We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the detour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malanda Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Reviewed December 4, 2011

fab find! get off bruce highway and go to cairns via highway 25 after townsville/ingham - so much to see and do on atherton tableland
great accomm - very spacious and fab grounds
own licensed restaurant too
highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

Nice motel with rooms looking out over gardens and trees. Very quite at night. Reasonable restaurant,not a good wine range. Clean and friendly staff. Walk to the small town.
Several other restaurants within 15 mins drive

Room Tip: Ask if you can bring a bottle of good wine to the restaurant,you will need to buy in possibly Cairns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingWilburys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

this place should only be considered as a last resort. better accomodation would be available at a mining camp. best part was leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank midoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

This sort of review is of no value to anybody. Management can only address customers concerns if they know what they are. What were their concerns? Were they just having a bad day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

stayed here unexpectedly, found it to be overpriced for a basic motel. in addition the rooms were not soundproof at all...we could hear EVERYTHING in our neighbours room...and in the morning their clock alarm went off at 5am, and every 5 minutes after as they kept rolling over and hitting the snooze button. Soft doughy mattresses as well. Overall cheap and nasty room with 4 star price.
We ate in the restaurant- service was excellent but the chef let them down with the lack of quality in the meals. The salt and pepper squid was just in batter, soggy and resting on chunks of paw paw with a drizzle of sweet chilli sauce... the food generally sounded a lot better on the menu than when it actually appeared. The Crispy Pork was dry and tough, and the sauce was really sweet, the vegetables overcooked. They should just do honest country food and not try and do vaguely upmarket food... badly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Visiting Malanda for a function, this 18 or 20 room motel is situated on a huge area of land. It has a nice pool area, and a large restaurant/function area.

The rooms were fine, with a typical country motel feel where you can park outside you room.

There are scenic views from all the rooms, (which are all non-smoking). A small private patio area overlooks the views and has table, chairs and an ash-tray.

Malanda and the Atherton Tablelands area has so much natural beauty on offer, and this motel offers a good location to base yourself while you day-trip around the area.

The motel owners should consider updating the slightly aged curtains in the room, which don't block out the morning light for those of us that like the option of a dark room & a sleep in.

The other concern was the shower, the flow didn't function properly and there wasn't any hot water, even though hot water came from the vanity sink taps and bath taps without a problem.

Perhaps I was unlucky and there was some sort of blockage, but I would expect this basic essential function to be checked and maintained, not left for the guest to report. So I didn't get a shower that morning, but I did get a "sorry" when I dropped my key back before departing.

The bed was a double, and quite comfortable. The TV had the 5 free to air channels as well as cable sports, movies and news, about 14 channels in total. There was coffee & tea making facilities provided in the room, and fresh milk, and a bottle of water in the mini bar fridge. I paid $85 for the single room, and $15 for a filling breakfast delivered to the room.

I would certainly stay here again, but next time I'll check that the shower's working at check in time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Regarding the shower head flow. In September 2008 we replaced all the shower heads with water saving heads which work rather efficiently. Unfortunately when the plumber fitted the heads some were over tightened and a seal inside the shower head was broken causing them to function incorreclty, hence the poor flow. The customer only had to mention to the management that the shower was not working correctly and the head would have been replaced.
If management does not know there is a problem then it cannot be fixed

We have taken your comment about the curtains and have since replaced all curtains in the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najoua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mion369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
6.4 mi away
Blue Summit Hideaway
Blue Summit Hideaway
#5 of 5 in Yungaburra
15 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Yungaburra
162 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 5 in Yungaburra
135 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
168 reviews
13.1 mi away
Chilverton Cottages
Chilverton Cottages
#1 of 5 in Ravenshoe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malanda Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malanda Lodge Motel

Address: Cnr Merragallan & Millaa Millaa Roads, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
Price Range: $96 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malanda Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are well-appointed 3 1/2 Star quality with country style décor and quality amenities. The rooms sleep up to four. Malanda Lodge Motel also has some inter-connecting rooms o cater for families and larger groups. Our 17 rooms overlook the lush tropical gardens and rolling green lawns. Relax on the patio and breath in the cool, fresh, clean country air.Our fully licensed restaurant seats 80 people in comfort and contains a giant rustic fireplace for those cool country evenings.Facilities and Services - Fully licensed Restaurant; Swimming pool with waterfall; reek with Platypus viewing; Conference facilities; Night bell and late check-ins; Guest Laundry; WiFi Internet Hotspot; We cater for Weddings, Birthdays, Special Occasions.Under new management and currently updating our décor and refurbishing our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Malanda Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing