We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, relaxing and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Maleny
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Dalila is a truly kind and generous spirit who made our romantic weekend away just lovely! The personal touches such as chocolates and strawberries were divine! We weren't sure what a Mediterranean breakfast involved, so were provided with vouchers to a local cafe on our first morning before deciding to try it on our second - and it was lovely!! The decor in the Ra-Sun suite was beautiful and luxurious! This is a truly wonderful place to stay if you want to relax and be reminded of the beauty in life - especially if you are a kind and honest soul like the host. We didn't take the opportunity for a massage this time around, but are keen to do so next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank estot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you want to relax and recharge this is the place for you.
Dalila is a joy to met and a wonderful caring host.
The room we stayed in had a good view and was very comfortable. It also had many small personal touches such as freshly picked flower, herbs,nuts, chocolates and home made bath oils.
Be sure that you grab the opportunity to recieve at least one of the many massages on offer.
The retreat is only a few minutes walk to Maleny, where you can enjoy the friendly atmosphere and be overwhelmed by the helpful people you met.
We look forward to returning in the near future and in the meantime we will be recommending this place to our family and friends.
Rob and Monica

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. Looking forward to your next visit. Delightful Dreams & Egyptian Blessings Always. Dalila, Goddess Isis, God Sun Ra & Queen Cleopatra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you have had previous massages, romantic or remedial trips away this is very expensive for what you get. The Isis Moon room is lovely don't get me wrong although would rather be best suited in another surrounding and area. As other customers have commented due to noisy street. We paid ahead and booked for Saturday night arrived in area and received a text message, room not ready so arrive at 2.00pm and when arrived manager flustered and cleaning. Have to mention there were no other guests the weekend at all. The night to relax was a joke as there was a terrible noise from above like a donkey walking around above the ceiling! Found out when we came to leave next morning owner has a huge white German Shepherd. Owner spends a lot of the time getting you to wait, be patient and drags her services out whilst doing nothing. Her minute is an hour. we were told whilst trying to leave early "she hopes we enjoyed our stay and her extra time she spent with us for the services and delay in getting in" Very much doubt parting with over $200.00 in cash for these services was a good experience. We paid for 2 nights and could only stay for one if we were staying for 2 we would have moved after out and found alternative. .

Room Tip: If your looking for a quite surrounding in Manly this is not for you. Owner talks too much and is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my second stay here and I can not speak highly enough. Both times I gave stayed
In the Isis sub-penthouse which is a beautifully attired, spacious suite overlooking the gardens. The room is beautiful and has a lovely calming atmosphere. Dalilah goes above and beyond to ensure that you are comfortable and have everything that you need. I had a massage each stay and found the service to be exceptional. I have never stayed anywhere that takes the time to ensure that you feel so spoilt I can not wait to have an excuse to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank SammiLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest. We are delighted you had such a nice time especially the massage treatment. We look forward to having you enjoy same. Kindest Regards. Dalila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have to agree with the reviews that said that this is just a house in the suburbs and not any kind of Retreat at all. My husband and I stayed here before Christmas expecting much more but found it very expensive and doesn't live up to the claims on its website. Delila needs to learn some hospitality skills and offer more selections of food, you do not have much of a choice for breakfast. I understand it is supposed to be alternative, but there are many other alternative places that are better and cheaper. We moved on to Secrets on the Lake in Montville and found this to be 100 times better. Maybe Delila should stay a night or two there, to learn how much better her place should be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank NZexpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First of all, the definition of a retreat according to the Oxford Dictionary is: ‘place of seclusion or shelter’. In this case the Egyptian Dream Retreat is correct only in the fact that it is a house with a roof, there is as much seclusion and shelter, in my garden shed. As one other reviewer stated: - “We were disappointed to find this 'retreat' was a house in a suburban street with the sound of the neighbours mowing and radio going early in the morning”. Perhaps a listing of ‘Bed & Breakfast’ may be more accurate.
So anyway, my wife and I arrived on a rainy Wednesday at 4:45pm to be greeted by Dalila from the top balcony bellowing that we were too early and we would have to wait another 15 minutes (at over $300 per night we could have stayed at the luxury 5 star Versace Hotel on the Gold Coast – check in: 2pm - no bellowing).
Dalila is pleasant enough to get on with for a while. The massage was OK, I’ve had better and I’ve had worse. Be prepared to waste some time with Tarot cards as part of the experience. For what she charges for an average massage, you would be better off getting a massage elsewhere and having a nice red with your meal at Key Restaurant with the savings.
Having travelled through Egypt, my wife was struggling to find any similarities, indeed most Egyptians would be struggling to find any similarities. The inside is tackier than a bordello in a third world country. Not sure of where the ‘Dream’ part comes into it?, maybe ‘Hallucination’ would be more descriptive. I’m sorry but staying at the ‘Suburban Hallucination Bed & Breakfast’ to escape from reality – is like having a vasectomy from Edward Scissorhands because you can’t tolerate pain.
If you are the type of person who enjoys throwing lots of money into the wind while listening to New Age music, eating strong garlic bread for a late breakfast and guzzling naturopathic remedies believing they will instantly cure every known disease, boy, this place is for you. Otherwise go and stay in Montville. Dalila charges (accom. with 2 massages) close to what it costs to stay at Oliver Newton Johns, Gaia Retreat & Spa. With the closing of a few restaurants and all the ferals you see wandering around; Maleny has really lost its shine. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank GldCstOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After living such busy lives,we have finally found this healing and relaxing place in the quaint
village of Maleny and oh what a treat,the accomodation is beyond what we expected in fact we
have never stayed in such beautiful surroundings.Our massages were the best one could have
every detail about everything here was quite a treat.The freshly hand picked flowers and herbs
were so special,chocolates like we have never tasted before.How could anyone not like this
place,especially our very kind and generous hostess Dalila.
Thank you Dalila you are one of a kind, we shall return, we will recommend you to our family
& friends.

Room Tip: Isis room - It's a sub/pent house & has its own court yard and an inground spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your lovely comments, we are highly delighted that you loved being here and enjoyed all our hospitality and treatments. Please do visit again. Egyptian Dreams & Delightful Bliss from Dalila & Friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maleny
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
5.9 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
470 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egyptian Dream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egyptian Dream Retreat

Address: Sunnyside Court, Maleny, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Maleny
Price Range: $167 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Egyptian Dream Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 1 mins drive to Maleny Showgrounds where the great Festivals are held yearly, 75 mins from Heart of Brisbane City Queen St. Mall, 15 mins to Australia Zoo (Crocodile Man), 30mins from pristine beaches, 5mins to Maleny Winery, 10 mins to Montville, minutes to rainforest walks and lakes, waterfalls and many other amazing places of interest. We are in the quaint magical village of Maleny, nestled atop a mountain hillside quiet cul-de-sac stands the Egyptian Dream Retreat house amongst fragrant gardens of Olives, Cypresses, Gardenias, Roses, Lavender, many herbs & ponds, inspired by ancient energy of the Egyptian Goddess Isis. Cleopatra and Ra-Sun-God Suites & Isis-Moon-Goddess Sub-Penthouse are adjacent to the main house with each one having private entrances and are especially designed for a mystical pampering, nurturing experience and ultimate relaxation. Isis-Moon-Goddess has wheelchair access only. As optional extras we offer Egyptian Tantric Kundalini Goddess Isis, Hawaiian Kahuna, Tibetan Brazilian massages, Far-Infra Red with colour healing sauna, Egyptian Bath plus a diverse range of other natural therapies at our Day Spa or in your room for singles or couples. Perfect for romance, special occasions, or just time out to relax, detox and heal. Spoil yourself and be a QUEEN or PHARAOH at our Egyptian Dream Retreat. You may like to take a short stroll to award-winning restaurants, cafes and galleries. Browse through the unique gift shops and boutiques. Nearby are wineries, Australia Zoo, Kondalilla National Park with its majestic waterfalls, Lake Baroon, Gardeners Falls and Glasshouse Mountains and much more. Golf, fishing, canoeing, bush walking, and beaches are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Egyptian Dream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing