We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but no cigar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Park Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Close, but no cigar.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

You're not going to find a Four Seasons in Longreach, so let's get that out of the way now. The Albert Park is generally regarded as the best place to stay in town. While I didn't go around with a white glove and UV light, the impression was clean. No stains or mildew, no broken stuff, outside swept - but there is no escaping this is a rural motel. What's the big deal then? Well even though Aussies generally are not the complaining type, especially the country folks, Longreach is a major tourism hub and commerce centre. You have two of the country's most significant regional tourism drawcards in the one town namely the Stockmans Hall of Fame and the Qantas Founders Museum, which draw visitors from all over the country and internationally. I would hope this might spur the owners to modernise a little.

The rooms, while spacious enough, clean and neat, are still tired and dated. Laminex, gawdy bedspreads and limited in-room amenities. There's no in-room Internet, but there is provision in the reception. Not always convenient for business travellers who might need to stay up late. There's no complimentary bottled water although there's a water jug in the fridge. Perfectly fine, just that mine was empty. Coffee and tea takes me back to motels of the '70s. Plain Jane tea bags and instant coffee powder satchels. Oh, well. :(

Dining is in a themed 'country shed' kind-of atmosphere and there's a derelict old car out front. Sort-of works. Breakfast offering was the usual cereals (fine by me) some fruit and regular hot offerings. Adequate, but unremarkable.

You might think I'm being hard here and I really wanted to find that fourth point, but breakfast coffee was still cheap instant and when I enquired about the espresso machine taunting me from behind the bar, I received a flat “sorry we don't do espresso for breakfast”. Bzzzt! Wrong answer.

It could be that Albert Pk are a bit complacent without real competition in town but with Longreach billing itself as a major regional attraction for Queensland, this motel is not holding up its end of the deal. Sorry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roderick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Rod,
Thank you for your review. We do have 2 iconic national tourist attractions on our doorstep that many visitors come to see, but tourism for us is seasonal not all year round. It is a shame you only spent a night with us and didn't give us the opportunity to share with you what we believe makes the Albert Park a little more special and memorable over other motels.
Take care
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
43
119
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Though the rooms are big. The shower area is a little tired. The pillows are yukky I will bring my own next time. In saying that. The motel is lovely. Very well set out. It's a little distance from town. I wouldn't want to walk to town. Too far. But perfect in the fact it's right out the front of the qantas and stock mans hall of fame. Walking distance which is great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi,
We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your review.
Jane,Tony & the Albert Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night before we started camping on a five week trip, we found it great they were really helpful, the rooms were big and basic, we had room to park our car and camper trailer which was great. The owners were very good at making everyone feel welcome and ensuring they knew what was happening around town. I would highly recommend, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Glen,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I trust your 5 weeks of camping was a lot of fun as well, seeing lots of amazing places.
take care
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a family room which was clean & tidy. The shower pressure/heat was great, although the shower screen didn't close properly so water went all over the floor. The staff are friendly and very helpful. There was plenty of storage space & benches for luggage. It was an easy walk to the Q.A.N.T.A.S. museum. The only downside was no sink, which isn't expected in a motel room but would have been handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review. Walking distance to our 2 main attractions is a definite bonus for our guests. It is lovely to hear praise for our team who work hard with us to ensure your stay is a good one. Our bathrooms are being upgraded with new shower screens and tap ware on the bathroom sinks replaced progressively throughout the motel.
we look forward to you visiting us again.
Take care
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed here with a friend on my return drive to Darwin. The rooms were comfortable and clean with plenty of space. The beds were comfortable for a good sleep. The bathroom was clean though a little dated, hardly important. Our room was up the back which I'm sure made it quieter being away from the highway.

The service was good and and we were efficiently checked in. They also delivered my friend to the train which is a great service.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacasperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi,
We are pleased you found our rooms clean and you had a god nights sleep. We are always working towards updating our rooms, so hopefully on your next visit you will notice the changes.
take care and thank you for your review.
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have recently stayed at Albert Park for 4 nights and must comment on the friendliness of Jane, Tony and staff during our stay. Our train arrived late but as soon as we advised our arrival, we were promptly transported to the motel by the owner, Tony. When we enquired as to where to eat in town, we were also offered the use of their own car to get there!!! The following morning he dropped us off at the School of the Air and also took us on a tour of the town. Exceptional!!!

Although the accommodation is dated, it was very clean and the a la carte food in the restaurant was very good.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the fact that the motel was in walking distance to the Qantas Founders Museum and the Stockmans Hall of Fame made it all the more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickAndCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to see much of what we have to offer as well as enjoy our hospitality. You commented on the "Facts &Fibs" tour which has become quite a hit, with our guests. Deciding the fact from the bibs is the trick. We look forward to maybe seeing you in the future.
Many thanks
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a wonderful welcome and amazingly helpful staff. Clean and airy rooms. Walking distance to both the Stockmans Hall of Fame and also the Qantas Museum.
The staff helped us to book lots of amazing trips and were always there when we needed them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to hear praise for our staff who work very hard to ensure your stay is a great one.
take care
Jane, Tony & the Albert Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longreach
0.7 mi away
Abajaz Motor Inn
Abajaz Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Longreach
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinnon & Co Outback Accommodation
1.0 mi away
Longreach Motor Inn
Longreach Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Longreach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jumbuck Motel
The Jumbuck Motel
#4 of 4 in Longreach
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Longreach Motel
Longreach Motel
#1 of 2 in Longreach
63 reviews
15.6 mi away
Wellshot Hotel
Wellshot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ilfracombe
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Motor Inn

Property: Albert Park Motor Inn
Address: Ilfracombe Rd & Stork Rd, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Park Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 ground floor units, Reverse-cycle Air-conditioned rooms with undercover parking in front of each room. Austar Television in each room. 3 guest laundries on site. Fully licensed restaurant and bar on premises (summer hours are reduced, contact us for more info). Large resort style pool, with kids pool and cold spa attached. Located close to Australian Stockmans Hall of Fame, Qantas Founders Outback Museum and Longreach Airport. Reception hours are from 7.30am to 8.30pm (summer hours may vary, contact us for more info), free internet available in reception. Set in unique bush surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing