We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last resort only” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malanda Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malanda Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“last resort only”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

this place should only be considered as a last resort. better accomodation would be available at a mining camp. best part was leaving.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank midoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
This sort of review is of no value to anybody. Management can only address customers concerns if they know what they are. What were their concerns? Were they just having a bad day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
14
17
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

stayed here unexpectedly, found it to be overpriced for a basic motel. in addition the rooms were not soundproof at all...we could hear EVERYTHING in our neighbours room...and in the morning their clock alarm went off at 5am, and every 5 minutes after as they kept rolling over and hitting the snooze button. Soft doughy mattresses as well. Overall cheap and nasty room with 4 star price.
We ate in the restaurant- service was excellent but the chef let them down with the lack of quality in the meals. The salt and pepper squid was just in batter, soggy and resting on chunks of paw paw with a drizzle of sweet chilli sauce... the food generally sounded a lot better on the menu than when it actually appeared. The Crispy Pork was dry and tough, and the sauce was really sweet, the vegetables overcooked. They should just do honest country food and not try and do vaguely upmarket food... badly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipodes
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Visiting Malanda for a function, this 18 or 20 room motel is situated on a huge area of land. It has a nice pool area, and a large restaurant/function area.

The rooms were fine, with a typical country motel feel where you can park outside you room.

There are scenic views from all the rooms, (which are all non-smoking). A small private patio area overlooks the views and has table, chairs and an ash-tray.

Malanda and the Atherton Tablelands area has so much natural beauty on offer, and this motel offers a good location to base yourself while you day-trip around the area.

The motel owners should consider updating the slightly aged curtains in the room, which don't block out the morning light for those of us that like the option of a dark room & a sleep in.

The other concern was the shower, the flow didn't function properly and there wasn't any hot water, even though hot water came from the vanity sink taps and bath taps without a problem.

Perhaps I was unlucky and there was some sort of blockage, but I would expect this basic essential function to be checked and maintained, not left for the guest to report. So I didn't get a shower that morning, but I did get a "sorry" when I dropped my key back before departing.

The bed was a double, and quite comfortable. The TV had the 5 free to air channels as well as cable sports, movies and news, about 14 channels in total. There was coffee & tea making facilities provided in the room, and fresh milk, and a bottle of water in the mini bar fridge. I paid $85 for the single room, and $15 for a filling breakfast delivered to the room.

I would certainly stay here again, but next time I'll check that the shower's working at check in time.

  • Liked — The peaceful and natural country setting.
  • Disliked — Not getting a shower.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Regarding the shower head flow. In September 2008 we replaced all the shower heads with water saving heads which work rather efficiently. Unfortunately when the plumber fitted the heads some were over tightened and a seal inside the shower head was broken causing them to function incorreclty, hence the poor flow. The customer only had to mention to the management that the shower was not working correctly and the head would have been replaced.
If management does not know there is a problem then it cannot be fixed

We have taken your comment about the curtains and have since replaced all curtains in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
6.4 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Rest Guesthouse
10.1 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.0 mi away
Foxwell Park Lodge
Foxwell Park Lodge
#3 of 5 in Malanda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malanda Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malanda Lodge Motel

Property: Malanda Lodge Motel
Address: Cnr Merragallan & Millaa Millaa Roads, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malanda Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are well-appointed 3 1/2 Star quality with country style décor and quality amenities. The rooms sleep up to four. Malanda Lodge Motel also has some inter-connecting rooms o cater for families and larger groups. Our 17 rooms overlook the lush tropical gardens and rolling green lawns. Relax on the patio and breath in the cool, fresh, clean country air.Our fully licensed restaurant seats 80 people in comfort and contains a giant rustic fireplace for those cool country evenings.Facilities and Services - Fully licensed Restaurant; Swimming pool with waterfall; reek with Platypus viewing; Conference facilities; Night bell and late check-ins; Guest Laundry; WiFi Internet Hotspot; We cater for Weddings, Birthdays, Special Occasions.Under new management and currently updating our décor and refurbishing our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Malanda Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing