We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Age bliss...if that's what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maleny
Osaka, Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New Age bliss...if that's what you want”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are two important things to keep in mind.

1) This is a New Age experience, as you might have guessed from the name. The decor, the images, the garden, the food, the massage, the crystals, the reading matter and the conversation - all are unashamedly and gloriously New Age.

2) The reason for this focus is simple... Dalila. This is her place, her passion; she lives here, she works here and you are entering her space. She knows when to back off an leave you to enjoy the experience, but she also likes to share. This adds up to a special kind of experience.

If you are after some anonymous place to stop for the night and watch TV, drive on.

Dalila is very generous and will offer gifts as well as a clean, cozy rest. I was glad that I had the massage straight away. It let me drift blissfully into the Maleny night... and a wonderful sleep. If you are staying longer, Dalila is only too happy to do deals and offer discounts. She really does want you to go away happy.

Room Tip: I had the Ra room and it suited me very well, but couples might be happier in the Isis suite with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Dalila (inspired creator of Egyptian Dream Retreat) at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Greetings Dear Guest! I am blissfully happy by your amazing & so beautiful comments. May you always be blessed with pure insight . Egyptian Dreams always and we look forward to your return from Dalila & Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
36
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I would like to thank Dalila for making our stay more than I could have asked for. We had a beautiful orgaic breakfast, organic chocolates and natural bath salts. Our room had a beautiful view from our verandah. I got a spiritual massage which I would reccommend to anyone we left the retreat feeling really good about our choice. The room we had, had a europian style caste iron bath and the lighting was lovely 5 stars Dal, thanks Lexie and Gypsy. All the best and we will see you again xxx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Buenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Dalila, owner of Egyptian Dream Retreat, Maleny at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your lovely review of 'CLEOPATRA' suite, We are delighted that you benefitted very much from the Egyptian Goddess Isis massage & all that was provided. We look forward to you & your friend's return. Warmest Wishes & Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous and unique accommodation and Dalila is such lovely hostess!
So much loving attention to detail make a visit here such an unforgettable luxurious and beautiful experience. The rooms are truly a work of art.
You must take the opportunity to have a treatment - Dalila is such a gifted and compassionate healer- who knows just what you need and is such a generous spirit. I felt so clear and energised the days afterwards and finally free of a longstanding issue.
Thank you Dalila for your care and all I received through you!

Rebecca

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Rebecca88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is us who were honoured by your gentleness, kindred spirit and your amazing Angelic singing voice. Our lives & Souls were touched by your presence even our White Shepherd & Golden Retriever, ducks & chickens were upset when you left. Love & Blessings Always from Dalila, Team & Pet Friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend with my Boyfriend. It was a very lovely, relaxing experience. The homemade, handmade chocolates were delicious and the food was really tasty. The bed was so comfortable – the best one I have slept in for a very long time. The room was clean and well looked after. I would stay here again to escape the world.

Room Tip: Sub-penthouse is really nice, with its own inground spa in an enclosed verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Traveller-Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest
We thank you and your boyfriend for having been part of our dream, it is us who are honoured by such highly developed beautiful young couple with wisdom and amazing insight beyond your years. Your respect, graciousness, honesty and gratitude was very much appreciated and refreshing. We wish you all the happiness and await your return.
Warmest & Kindest Blessings
Dalila & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in the Isis-Moon-Goddess Suite and paid $395.00 for the night. The advertisment on the website described the room as a luxuriours 'sub-penthouse' and said it has a private verandah and that the couples spa looked out of the pond. The ad also said we would be greeted with flowers, flowers, fine Swiss chocolates, hors d'oeuvres, refreshments and a spa gift pack made with certified organic ingredients. Bathrobes, slippers and towels are provided for your use. Organic, vegetarian Mediterranean style breakfast served only.

Well, when we arrived we were advised the room was not ready however we could have a late check out the next day. We then came back 2 hours later and found that the 'Sub-Penthouse' was the down stairs area of a house and the 'Verandah' was a chair placed in the car park area. We walked inside and there were no:

Chocolates
Slippers
Spa Gift Pack
Coffee

The hors d'oeuvres was 1 x dinner plate with some crackers, small amount of cheese, a prune and an apriocot. The refreshments was cold water with some kind of herb in it.
We took a look at the spa and it looked over the walk way to the suite above so not private at all.

We asked the hostess, Dalila, about the chocolates etc and she said she would bring them back and also come back to ask what time we would like breakfast. We waited 2 hours and no one returned. We then decided to have a spa and went to fill up the tub and then found the spa function to be broken.

We text the hostess at 7:00pm and asked when she would be returning with our chocolates and if she could bring some coffee and have a look at the spa while she was here.

We then went to bed without a response and we kept awake by the occupants who were above us in a cheaper suite, it sounded as though they were jumping on the floor!

We didn't receive a text message back until 1:30am and the text message read:
'I will bring coffee etc in morning. Chocolates will be given upon leaving as part of gifts. Use as bath, best not to touch spa, will report to tech on Monday. In Maleny they don;t work on weekends. What time shall I bring breakfast?'

We then received breakfast in the morning and found it to be a couple of breadrolls and some dip and an avocado with salsa inside and some fruit. We were then offered another spa to use from 10am to compensate?

After all of this we decided to check out and had to go and see Dalila to check out. She gave us a small bag of chocolates (which looked home made) and a small freezer bag with bath salt inside. She apologised for the spa and to compensate gave us a free tarot card reading? We were then sold to about massages/products for a further half an hour before we could leave.

The room was ok but certainly not a sub penthouse and not private at all unless all windows/curtains were closed.

As you can see, what we received in terms of service, and chocolates, spa pack etc were far from what the advertisement described. This may suite some people but having paid $395 for that, I certainly feel cheated.

I am in my early 20's and paying this much for something was a big deal. If you're into spiritual things etc it may suite you however this certainly was not what we paid for.

I'm sorry to Dalila for having to write this review, you're a nice lady however I feel it's best to be honest and I'm not sure if you realise the service, promises you make on your website are far from what is received at your spa retreat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Elley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a beautiful get away. I stayed in the Cleopatra suite it was to die for. wonderful hospitality and a very warm welcome. A delicious breakfast was served and i felt like a queen in a fluffy robe and slipper. I would defiantly recommend for a getaway. Thankyou

Room Tip: The Cleopatra room was beautiful and very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank NatalieKate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest
It was indeed our pleasure to have such amazing & beautiful energy physically, mentally & spiritual. We look forward to your return.
kindest Regards from Dalila & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I recently stayed here with my partner and we found it to be one of the most fabulous places we have stayed in the sunshine coast hinterland... We stayed in the Cleopatra suite and it was breathtaking... Your hostess, Dolila will think of everything and the atmosphere is sensuous and beautiful. Our relationship has been taken to a whole new level though both treatment massages and the overall surroundings. The room is decorated perfectly and is just so beautiful. The food is delicious with a nourishing organic breakfast being served... Overall this is unforgettable... Your hostess is welcoming, caring and just so lovely.. Guarteed to love it if you are looking for something sensual and different from the norm!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SarahFaulkner86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptian Dream R, Owner at Egyptian Dream Retreat, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guests Re: CLEOPATRA Suite
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, your attention to detail is quite delightful. We appreciate having such lovely guests. Looking forward to your next stay. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
397 reviews
4.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#4 of 5 in Maleny
79 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.5 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egyptian Dream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egyptian Dream Retreat

Property: Egyptian Dream Retreat
Address: Sunnyside Court, Maleny, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Egyptian Dream Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 1 mins drive to Maleny Showgrounds where the great Festivals are held yearly, 75 mins from Heart of Brisbane City Queen St. Mall, 15 mins to Australia Zoo (Crocodile Man), 30mins from pristine beaches, 5mins to Maleny Winery, 10 mins to Montville, minutes to rainforest walks and lakes, waterfalls and many other amazing places of interest. We are in the quaint magical village of Maleny, nestled atop a mountain hillside quiet cul-de-sac stands the Egyptian Dream Retreat house amongst fragrant gardens of Olives, Cypresses, Gardenias, Roses, Lavender, many herbs & ponds, inspired by ancient energy of the Egyptian Goddess Isis. Cleopatra and Ra-Sun-God Suites & Isis-Moon-Goddess Sub-Penthouse are adjacent to the main house with each one having private entrances and are especially designed for a mystical pampering, nurturing experience and ultimate relaxation. Isis-Moon-Goddess has wheelchair access only. As optional extras we offer Egyptian Tantric Kundalini Goddess Isis, Hawaiian Kahuna, Tibetan Brazilian massages, Far-Infra Red with colour healing sauna, Egyptian Bath plus a diverse range of other natural therapies at our Day Spa or in your room for singles or couples. Perfect for romance, special occasions, or just time out to relax, detox and heal. Spoil yourself and be a QUEEN or PHARAOH at our Egyptian Dream Retreat. You may like to take a short stroll to award-winning restaurants, cafes and galleries. Browse through the unique gift shops and boutiques. Nearby are wineries, Australia Zoo, Kondalilla National Park with its majestic waterfalls, Lake Baroon, Gardeners Falls and Glasshouse Mountains and much more. Golf, fishing, canoeing, bush walking, and beaches are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Egyptian Dream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing