We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
152
84
22
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
152
84
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thoroughly enjoyed our stay air freshener room was clean owners were friendly comfortable place to stay close to town excellent stay road trip each morning qantas museum undercover parking rsl club stayed nights the managers major attractions outback hospitality visit longreach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 271 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2019

Made to feel very welcome , nothing too much trouble, rooms clean and comfortable, serviced regularly, our hosts where more than happy to drop us off and pick us back seeing as we’d bought the first rain in 7 years ,!!!(they are known to do it for their guest )

Room tip: Check with host and your own requirements
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights to enjoy the various attractions around town. Booked the place as it was top ranked in town. Which, reading the reviews here, obviously has disappointed some guests. Rod & Liane were helpful, our room was clean, the bed very comfortable, parking undercover, pool warm and clean. We were not expecting a noisy hole in the wall air conditioner but it was efficient. It was our error to expect a quiet split aircon in the #1 motel in town. If you want 5 star, stay in the city. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay thank you.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mulgamagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Hi and thanks for your great review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Longreach.

We are trying to replace all the window mounted air conditioners with split systems but as with everything it's a very costly exercise! We've just installed 2 more split systems this week, as you said though the window mounted ones do cool the rooms down. They tend to be noisier if they're set too low or with the fan on auto so we preset to low fan and 24.

Rodd and Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

Always a pleasant and restful stay after the long drive from Mount Isa. The RSL club and other dining establishments are within easy walking distance from the Abajaz Motor Inn as are the tourist attractions like the QANTAS Museum and The Stockman's Hall of Fame.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StanH205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Hi Stan,

Thanks for your review, it's always a pleasure seeing you when you come through Longreach.

Rodd and Liane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

Arrived on Spirit of the Outback and the motel is only a short walk away. Rodd was so friendly and helpful, even picked us up from the Qantas museum. Rooms are clean and tidy, very quiet and everything you need. The pool is clean, and the town is within an easy walk. Free WiFi was fast and reliable. Excllent value for money, and would strongly recommend

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BriJan4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

Clean, basic motel within walking distance to town - if you're up to walking in 40 degree heat!
Stayed in a Queen room with a comfortable bed.
Room has all you need but is looking tired. Shower door did not slide as one and carpet was worn. Air conditioner was old and very loud.
There is no evening meal as mentioned on the website.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank ImpulsivePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Nola,

Thank-you for your 2nd on-line review, the other on booking.com.

As advised already on the other review site we find it a little frustrating when a guest review isn't realistic, we wish we could post photo's to show how our rooms are in relation to certain comments.

All motels in Longreach are 3 to 3.5 star rated and built in the 70's, early 80's, the tired look as you described we all embrace and is part of our country feel that most people we've met over a decade love.... we're not a flash GC resort!

During this extremely harsh period, now in the 7th year of drought in the Outback, we are doing our best to make the place look the best we can, just so the reviewing public know, the entire complex was externally painted last year with more plans in the wind as the budget allows.

Unfortunately you arrived in Summer and yes, unlike the capital city in which you live, we have constant 40 degree plus heat during this time of the year, although you had a vehicle, should the 6 or 7 minute walk to the town centre not be suitable, we have a taxi here in Longreach together with a shuttle from one of our local hotels.

The room in which you stayed was recently painted internally and the carpet replaced about five years ago, the carpet is not worn, we had a guest leave a small iron burn there recently that you are obviously talking about here, the carpet was also professionally cleaned late last year.

We have renovated 9 of the 18 bathrooms however the room you were in was not one of the renovated ones. It still has the 3 tiered glass panel door and yes, unfortunately one of the plastic clips that holds the 1st & 2nd panels together has snapped so the 2 panels just need to be closed separately. As you can imagine it is a fairly costly exercise renovating just 1 bathroom so it may take some time to get through 18 especially as we do try to keep our tariff down for the budget conscious travellers.

Yes, the room has a wall mounted unit which will always have a degree of 'grey' noise but the unit is fairly new and digitally displayed. We pre-set all units to 24 degrees and low fan, living here in the outback for over 10 years we know how the units best perform under extreme heat, unfortunately as in this case also, guests change the setting to a far colder setting and on high fan, any unit will always struggle and never meet he desired setting.

As for the evening meals, we don't have a restaurant on site but do provide evening meals, well all meals for that matter, but as advised on check in, we had literally just arrived back one day earlier from a three week holiday and had none of our lovely home cooked meals available that night of arrival, we find it a little disingenuous when we said to you let us know if you require anything on the 2nd night of your stay and could have certainly whipped up a country style home cooked delight for you.

Looking at the poor rating of value, our normal tariff that day was $127 per night, the online booking that you accepted prior to arrival was $114, simply put we feel that is a great price and definitely value for money considering all the amenities supplied.

I'm sure if you had checked the four other motels in town for that day, you would have found us to be extremely competitive.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip

Rodd and Liane





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews