We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge disappointing !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Cottage and Rondawel
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge disappointing !”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Rondawel cottage wasn't like what advertised at the website! Honestly,It was very disappointing for us to find a old dirty cottage with plenty of cobwebs everywhere as a place to be for holiday !
The old cottage was full of spiders, cricket and cockroach ! Aslo, the cat hair was spread everywhere !
It was wast of money, time and Holiday :(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Elham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our cottages. If the reviewer considers spiderwebs to be a sign of dirt, then they could have a problem when they go to the country for a visit. The same goes for crickets and cockroaches - they do fly in!. My question is WHY the guests did not tell me they were having a problem with the wildlife. It states CLEARLY in their welcome letter that if there is ANY problem, to please come and tell me! They were in the office several times, asking for more toilet paper, sugar, tea - even sheets! They could have just mentioned it. And guess what, I would have removed the offending cobwebs! And guess what, they would have most probably been back the next day! In case the guests forgot - they were in the country, not the city. So we take exception that they said The Rondawel was dirty. As a matter of fact, the cleaner reported that the guests left the cottage in a filthy state and should have been charged for excessive cleaning. I spoke to the guests who moved in after them, who were there for SIX days, and who have come back twice - and asked them if they think the place is dirty. They did not think so at all and will write a review. I would also like to mention that we have a basket of products in the cottage for guests to purchase on an honesty basis. These guests took products without paying and had to be emailed and asked to please be honest and pay for the products they took. So I don't think the reviewers have been honest about a few things!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    5
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Cape Cottage was a wonderful retreat for a couple of days to wind down after finishing Uni exams. The deck overlooking the fig tree was the perfect tranquil setting during the day. The interior was beautifully decorated with an African theme to make it the perfect escape for a city slicker like me. Matilda was wonderful. Check in was quick and everything was explained clearly before she left us to enjoy our stay without any interruption, whilst making herself readily available at any time if required. I would highly recommend the Cape Cottage to anyone looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city for a couple of days.

Room Tip: For copuples...ask for the Cape Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Travelbug73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The African Cottage was a huge dissappointment.
The brochure & website says "Relaxing bath overlooking the fig tree". It's actually a stardard old bath where you can view mouldy ceilings, dirty pink grout, a gaping hole into the roof and barely a sight of the fig tree. The brochure also mentions "Fragrant Gardens"...we found a couple of pots of herbs and that was about all. The accomodation was very dirty with plenty of cobwebs (nothing like the advertised pictures) not to mention crumbs & other peoples hairs in the bed sheets !!
Surprisingly the 2nd toilet was on the verandah and our pre-ordered dinner was seen thawing on a stool in the back office all day !!! Not to mention the cottage is right on the main road so the sound of cars and trucks during the night is not very relaxing.
Funny the welcome letter says there is a penalty charge for leaving the bbq dirty. Hmm there was so much dirt and fat build up that it looks like it had never been cleaned.Honestly we thought we were sleeping at Nanny's Dusty Old House (but for a cost of almost $400 per night !! (for the same price we have since enjoyed staying at an amazing 5star eco resort in Noosa North Shore).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank 449Misc449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are very disappointed in this review. To start with the bath - it is a lovely bath with headrest, and it most certainly overlooks the 500 year old figtree. You can't miss it - it is huge! So we really don't understand what the reviewer was getting at. As for cleanliness - we pride ourselves on the way we clean the cottages. What people sometimes forget is that we are in the country, not the city, and new cobwebs can, and does!, grow overnight. Fragrant gardens - maybe the reviewer did not take a walk through the gardens. We have pots of herbs, and also lemon thyme, lavender & nasturtiums along the pathway, lemon grass and a huge curry tree on the lawn. Then there are two massive bay trees at the entrance, watercress, coriander in winter and lots of basil in summer. There are also several rosemary bushes scattered on the property. Yes, the property is on the main road - it is obvious from the address, and we never try & hide it.. As for the food defrosting in the office. We cook dinners fresh for guests, I challenge this statement. We would love the reviewer to come back and enjoy! We are proud of our cottages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbowrie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a treat! We had the recently-built Cape Cottage, which was well-designed, spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony, and African-themed throughout. As we had lived in South Africa in the 70's, we felt quite at home!
Matilda is a delightful (but not "in your face") host, who has a deep love of her native country, especially the food and animals - she hosts a safari to SA each year. She is a great cook, and produced a "bobotie" dinner for us on one night - gave us fond memories of our time in SA.
There is a lot to see and do in the Maleny/Montville area, and the Cape Cottage was a lovely place to come home to after a pleasant day out.

Room Tip: Cape Cottage is furthest from the road if traffic noise bothers you - but there's not much traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pressdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

With the owner constantly checking up on you, the $10 a head breakfast being raw eggs and sausage for you to cook yourself and the lady hounding you to leave at 8am 'cause she has other guests coming' makes for a lot of stress.
Just fork out the extra cash and stay next door at Laurels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hucklebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
The reason why I "constantly checked" on the guests was that they were unhappy about cooking their own breakfast. Even though it clearly states on the menu that you order "breakfast provisions to cook at your leisure". Couldn't be clearer that you cook your own breakfast. I offered to make an omelet for the guests, picked some fresh herbs from the garden and prepared the eggs. I would not call that hovering. And I check up on my guests to make sure everything is OK. That is my job, and pleasure. The next day the guests were going to a breakfast (cooked!) at Laurels next door at 9a.m. We asked if they could just move out of the bedrooms so we could start cleaning while they were having breakfast. We had guests coming in who asked if they could have an early check in as they were travelling from Bundaberg and had elderly people in the car who needed to have a rest before going to a wedding. I would have done exactly the same for the complainant! It is called service. In any case, by the time they came back from breakfast, it was 10a.m. , and official check out time anyway. So we really can't see what the fuss is all about. I've corresponded with the person who booked the cottage, and she did not have a problem at all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wow, who would have thought that just one hour north of Brisbane you could discover a real little piece of Africa. There are 4 beautifully appointed cottages to choose from: The Cape Cottage, The Rondawel, The Kalahari and The African Cottage.

The Cape Cottage has only just been finished in August, 2012 and I had the opportunity to see it just as it was being finished. It looks fantastic!

As a resident of Brisbane, I have tended in the past to only do day visits to the Sunshine Coast and never really considered to stay for a few days. On this occasion I couldn't have been any happier with my choice to stay for 4 nights.

We stayed in The African Cottage, myself, two friends and my 15 year old son (Ages 15 - 56). We were met by the lovely host, Matilda, who hails from South Africa having moved to the Sunshine Coast hinterland some years ago.

As a Qantas Flight Attendant in a previous life, having travelled all over the world for 18 years, I have stayed at many and varied forms of accommodation. I have to say that this accommodation is high on my list for cleanliness, exceptional service, friendly and welcoming owner, position and value for money.

The African Cottage is a two storey cottage, sleeping 9 people, with an incredible commercial kitchen which is extremely well-appointed. We cooked up some fabulous meals during our stay. Tea, coffee and sugar is supplied. However, if you don't wish to cook, Matilda is a chef, having previously owned and operated her own African restaurant.

There is an extensive menu to choose from and Matilda is only too happy to deliver these African delicacies to your cottage. Matilda just requests that you peruse the menu a few days before your arrival and place your order so she can have it prepared for the time you specify during your stay. We ordered some lovely samosas to enjoy by the log fire and for dessert we had koeksisters. I have attached the menu which gives a list of all meals available and a brief explanation about each dish.

http://www.malenyqueensland.com/africancottage/menu.html

The beds are very comfortable and 2 of the 3 bedrooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning. The log fire warms up the whole cottage and I imagine with all the large doors, one of which opens to a large courtyard area and the other to a small pond and garden, it would be wonderfully cool in summer.

The bathroom is large and spacious and offers both a shower and a deep bath. Shampoo, conditioner, soap and lovely soft bath and hand towels are all provided.

If you intend on an extended stay you have free access to the washing machine and dryer.

The property is well positioned for visits to such places as the Maleny Cheese Factory (100 metres from the cottages), and wineries (approximately 4-5 kms from the cottages). Also visits to nearby hinterland villages such as Montville, Mapleton, Flaxton and Eumundi should be high on your list of things to do.

Matilda kindly showed us through the other accommodation available and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend any of the other beautifully appointed cottages. With a choice of 4 accommodations these cottages can cater for singles, couples, families, honeymooners or a group of friends.

And, if running 4 beautiful cottages and supplying sumptuous African delicacies to hungry travellers isn't enough, Matilda runs safaris to Africa once a year where she is your host for 3 weeks. All I have to do now is save up!! The Safari looks incredible. I have posted a link here for you to have a look at:

http://www.malenyqueensland.com/africancottage/Safari.html

Should you choose to stay at one of these cottages I am sure you will have a wonderful stay, just as the 4 of us did! Thanks, Matilda, we'll be back!

Room Tip: The African Cottage is large so it would be good for families or groups of friends, The Cape Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had 2 nights at Rondawel in July 2012 after booking a promotional offer. We had been hoping to have a lovely relaxing weekend away in the hinterlands. The cottage is right upon the main road between Maleny and Montville and we were subjected to loud road noise all day and evening. Not at all peaceful. The cottage itself was quite dirty - there were cobwebs everywhere, the bathroom was mouldy, the lounge chair upholstery was shiny from grease and dirt and there was a lot of animal hair in the main area and on the rug. The kitchen was nice enough and reasonably clean but the outdoor BBQ was disgusting and hadn't been cleaned before we used it. The beds were uncomfortable (old mattresses) and the towels in the bathroom were crisp. However the greatest disappointment was the cold. We stayed in winter which is meant to be their prime season but the fireplace had no wood and what wood they collected for us was wet through and wouldn't light! In each room there was a small bar heater which didn't effectively warm the rooms. The entrance was very slippery and muddy (we did actually slip over carrying our bags in). This was really a terrible experience and not at all comfortable. We wished we had saved our money and stayed at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dsi_mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
0.9 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
4.2 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maleny
Hotel Maleny
#10 of 15 in Maleny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Cottage and Rondawel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Cottage and Rondawel

Property: The African Cottage and Rondawel
Address: 943 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Cottage and Rondawel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Cottage and The Rondawel - and now our NEW CAPE COTTAGE and KALAHARI COTTAGE is a little bit of Africa in Aus! Relax on your beautiful deck, order a romantic traditional South African dinner, have a soothing massage - all in the comfort and privacy of your cottage! Or go for a rainforest walk, dine at our many award winning restaurants, browse the interesting shops and art galleries. Australia Zoo only 20 mins away, and beautiful beaches 30 mins. Relax, revive, rejuvenate!THE AFRICAN COTTAGE sleeps up to 9 guests comfortably and is ideal for families or groups of friends. THE RONDAWEL sleeps 6, is a very special hexagonal glass and timber cottage with the branches of our 500 year old figtree touching the deck! KALAHARI COTTAGE and CAPE COTTAGE are cosy cottages for couples. Both are open plan with eco friendly camp fires. KALAHARI has its own private courtyard with soothing water feature and CAPE COTTAGE is sheer magic as it is under the figtree with the branches embracing the cottage. It has a stunning deck, overlooking the tree! All our cottages are fully self contained. Perfect for a relaxing getaway to recharge the batteries! Come and experience a little bit of Africa in Aus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Cottage and Rondawel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing