We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously Great Entertainment”
Review of Outback Pioneers

Outback Pioneers
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Longreach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Outback Pioneers invites everyone to come to Longreach and discover the heritage and pioneering spirit of outback Queensland. Step into pioneers shoes for holidays and experiences that entertain, educate and inspire. Owned and managed by the Kinnon family, Outback Pioneers reflects their love of the outback lifestyle and dedication to preserving it for future generations. What began in 2006 as a way to diversify the family’s grazing business in times of drought has become a passion to share Australia’s iconic heritage with visitors. When you visit Longreach you can also stay in Kinnon & Co’s award-winning, heritage-inspired Outback Accommodation, which is an attraction in its own right. Outback Pioneers is the only place in Australia you can gallop in a Cobb & Co stagecoach along part of an old mail route, see the Harry Redford Old Time Tent Show and much more. You can also take a sunset cruise on the Thomson River to a stockman’s dinner around the campfire plus visit the Kinnon’s historic, working Nogo Station where Captain Starlight kept his stolen cattle and where station life continues to defy drought and distance. In Longreach, the Kinnon & Co Station Store and The Welcome Home are further attractions and the Outback Pioneers booking office is in The Welcome Home building at 128 Eagle Street.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed December 29, 2013

unfortunately we missed out on the river boat experience, but were able to enjoy the show & coach ride, they were both wonderful, the coach ride was fast, dusty & exciting, while the show was an absolute scream, I, along with many others had tears running down my face from laughter. When in Longreach it is an absolute must to attend. As an added bonus, the Store is an absolute treasure trove.

Thank Lyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coach ride"
in 81 reviews
"kinnon family"
in 65 reviews
"sound and light show"
in 57 reviews
"stew"
in 70 reviews
"bush poetry"
in 93 reviews
"the river"
in 151 reviews
"stage coach"
in 24 reviews
"captain starlight"
in 43 reviews
"paddle wheeler"
in 24 reviews
"billy tea"
in 42 reviews
"scones"
in 42 reviews
"jam and cream"
in 19 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 76 reviews
"harry redford"
in 26 reviews
"morning tea"
in 36 reviews
"national anthem"
in 12 reviews
"family business"
in 10 reviews
Filter

478 - 482 of 657 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We cruised the Thompson River with Kinnon& Co in April & like everything this company does it was well organised, interesting & enjoyable. Starting with a BYO sunset cruise, followed by the amazing Light Show & Starlight Film we then enjoyed a traditional Aussie stew & apple pie around the campfire. The highlight was the wonderful barefoot poet Scotty, a true outback character. We also were picked up by the bus while staying at the "free camp" just down the road. Thoroughly recommend this tour & their Cobb & Co ride & show in town.

5  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINNON, Manager at Outback Pioneers, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear armles50, thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are so glad you enjoyed our Thomson River Cruise and also the Cobb & Co and Harry Redford Old Time Tent Show. Scotty the bush poet is a real gem and a highlight for many of our guests. It is great that the whole evening combined to provide you with a "Lovely Night". We hope to see you again one day in Longreach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went on the paddlewheeler for the last Thomson river cruise of the year last night. From the dry humour of the boat skipper to the very tasty stew to Scotty's repertoire of poetry to the light & sound show it was a most enjoyable night and we would happily recommend the sunset river cruise to anyone. Well done Kinnon & Co.

Thank Fullyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINNON, Manager at Outback Pioneers, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Fullyhow, how lovely to hear your feedback. The last evening tour for 2013 was certainly a special night with Jeremy and Lane at the helm. Thank you for letting us know how enjoyable the evening was and thank you also for recommending us to others. We hope to see you again one day in Longreach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ive done the thomson river cruise a couple of times now... first time though with the light n sound show. Fantastic and very enjoyable. Highly recommended!!!

1  Thank Meekz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINNON, Manager at Outback Pioneers, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Meekz83, thank you for reviewing our tour. It is great to hear from a repeat guest and we hope you have enjoyed the effort we have put into enhancing this evening. The Sound and Light show is a new component for 2013 and has been a huge hit with all our guests. Thanks for letting us know how you enjoyed your evening and we hope you will tour again with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went on the sunset paddlesteamer tour and outback show, which was excellent. I particularly loved the way the chicken pulled the main in the barrell along. The chook later came and helped eat our meal. I loved the stew - must get the recipe.
Great night with a fair dinkum bloke.
by Fluoro STEVE

Thank ValeriE502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINNON, Manager at Outback Pioneers, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Fluro Steve, thanks for taking the time to review our tour and letting others know how much you enjoyed the evening. Black Caviar II is great, he is a real character and loves entertaining the crowd. Great to hear you loved the stew, it is important that we portray thing how they really were and for the Stockmen this was a staple meal, even though we can make it more tasty today! We hope to see you in Longreach when next holidaying in Outback Queensland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Pioneers also viewed

 

Been to Outback Pioneers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing