We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Australian Platypus Park & Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Malanda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Australian Platypus Park is home to a thriving platypus population. These wonderful creatures can be found in a spring fed pond surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. This magnificent setting draws in enthusiastic visitors from all over the globe. We also offer Camping, Bird Watching, and dining through our Smokehouse Cafe. The Smokehouse Cafe serves a selection of great meals at reasonable prices, and we are licensed so you can enjoy a drink with your meal or snack. The Smokehouse Cafe opens at 8am with Guided Platypus tours starting at 9am and departing every 30 minutes throughout the day. Breakfast Menu 8am til 11am Main Menu from 11am to 4pm Platypus Tours every 30 minutes starting at 9am. Last tour starts at 4pm.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Plenty of Platys”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Despite turning up just minutes before closing, the owner could not have been nicer, and let us in to see the platypus in the lake- unlike other reviewers we found him very friendly. There are LOTS of platypus here- we saw at least 8 (or maybe it was just one that swam about very fast!). Anyway, it was fun for everyone to see these fascinating creatures in their natural environment. Didn't do a tour, so can't rate that, but you probably don't really need to do one- just stay quiet and keep your eyes open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank debbiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Time For a Change”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The only good thing that we could really say about this place is that you may get the chance to see a platypus. We especially drove to this attraction for lunch but unfortunately arrived at 2:00pm - just when the restaurant closed so all the owner could offer was a smoked goods platter. Seemed like it may have potential but his manner in describing how we should determine what we wanted was overbearing. The owner was clearly stressed off the planet as was his wife and the resulting 'platter' presentation (nominated meats sliced into chunks) did nothing to appease the eye or the appetite. Young kids may enjoy the opportunity to catch and release fish, but make sure you have eaten before you get there. Sad, because there is so much potential there for somebody who is not as jaded as the current owner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An interesting mix-mash”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon the platapus sanctuary while driving around The Tablelands. Can't miss the entry with the big fish outside! Agree with other reviewer that a bit more cheer would not go a miss but this did not detract from all the other things. We had a delicious plate of smoked foods and some Fish & Chips. We were then directed down to the water to spot some platapus. We did see them. We could have easily spent longer here but with such a wealth on offer around The Tablelands this place lacks refinement or a clear vision what to offer the tourists. If you are passing by then its worth dropping in but would not go out of my way for this experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank ajm_fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice day out in the hinterland”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Fish and Chips was great but we didn't see a platypus however we didn't do the guided tour as there weren't any available the day we went, will go back to see if we can catch a glimpse of one though

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go the bushman's sausage”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Popped in while meandering around the mountains to try some of the smoked goods and have a lovely cup of coffee overlooking the lake. The bushman's sausage was fabulous and I still have cravings for more.

While there was no time for a tour or a fish, Tarzali is definitely a great outing for a family.

The owners have been here for years and are very friendly, but seemingly tired of tourism. I feel for them and the tough times the region has had, but a little more holiday cheer would have been more welcoming.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Australian Platypus Park & Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre also viewed

 
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to The Australian Platypus Park & Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing