We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maleny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solothurn Rural Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a great long weekend with the family. Great experience for kids to get hands on with the animals. Accommodation is dated but clean and tidy but this is forgiven for the experience and tranquillity. I wouldn't say it is value for money but it is worth the trip. The clean air, stunning views with a driveway that is devine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicandco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went for my son's second birthday and we had such a fantastic time. The owners were friendly and very knowledgeable. Our accommodation was super cosy and had everything we needed. Loved the indoor and outdoor fire. Views were spectacular. The variety of animals had us all enthralled and entertained. Would definitely recommend this place and will be going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great accomodation - perched high overlooking the mountain scenery west of Maleny. Good distance beteween chalets so totally quiet. Comfy beds, clean and cosy.

Feeding the animals and milking the cow in the morning great fun - both the mid-week farmer (Steve) and the weekend farmer/owner (Richard) full of information and enthusiastic. Steve particularly so. Lots of fresh laid eggs for eating too. Yum. Walked (actually ran) around the property a bit to see the landscape - there are trails to follow if you don't mind a bit of rough ground. Beautiful morning valley fog gradually evaporating as I proceeded.

Good value for money and with a swimming pool and games room lots to do onsite as well the things to see and do locally. Definite recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianMcIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

lots of better value for money management not professional rude, hard to deal with/

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NeveragainMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of taking our 3 year old grand daughter for 2 days (Tue & Wed) at this awesome place while her Mum and Dad were away on business. The experience was just wonderful and as our grand daughter put it, “the best holiday ever”. We explored the place and our grand daughter just loved the cubby house, and the swings. She had a picture taken under a lemon tree laden with ripe fruit. They have a games room, but she’s a bit young for it. The heated swimming pool was nice, although that wasn’t her priority.

We stayed in the motel unit 15A, 1 of 3 units, and we had the whole place to ourselves, as the Easter and school holidays ( April 2012) have just finished. As one could imagine it was great having the whole place to ourselves. The unit is self contained with a kitchenette where I cooked most of our meals. The electric frying pan was very handy for all my stir fries. Our grand daughter enjoyed playing on the verandah while we unpacked and made ourselves comfortable.

The farm activities were great starting off with the milking of the cow at 0730 & feeding the horses, pigs (6 of them all sisters), chickens, emus, ducks, goats, sheep. Farmer Steve was so friendly and made us feel comfortable with the animal feeding, etc. Our grand daughter helped collect eggs and counted 6 of them! The tractor ride at 10 AM was the highlight of the day. The property is huge approximately 400 acres (we were told) and we got to see and feed more cattle and also saw a wild deer. The tractor ride took about 45 minutes.

We had a lovely 2 days getaway. I would highly recommend it and our grand daughter is already planning on having her Mum and Dad with her next time for another farm stay. Thanks to Anna. Our Bella loved your dogs Zotie and Sally. They would be part of her farm stay stories in weeks and months to come.

Room Tip: Motel Units are great mid week. I probably would have the cottages on weekends and school holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnieGoldCoast_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had this place recommended to us and were not disappointed. Richard and Anna were very friendly and fixed a minor fault with a curtain in our accom straight away. Kids loved the animal feeding, those I can remember were cows, horses, ponies, goats, chickens, ducks, geese, emus and pigs. It lasts about an hour! Tractor ride is also great fun and lasts between 3/4 hr and 1 1/4 hours. We had a chap called Steve on the Monday who gave some great insights into the area. There are some good facilities on site as well. Accom is basic but comfortable - you are on a farm! Highly recommended for a great change from the usual beach holidays.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a longer walk from the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My partner and I and another couple visited Solothurn for a two night stay in July this year. We stayed in one of the three bedroom cottages, Cottage 6. We just wanted to say that we had an awesome weekend. Was just what we were looking for. Cottage was cosy with all the things that one may require. The fireplace and the nice warm cottage was the highlite of our trip. The spectacular views also can't be left out. We only did the animal feeding one morning and although not quite our scene normally we all agreed that we had a great morning, definately something everyone should do at least once! There was surprisingly a huge amount of animals and lot of different ones too. Overall the place had a lovely family atmosphere and we will definately be back! Well Done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
7.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
471 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
3.5 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
3.5 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maleny
85 reviews
5 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solothurn Rural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solothurn Rural Resort

Address: 366 Reesville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solothurn Rural Resort is a family friendly farm stay which has lots of activities for the whole family. We also have a beautiful Chapel called St Albertus Chapel. We cater for families, couples, weddings, conferences and functions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing