We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heartland Theatre - CLOSED

Heartland Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Heartland Theatre, the Outback's premiere musical experience & a unique evening's entertainment. Located in the iconic Qantas Founders Museum precinct in the shadow of the 747, Heartland Theatre guarantees you a night like no other. Multi-award winning songwriters Michael Quilty & Grant & Lee Millar share their experience in over two hours of music, poetry & yarns delivering the outback's heart as only locals can. With dinner, full table service & fully licensed, our air-conditioned venue will be 'first-class' all the way. Heartland Theatre was born of a passion to bring people a truly unique and authentic 'Australian Outback' experience and it delivers in spades. 2015 brings the introduction our new Centenary of ANZAC Show. The Show operates from April to October. Bookings Essential - full details can be found on our website. Family friendly, wheelchair accessible and ample parking.
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Heartland Theatre is a very witty and entertaining performance by two very talented blokes in a magical setting on the bank of the Thompson River. I would suggest that any one travelling to Longreach must take the river cruise and see the show. A must see in the Central West!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merlin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant M, Owner at Heartland Theatre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Merlin 1960,

Your review is indeed appreciated & we thank you for listing us as a 'must see'. Whilst in Longreach there is so much to see & do that often visitors are quite surprised at the variety & scale of what the Central West actually has to offer .... we continue to add our bit to the mix.

Thanks for the kudos.

Michael & Grant (Heartland Theatre)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We took a sunset cruise and then had dinner while these guys did their thang - was sooooo great!! All 4 of us LOVED the whole event. The setting was gorgeous, the ambience wonderful and the entertainment fantastic!! We couldn't help but buy their cd, and we had it on repeat for the whole rest of our holiday!! A night to remember and totally worth doing!! It is definitely a MUST DO for any trip to Longreach!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant M, Owner at Heartland Theatre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Janelle H,

Sounds like you're a convert? We certainly hope so as word-of-mouth is our best advertising ..... & you were shouting "ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!" (look - you've got me doing it now!). Thanks for the review & feedback on our site - we think it's pretty unique as well & can't wait for the 2014 season to start .... however, until then it's settle back & maybe just gloss over a few of these TripAdvisor reviews for some much-needed encouragement. Yours will be towards the top of the list - thanks!

Michael & Grant (Heartland Theatre)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“River Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A great place, great night, great food, great entertainment and staff that appeared to love their jobs and really made the night one to remember, thanks a lot.
Tony and Ann

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant M, Owner at Heartland Theatre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Tony I (Tony & Ann),

Cheers for your review & sentiments on a great night out - glad we could be of service. We trust we will again see you when you next return to Longreach & it's surrounds.

Michael & Grant (Heartland Theatre)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Island Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“July on the Thomson River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

In all the years I have been going to special events I have never had such universal positive feedback on such a great night...well done heartland...brilliant show.great cruise and fab tucker...Tania K was a bonus....an all round sensational experience...Cheers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant M, Owner at Heartland Theatre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Lance S,

Thanks for your encouragement - it was indeed our privilege to perform with Tania Kernaghan for a series of 8 concerts this year ... & looking forward to doing it again in 2014. It was with delight that we won the award for 'Best Attraction' at the Outback Queensland Tourism Awards for the second year running & it's all down to a great team - Outback Aussie Tours & Heartland Theatre - glad you could be part of it. Cheers.

Michael & Grant (Heartland Theatre)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best experience of our outback tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Many thanks to Grant and Michael of Heartland Theatre for a truly memorable evening. Wonderful entertainment, [ outback stories, country music and bush poetry ] delicious meal, log fires, all on the banks of the Thomson river after a great cruise on the river. It truly was the highlight of our outback trip. Thanks guys !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant M, Owner at Heartland Theatre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sue P,

Thanks for posting such a great review for your fellow TripAdvisors - we can't thank you enough. It's a little overwhelming that we could be the highlight of anything, let alone your outback trip but might be forgetting that it's not just about us .... the mighty Thomson river & the MV Explorer, Outback Aussie Tours & the campsite, tucker, fires & service ..... yep, it's all starting to add up! Hope to see you again down the track!

Michael & Grant (Heartland Theatre)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartland Theatre also viewed

Longreach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing