAHARI COTTAGE is a little bit of Africa in Aus! Relax on your beautiful deck, order a romantic traditional South African dinner, have a soothing massage - all in the comfort and privacy of your cottage! Or go for a rainforest walk, dine at our many award winning restaurants, browse the interesting shops and art galleries. Australia Zoo only 20 mins away, and beautiful beaches 30 mins. Relax, revive, rejuvenate!THE AFRICAN COTTAGE sleeps up to 9 guests comfortably and is ideal for families or groups of friends. THE RONDAWEL sleeps 6, is a very special hexagonal glass and timber cottage with the branches of our 500 year old figtree touching the deck! KALAHARI COTTAGE and CAPE COTTAGE are cosy cottages for couples. Both are open plan with eco friendly camp fires. KALAHARI has its own private courtyard with soothing water feature and CAPE COTTAGE is sheer magic as it is under the figtree with the branches embracing the cottage. It has a stunning deck, overlooking the tree! All our cottages are fully self contained. Perfect for a relaxing getaway to recharge the batteries! Come and experience a little bit of Africa in Aus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Cottage and Rondawel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing