We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative”

QANTAS Founders Museum
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Longreach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Qantas Founders Museum.We are an independent not-for-profit community organization and registered charity, operating since 1996, to commemorate the ethos and preserve the material heritage of the founders and early operations of Qantas Airways Ltd. Today, we are a world-class museum and cultural display, eloquently telling the story of the founding of Qantas through interpretive displays, interactive exhibits, replica aircraft and an impressive collection of genuine artifacts. Our collection incorporates four of the world’s most significant airliners – the Consolidated PBY Catalina Flying Boat, the Douglas DC3, the Boeing 707 and the legendary Boeing 747. In addition, we have full scale replicas of some of the most important aircraft in the early Qantas fleet – the DeHaviland DH-61 Giant Moth, the DeHaviland DH-50, and the Avro 504k Dyak; Qantas’ first ever aircraft.
Mossman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My children and I learnt some amazing facts about the planes we fly in all the time. The tour through the little plane was amazing. Some people have a great life!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    206
    34
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best museum experiences ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

An iconic story beautifully curated. The 707 and 747 with wing walk is a must. Annamaree gave us the perfect tour with interesting information and stories without swamping with too much detail. We spent 4 entertaining hours there and with the Stockmans Hall of Fame this venue makes Longreach a must see destination.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must see for fans of aviation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very impressive collection of displays, including a DC3, 707 and 747. Easily filled 2 days of self-paced exploration at the museum, watching videos and looking at thoughtfully presented exhibits. Lots of Qantas memorabilia and stories of pioneers of aviation in Australia. The Platinum tour is worth every penny if you are interested in planes and flying. Also has a fantastic restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpheus Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“QANTAS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Little seating for people to rest if they became tired and I was there when a tour group was visiting and there was little respct for other people at the centre.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank asz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic - WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just got back from a couple of days in Longreach. Did the Platinum tour, spent nearly 6 hours at the museum and I still am talking about it. We had Annmaree as our guide and she was awesome, she is full of so much knowledge about those planes. Was great going everywhere in the 747 and a look through the 707, I loved the wing walks, hang on, I loved all of it! Had a great time.

The cafe does a pretty good meals and very reasonable prices.

I would higly recommend. Spend the money and do all the tours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank itsmebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QANTAS Founders Museum also viewed

 

Been to QANTAS Founders Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing