We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Restful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at Tamarind and take a break from our busy family and professional lives to recharge and relax. This is a great place to just enjoy the peace and quiet! This is a small property with only 13 Villas. They are very nicely appointed and very private. We loved the chance to have a BBQ on the deck of our villa. Take a bottle of wine to enjoy too. The Tamarind restaurant is wonderful Thai style food. Our experience in the Spa was excellent. It is a gorgeous environment to relax and enjoy a massage or beauty treatment. Lovely! The staff in the Spicers property are very helpful and well trained to take care of your needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    71
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
438
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jindalee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for our wedding night. Everything was clean and nice. Just not worth the $400 for one night. We ve stayed in much nicer places at maleny for less. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would stay again but only for half the price

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tegan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asst_gm_tamarind, General Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and, again, congratulations!
We appreciate your feedback and will take you response into consideration.
Wishing you both a happy future together and we do hope to welcome you back to The Tamarind in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stunning accommodation set upon a beautiful property, take the time to walk around the various tracks and enjoy the mountain air. When dining at Tamrind, I strongly suggest up grading to the whole snapper, you won't be disappointed :)however the whole menu is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamie & Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked a 1 bedroom falls villa and were unfortunate to get the so called "Studio Villa" which is actually attached to the cooking school building. It has no fireplace, no double shower, 1 tv and no dvd player. Headlights from diners and visitors shine directly into the room at night and the sheer curtains make you feel exposed. There is no privacy. The hot tub is separate to the unit and once again there is no sense of privacy. The only place to sit and admire the scenery is from the hot tub area and it feels separate from the room. It was just a room. Nothing Luxury or Romantic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullenvale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have stayed at many resorts of this standard, and Spicer's are always our first choice. The Staff are always friendly and attentive - (nothing is a problem); the facilities are 1st class, and the meals delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne & Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrearra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wonderful ...relaxing ...staff treated us like loyalty
Expensive but a lovely place to 'treat' yourself to a stay.... at least once.
The menu was different and the wait staff explained each meal when it was presented to us.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy & Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

A very relaxing and happy stay. Great food and service. Another Spicers happy house to visit! We have stayed at most of the Spicers resorts and the quality of service and attention to detail is better than world 5 star standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PetefromKooralbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
6.2 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
4.2 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Tamarind Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Property: Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Address: 88 Obi Lane S, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Two Chef's Hats by Qld Good Food Guide and AHA Best Boutique Hotel 2015. Spicers Tamarind Retreat boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing