We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy coffee shocking service”

Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill
Ranked #32 of 48 Restaurants in Kuranda
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“lousy coffee shocking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm a local (40 years + ) in Kuranda and had the misfortune of grabbing a coffee on the way to work one morning, service was not just bad but bordering more on the side of offensively rude, the latte ordered was weak, totally flavourless and served with a side of can't be !#*!ed with you for absolutely free , this town relies heavily on tourism (shop hours 10am to 2.30/3.00pm) and once this venue has robbed you of your well earned dollar they know quite well they'll never see you again. Not only will I not be back , I will make a point of telling everyone I see toying with entering this premises how substandard everything is, my advice to tourists is eat/drink where the locals are, we're pretty easy to spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    12
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
“Just don't go in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Looks ok, but take my advice and just don't enter. Rude manager/ owner, average food. If something is wrong, it's not the cafes fault, it's yours! Pathetic service for a town that relies on tourism!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food was ok for the price but the service was abit slow although friendly and helpful. Kids loved the ice cream :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmaV1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unfriendly and not hosptipal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After arriving to what was a busy cafe with people still eating. We took a menu and sat down. Upon going to order at 2:15pm. We were told it was closed. They saw us come in and take a menu but they must have thought it would be more fun to let us study it first. No appologies or a recommendation where else to eat. Poor for a pricey tourist area. Go elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude & below average food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently went to this restaurant and were very disappointed, especially with the rudeness of the manager. We were given a big cup of hot water with a tea bag next to it.
This isn't what you expect when you order "green tea"?! it was extremely weak, and undrinkable, so when we told the staff, the boss yelled out, you have to pay $1.50 for another bag?
Very angry and rude.
My son had the fish and chips and there was much too much batter, not much fish. We ended up leaving, what an over priced, horrible place.
There are so many nice places up in Kuranda, worth trying them, and keeping away from this nasty place. Wish we had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
Kuranda, Queensland
 
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing