We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, great wildlife” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve

Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.06*
and up
Australia Zoo and Sunshine Coast Day Trip from Brisbane
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Loved the rainforest walk, bargain for a gold coin donation; very informative in information centre, would definitely recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    145
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

to go and have a look or sit down for a picnic. You can also buy your food as there is a cafe there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BLuvsBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mary Cairncross Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A family park with everything, barbecues, playground and the most magical walk through a rain forest. Dedicated volunteers keep the park running and in pristine condition, with walkways for all including wheelchairs. Great for all ages, and plenty of wildlife to see. A cafe for a snack overlooking the magical Glasshouse Mountains.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Precious present and gift for the future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited from England and were astounded that such a beautiful resource was gifted to the community with such generosity, as is the continuity of help to maintain it . To our mind this is a world class resource of outstanding wonder and beauty, made all the more precious by its rarity in the area and it's accessibility.For all the beauty we have seen on this Sunshine Coast, this reduced us to a state of awe and delight in the natural world that is being eroded so fast, to our loss. Please visitors and locals alike, appreciate and fight for preserving as much of your natural habitats as you can. Many thanks to the informed and helpful locals who sent us here from the tourist office and for those who communicated its treasures so well. We saw Pademelons hopping along in the undergrowth, we heard the cat bird and the whoomping sound of the wompoo fruit dove, saw a beautiful Rufous fantail showing off its display and a white throated honey eater, and fruit bats amongst the cathedral like splendor of tree history, twist vines and staggering beauty. If I lived close by, I would visit often. We came for the view but found so much more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The whole Mary Caincross experience was lovely. The view across the road is stunning, there is a cafe, toilets, plenty of parking, helpful staff etc...
Entry is by gold coin donation, you can help yourself to a little map free of charge.
There is an interesting display of the rain forest through time (including a few dinosaurs!) and a lovely collection of butterflies.
The walk is along a flat, well-maintained path. We spotted a wild wallaby! A morning well spent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing