We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill

Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill
Ranked #33 of 48 Restaurants in Kuranda
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Family lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Holidaying from Brisbane, we visited Kuranda Village just before lunch time, and we started walking around this nice artistic town looking for a place to lunch. We chose this Cafe. The menu looked good and tempting one to be adventuress and have an Emu Burger, or Crocodile Burger. We were not so, and ended up having Barramundi Burger and a type of Peri Peri Chicken Burger. They tasted nice.The service was ok. The food arrived some 25mins later and hot and all meals came one after the other to our family of five. Our only negative to this is Gourmet Burgers and smallish sides of chips and minuscule amount of salad, possibly more for plate decoration i think was a little pricy for what it was of around $17 to $19 each a plate. Then extra cost for drinks then added to this was a further dent to your purse or wallet!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    12
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Slowest Service Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch while on a tour. The cafe had a group of about 8 people eating ice cream and another couple finishing up their meal. One person was in front of me in line. We ordered a hot dog, hamburger, tuna wrap and chicken nuggets. Easy right? Nope we waited over 50 minutes for this gourmet treat. I popped into the cafe after 15 minutes to see if I could get the hot dog and chicken nuggets as my kids were going nuts, but they hadn't even started it yet. The only explanation I received for the delay was that the person before me had ordered the pasta. Huh? When we finally received our meal, the manager apologized profusely saying she was "shockingly embarrassed", but not restitution was offered. The meal itself was mediocre (obviously, given everything was processed). Wish I had read the reviews prior to our trip. Skip this location, there are plenty of other places to eat that won't waste your time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLovesToTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“lousy coffee shocking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm a local (40 years + ) in Kuranda and had the misfortune of grabbing a coffee on the way to work one morning, service was not just bad but bordering more on the side of offensively rude, the latte ordered was weak, totally flavourless and served with a side of can't be !#*!ed with you for absolutely free , this town relies heavily on tourism (shop hours 10am to 2.30/3.00pm) and once this venue has robbed you of your well earned dollar they know quite well they'll never see you again. Not only will I not be back , I will make a point of telling everyone I see toying with entering this premises how substandard everything is, my advice to tourists is eat/drink where the locals are, we're pretty easy to spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Just don't go in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Looks ok, but take my advice and just don't enter. Rude manager/ owner, average food. If something is wrong, it's not the cafes fault, it's yours! Pathetic service for a town that relies on tourism!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fairexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food was ok for the price but the service was abit slow although friendly and helpful. Kids loved the ice cream :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmaV1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing