We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longreach Tourist Park
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised at how the park emptied and filled on a daily basis. A very busy van park. To have an ensuite on a tent site was perfect. The ground was a bit hard to hammer the pegs into and many bent but this is the gateway to the outback and you have to expect this. The brolgas were entertaining for the kids. Not a bad spot at all

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi,

Thanks your taking the time to review us our team really appreciates your valuable feedback.
Also thanks for understanding our harsh outback environment!

From the team at LTP THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this Park. We camped near the billabong this time in the un-powered sites. Close to the amenities. These were clean and tidy. Good value for money. We were just travelling through Longreach this time but when we stayed last time for a week, this park is very handy to get to the Qantas Museum and walking distance the The Stockman's Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for your review on our park we really appreciate it.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks,
LTP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Longreach is a popular tourist destination, there is a lot to see and do here but not much choice for caravanners. We stayed at this park in 2004 and the park is now at least 4 times larger, we could not believe how it has expanded. In addition it was nearly full and the restaurant was booked out, obviously a very popular place. The amenities were good and included a pool, camp kitchen and evening activities.The sites range from gravel to concrete slabs and matting.

What was disconcerting was the sheer size of the park and the fact thay very little appears to have done in the way of landscaping i.e. more native trees and grass to give an outback flavour to the place. We are very aware of problems caused by climate but fewer sites and more recreational spaces would have made the place more appealing. On this trip we only stayed a night and moved on to a smaller town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently. Cabin was clean but didnt stay that way long as the dirt paths made dirty feet. Linen was quite aged, towels thin and small. No shampoo. Good range of kitchen items and a full size table made making breakfast easy. Longreach accommodation is well patronised...book., and expensive for the standard. Some cabins are close to the main road and a parking area for road trains, some with cattle onboard. Not quiet.

Room Tip: Take a caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1982Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We wanted to stay in Longreach Sunday/Monday night,to visit The Queensland and Northern Territory Ariel Services founders museum,as well as the Stockmans Hall of fame,all the motels were full,talk about a lucky break,I rang the Longreach Tourist Park and they had a Deluxe 2 bedroom villa free for the same or less money than a small motel room.
Not only was the welcome friendly and helpful,they booked us into The Woolshed licenced restaurant,which is in the Tourist Park,for both nights.
Everything was easy walking distance,there's even a 5 kilometre walking track out the front,it's so unusual to see a 747 parked accross the road,with the Longreach runway half the normal length needed.
Would be happy to stay a week and would highly recommend it ahead of the local Motels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here only one night. It was sufficient for a short stay. The bathroom was clean with plenty of toilets and showers although there's a sign saying don't use much hot water in winter. I showered early so was fine... The camp kitchen is good with gas stove, microwave and fridge available. We were on a powered site in a camper trailer. The site was dirt so made it interesting getting pegs in the ground. We were lucky in that our site had a light although much of the park seemed to be in darkness.

Room Tip: Ask for a site at the front of the park near the artesian spa/swimming pool. There are more lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in tent on un powered site. Toilets and showers all very clean. Great camp kitchen that is also very clean. All staff are friendly and prices on par with anywhere else. Nice place and recommended to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Daz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

From the team here at LTP we thank you very much for your kind review!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longreach
0.3 mi away
Albert Park Motor Inn
Albert Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Longreach
326 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Caravan Park
Ilfracombe Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Ilfracombe
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinnon & Co Outback Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abajaz Motor Inn
Abajaz Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Longreach
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jumbuck Motel
The Jumbuck Motel
#4 of 4 in Longreach
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Longreach Motor Inn
Longreach Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Longreach
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longreach Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longreach Tourist Park

Address: Thrush Road, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longreach
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Longreach Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Longreach Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing