We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning rainforest accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Rainforest View from Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainforest View from Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Rainforest View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kuranda, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
878luke
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Stunning rainforest accommodation”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My partner and I greatly enjoyed our stay at this idellyic location. Only 20mins from the bottom of the mountain (we timed it, and didn't drive aggressively down the curvy mountain pass) Platypus Springs is 5mins drive from Kuranda Village. Full kitchen facilities, stunning rainforest views (and nothing else!!!) and hardly a non-natural sound to be heard.

A fun new treats in store for you thanks to the lovely host (I'll leave them as a surprise, though some treats may only be there if you stay longer - we were there for 1.5 weeks). The spa is a winner, as is the pool. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and was a great launching point from which to explore Port Douglas, Mossman, the Tablelands and even a big trip up to the Daintree for a day. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Frying pan - things stuck to it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelene H
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect escape for two.”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found Paradise. Gemma is the perfect host - Platypus Springs the perfect escape. The residence & facilities are terrific, the rainforest is beautiful, the privacy is excellent and the quality of all components in the house and surrounds are beyond reproach.

Our stay was better than expected and we have no hesitation in strongly recommending Platypus Springs for a private holiday for two.

Everything is brilliantly outstanding if you want absolute privacy and quality.

Would give it 6 stars if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic but the seclusion and privacy earned a massive tick.
Liked least: The rain but that's beyond anyone's control especially in Kuranda.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry B
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were instantly taken with Platypus Springs as soon as we opened the door.
The comfort and attention to detail is more that we have seen anywhere else.
We have been to FNQ many times. Port Douglas is a shadow of its former self and Platypus Springs is the only thing that would bring us back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
140573BC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A fabulous what to end the year and see in the new one. The peace and relaxation you experience when surrounded by this magnificent rain Forrest is truly hard to put into words. Absolutely beautiful hidden treasure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seniors60...
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful secluded hideaway”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Paradise found, a wonderful secluded hideaway, a perfect retreat, nestled in a beautiful rainforest. We left refreshed and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, particularly the privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven in the rainforest ”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Words can not describe how perfect this secluded little house in the mountains is. Everything was laid out ready for our arrival with even a loaf of home made bread that was absolutely delicious! Everything we needed to cook with was there and more with all the appliances, cook wear and condiments. Free wifi was great and the supplied pamphlets on what to do around the area was a great help. Not on single issue with it. Will be coming back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkerml8...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SECLUDED, PRIVATE, RELAXING, DIVINE”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful accommodation and location. Fully secluded and private. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to truly get away and not have to deal with the fuss of hotels and resorts. Very peaceful waking up to the sound of rainforest birds. love it 100%

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing