We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Malanda Lodge Motel(Malanda)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Fig Motel(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allumbah Pocket Cottages(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Summit Hideaway(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atherton Motel(Atherton)(Great Value!)
$91
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
164
38
12
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
38
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housebreakfast hamperspa baththe kitchenatherton tablelandsleaf restaurantboth nightsearly morningwilderness retreatcomplete privacybird watcherson site restaurantlocal wildlifeoutside worldvery special placeground levelamazing place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 221 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Very comfortable treehouse, away from everything.
The breakfast hamper was a nice surprise at our arrival.
Reception was very helpful, and the surroundings are simply beautiful. Lots of walks to do and plenty of birdlife.
Marsh flies were a bit of a pest, and tried to feast on us, and one of us found out a leech had been hitchhiking on her leg, after a walk, but it as all worth it.
A car is a must if you stay a bit longer and want to see some more of the surroundings.
We had dinner at Mr. Lee's restaurant, which turned out to be a very pleasant experience. BUT, he had used lots and lots of koriander in all 4 dishes. That is fine if you like it, but in our case, two of us dined on rice & paksoy and made a run for cheese and crackers when we got back to the tree house.
However, Mr. Lee is a very nice person and if you like koriander, you will have a very good meal at his restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

This place gives an unbeatable experience of North Queensland rainforest, since it is located on the border of world heritage rainforest area. The site is certified as an eco site and the hosts have planted over 20,000 trees to restore the ex dairy farm to dense rainforest. It's fantastic for bird watchers as there are 100s of species visiting the site, which the very knowledgeable hosts help to spot on morning walking tours. We love the tree house cabins (with spa!). Ours (tree house #1) had fantastic views onto Mt Bartle Frere in the world heritage area over the rainforest canopy, with windows all around and complete privacy. There are also lots of walking tracks, many leading down to a small creek where we spotted young platypus playing. Since it's in the middle of rainforest the place can also attract spiders and snakes but we were put at ease by the hosts on this....! There is a restaurant onsite but otherwise lunch and breakfast past the first day must be brought in. Access without a car is possible if you can get to Atherton, Malanda or Yungaburra and the hosts can pick up from there...but a car would certainly help to access the tablelands as you are otherwise fairly -isolated (which is just what the doctor ordered!).

Stayed: November 2008
Thank DublinQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We doubled our stay from 2 to 4 nights, and even then, found it hard to leave. Everything from the fireplace to the spa, made our stay heavenly.
After our early morning bird watching tour with Jon (one of the hosts, with fantastic stories to share), we became avid birding enthusiasts, and travelled the surrounding areas lush with bird life. We then realised we could simply sit on our deck, and watch the numerous birds for hours...
It was amazing to wake up to the lyrical chorus of the forest birds.
Jon's wife Peta provided us with more than what was expected, in terms of advice, friendliness, and how to live in a sustainable way.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying at the Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat. The accomodation was lovely and we really apreciated the log fire on the cold July evenings (although on the final night my brother suffered from a terrible alergic reaction to the smoke and had to stay outside on the balcony or in the bedroom downstairs)! On arrival we were provided with an excellent picnic hamper containing very tasty, bacon, egg, bread, jam and cereals). John, one of the owners provided an excellent guided bird tour.

The property is in a fantastic, if somewhat remote locations with beautiful views and plenty of fantastic things to see in the area. The property is beautiful although more storage space would have been better as we were travelling for three weeks and had a lot with us!

I would really recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatherineEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: "Kingfisher" mit freiem Blick auf den Wald. Die anderen haben wir nicht gesehen.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews