We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and beautiful room and beauftiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Penguin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing and beautiful room and beauftiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Peta and Jon Nott have transformed their property into a paradise. Rose Gums is truly a retreat. The tree houses are so private you are not aware there is anyone else within cooee. So, so relaxing - could spend all day, or several, just in the tree house with beautiful books to browse, games to play, spas to be had. Birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and mountains to look at.
Then if you feel like a walk, try not to tread on the frogs as you bush walk to the creek or waterfall to see platypus while birdwatching and identifying other fauna and flora using the wonderful guide cards provided in your room. Or hire Jon to take you for a guided birdwatching tour to give you all the information about the beautiful birds that reside on or visit the property.
If you feel like being a tourist there is a myriad of places to go within a short drive and Rose Gums will help with all the places to see and visit.
If you are lucky enough to get to this part of Queensland, a must is the town of Yungaburra, a wonderful artisan town. We had lunch at the Whistle Stop Cafe which was an absolute delight - happy laughing staff, and the singing cook made our day. I hear the pub is also good but we didn't get there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    34
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed in a lodge for 2 nights as part of a nature-watching holiday. The accommodation was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the kitchen area was well-equipped. A breakfast basket was left to cover 2 breakfasts, and it was ample.

We went at the end of the wet season. I think it had been wetter than usual and as such we used the place as somewhere to tour from rather than exploring the grounds themselves. We did try one of the trails in the grounds but we were warned that the leeches were very bad indeed (due to recent amount of rain) and this turned out to be the case!

The time of year seemed very good for butterflies and we saw some beautiful ones, plus there was a lot of birdlife around. There was an early morning bird trip but we were just too tired to get up for that! We did go on an evening wildlife trip nearby (not associated with Rose Gums) that was very good and I would recommend - Alan's Wildlife Tours. Platypus are in the creek at Rose Gums but was too leechy for us. However, the owners were able to recommend another place very nearby where we could park up and view from the car and we did see one there. Would also recommend Tarzali lakes, though a bit of a drive away. You're pretty much guaranteed a platypus viewing there (entrance fee back if not) and you can buy the most fantastic and fresh fish meals there too!

Rose Gums itself was perhaps a little bit too quiet. There was an office where the propieters were but this was closed at night (though an out-of-hours phone number was provided). There was also a Laus restaurant, which we didn't try. I think it would've benefited from some kind of more general eatery, where you could also have breakfast and pick up a packed lunch, and perhaps a small general shop? I appreciate that some people might appreciate the quietness though!

One other thing which might just apply to critter-shy Brits like me - the accommodation did have some very big (by UK standards) spiders in it. We were told they were harmless and they certainly didn't go for us, but it was a little un-nerving if you're not used to it. We put 2 outside but one was too high up for us to reach so we lived with it. By the end we had relaxed about it (it only moved about 2 centimetres while we were there) and we even gave it a name!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillisfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Beautiful little getaway nestled in the yungaburra forests near popular hot spots Lake Eachem & Lake Barrine. The owners took an old cattle property and revegitated with local flora. The result, 8 private cabins with a beautiful view of the forest.

Pros: Log fire, Spa bath, Breakfast hamper on arrival, Big comfy king bed. There are pathways on the property to take you to a small waterfall & ponds where you may spot platypus. Sounds of birdlife in the morning relaxes you, & there are lots of butterflies.
Friendly staff. Beautiful log cabins expertly designed and built. Most mod-cons including tv, dvd, cd player.

Cons: Make sure you are sure of the road before you go- it's a little out of the way.
No phone in the room, or mobile reception. Lots of glass(windows/doors) & limited security.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodchuck_jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Rose Gums in April 2009, with our two teenagers for three nights. The resort was everything it promised to be and we can not recommend it highly enough. The setting is beautiful, with the treehouses virtually hidden from one another. The treehouses themselves are very well designed, equipped and furnished. We appreciated the travel itineries on the Rose Gums website which helped us plan before we arrived and the help from staff. The children loved the tennis court and the free loan DVD's and the walks on site were really lovely (despite the hungry leeches). The highlight for my husband and myself was the early morning birdwalk with Jon. We saw birds indigenous to the area and Jon was extremely knowledgable. Another treat was the evening meal provided by Mr Lee - absolutely fabulous with the ice-cream desserts a triumph. We had originally thought about staying somewhere cheaper, but we can honestly say that Rose Gums is worth every penny and very good value for what they provide. We would love to return - perhaps for a romantic break some time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We loved this place. The setting is wonderful and the views from the individual tree houses overlook fantastic grounds. They are very private - we couldn't even see the nearest one - and really well equiped with washer & dryer in an outside area, microwave, fridge etc & basic provisions. There is a wonderful wooden terrace & sliding glass doors all around. We opened them & felt as if we were in the middle of the rain forest. Breakfast is provided as a huge hamper of food in the fridge. The grounds are huge with lots of trails to explore & ponds where we were lucky enough to see a platypus. The owners are very friendly and helpful - we wanted to barbecue one night and the owner got us all the food - steaks ,salads etc - for a very reasonable cost

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfromMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Very comfortable treehouse, away from everything.
The breakfast hamper was a nice surprise at our arrival.
Reception was very helpful, and the surroundings are simply beautiful. Lots of walks to do and plenty of birdlife.
Marsh flies were a bit of a pest, and tried to feast on us, and one of us found out a leech had been hitchhiking on her leg, after a walk, but it as all worth it.
A car is a must if you stay a bit longer and want to see some more of the surroundings.
We had dinner at Mr. Lee's restaurant, which turned out to be a very pleasant experience. BUT, he had used lots and lots of koriander in all 4 dishes. That is fine if you like it, but in our case, two of us dined on rice & paksoy and made a run for cheese and crackers when we got back to the tree house.
However, Mr. Lee is a very nice person and if you like koriander, you will have a very good meal at his restaurant.

  • Liked — Setting, comfort
  • Disliked — Marsh flies
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2008

This place gives an unbeatable experience of North Queensland rainforest, since it is located on the border of world heritage rainforest area. The site is certified as an eco site and the hosts have planted over 20,000 trees to restore the ex dairy farm to dense rainforest. It's fantastic for bird watchers as there are 100s of species visiting the site, which the very knowledgeable hosts help to spot on morning walking tours. We love the tree house cabins (with spa!). Ours (tree house #1) had fantastic views onto Mt Bartle Frere in the world heritage area over the rainforest canopy, with windows all around and complete privacy. There are also lots of walking tracks, many leading down to a small creek where we spotted young platypus playing. Since it's in the middle of rainforest the place can also attract spiders and snakes but we were put at ease by the hosts on this....! There is a restaurant onsite but otherwise lunch and breakfast past the first day must be brought in. Access without a car is possible if you can get to Atherton, Malanda or Yungaburra and the hosts can pick up from there...but a car would certainly help to access the tablelands as you are otherwise fairly -isolated (which is just what the doctor ordered!).

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank DublinQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
7.8 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#1 of 7 in Yungaburra
234 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
8.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
8.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#6 of 7 in Yungaburra
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Property: Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Address: 324 Land Road, via Lake Eacham | P.O. Box 776, Malanda, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Malanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a secluded rainforest retreat in the cool highlands above Cairns, all our treehouses are self-contained featuring spa baths, fireplaces and magnificent views. The 93 HA property has 9 kilometres of walking tracks and over 160 species of birds and other wildlife, including Platypus that inhabit our pristine rainforest creeks. Delight in our own in-house restaurant, LEAF, a private dining experience in the tree-tops. Your hosts Peta & Jon are very friendly and helpful and are looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing