We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the owners not friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maleny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solothurn Rural Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
maleny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the owners not friendly”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

lots of better value for money management not professional rude, hard to deal with/

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NeveragainMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, QLD
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of taking our 3 year old grand daughter for 2 days (Tue & Wed) at this awesome place while her Mum and Dad were away on business. The experience was just wonderful and as our grand daughter put it, “the best holiday ever”. We explored the place and our grand daughter just loved the cubby house, and the swings. She had a picture taken under a lemon tree laden with ripe fruit. They have a games room, but she’s a bit young for it. The heated swimming pool was nice, although that wasn’t her priority.

We stayed in the motel unit 15A, 1 of 3 units, and we had the whole place to ourselves, as the Easter and school holidays ( April 2012) have just finished. As one could imagine it was great having the whole place to ourselves. The unit is self contained with a kitchenette where I cooked most of our meals. The electric frying pan was very handy for all my stir fries. Our grand daughter enjoyed playing on the verandah while we unpacked and made ourselves comfortable.

The farm activities were great starting off with the milking of the cow at 0730 & feeding the horses, pigs (6 of them all sisters), chickens, emus, ducks, goats, sheep. Farmer Steve was so friendly and made us feel comfortable with the animal feeding, etc. Our grand daughter helped collect eggs and counted 6 of them! The tractor ride at 10 AM was the highlight of the day. The property is huge approximately 400 acres (we were told) and we got to see and feed more cattle and also saw a wild deer. The tractor ride took about 45 minutes.

We had a lovely 2 days getaway. I would highly recommend it and our grand daughter is already planning on having her Mum and Dad with her next time for another farm stay. Thanks to Anna. Our Bella loved your dogs Zotie and Sally. They would be part of her farm stay stories in weeks and months to come.

Room Tip: Motel Units are great mid week. I probably would have the cottages on weekends and school holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieGoldCoast_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had this place recommended to us and were not disappointed. Richard and Anna were very friendly and fixed a minor fault with a curtain in our accom straight away. Kids loved the animal feeding, those I can remember were cows, horses, ponies, goats, chickens, ducks, geese, emus and pigs. It lasts about an hour! Tractor ride is also great fun and lasts between 3/4 hr and 1 1/4 hours. We had a chap called Steve on the Monday who gave some great insights into the area. There are some good facilities on site as well. Accom is basic but comfortable - you are on a farm! Highly recommended for a great change from the usual beach holidays.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a longer walk from the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toorbul
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My partner and I and another couple visited Solothurn for a two night stay in July this year. We stayed in one of the three bedroom cottages, Cottage 6. We just wanted to say that we had an awesome weekend. Was just what we were looking for. Cottage was cosy with all the things that one may require. The fireplace and the nice warm cottage was the highlite of our trip. The spectacular views also can't be left out. We only did the animal feeding one morning and although not quite our scene normally we all agreed that we had a great morning, definately something everyone should do at least once! There was surprisingly a huge amount of animals and lot of different ones too. Overall the place had a lovely family atmosphere and we will definately be back! Well Done!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I have never done this before, but i just feel like i have to share this wonderful place with you!!! My husband and I and our 3 children decided to go to Solothurn Rural resort for a week in July. We had heard great reports from the other parents at school about Solothurn. From the moment we entered the driveway it was like being in European countryside. I felt all our 'city worries' melt away. The kids had a great week feeding animals, on tractor rides and learning how to through a boomerang!!! My husband and I enjoyed the scenery with a good bottle of red and the heedy smells of the country side and the fireplace. The owners of Solothurn Richard and Anna were very welcoming and only to happy to assist us 'city slickers' when necessary. Our children had an instant bond with their lovely children and spent many hours playing in the tree near our cabin. We had a fantastic week and we left with heavy hearts. Though not for long. Only 16 more sleeps till we will return!!!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here in November with our family - my parents, husband and our 2 children. We stayed in chalet 7 which is the closest of the 4 chalets to the main area. The kids loved doing the cow milking and the animal feeding but the tractor ride was probably the biggest highlight - our son loves tractors!!! The farmer was so friendly and kind to all the children too. We had a BBQ and a swim in the pool after lunch and then cooked marshmallows on the open fireplace outside. Being November it was too hot to light the inside fire but the outside fire was heaps of fun anyway. There were great views from the chalet and the verandah was great to sit back and enjoy a glass of wine after the kids went to bed.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyfun10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We chose Solothurn for our farm experience during our OZ holiday due to its proximity to Maleny (for groceries), reasonable rates (incl farm activities) and numerous units available (so that it will not be too quiet for our liking). Indeed, we made the right choice.

We stayed in Cottage 2, near the homestead and has a patio overlooking the paddock. We were greeted by several horses grazing at the paddock right in front of the patio each morning and the kids were so excited that they would run out, while in their PJs, to touch and feel the horses! It was a very refreshing feeling, to be breathing in the air and sight of nature every morning.

The cottage is like a cozy home, fully self-contained. We were pleasantly surprised that the fireplace kept the cottage snuggly warm throughout the night. We had a great time getting the fireplace started with the firewood provided, something we won't have a chance to do back home.

As part of the farm activities, we (yes, adults, too) got to milk the cow and feed the animals - chicken, ducks, turkeys, emus, geese (I think), goats, sheep, cows, pigs and horses. The tractor ride brought us around the farm which is huge, so much space and greenery. The Sunday we were there, there were several other families and many other kids. I am sure they enjoyed themselves as much as my kids. It was an enriching experience for my kids, to be in such close contact with so many animals.

We had a BBQ at the patio the second night and made a bonfire. A pity that there were only four of us and the resort got rather quiet on a Monday night. A bigger group would definitely be more enjoyable and cheery.

The hosts were nice and friendly. The bulb in one of the bedrooms did not work but the hosts were very responsive and Richard made sure he got it fixed once we informed him about it.

One thing to note, we headed to Solothurn from Eumundi and took the Kidaman Creek Road toward Curramore Road. The single-lane route through the forest reserve was rather deserted, and not a single sight of a car for the whole 20-30 mins while we were on that route. It was quite a scary drive and I will not advise any non-local to try that route, unless you are not on Vodafone sim card, which did not have any network reception in that part of OZ.

Overall, the entire stay was filled with so much experiences that the family will remember fondly for a long while.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CD_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
7.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
6.7 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
6.0 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solothurn Rural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solothurn Rural Resort

Property: Solothurn Rural Resort
Address: 366 Reesville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solothurn Rural Resort is a family friendly farm stay which has lots of activities for the whole family. We also have a beautiful Chapel called St Albertus Chapel. We cater for families, couples, weddings, conferences and functions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing