We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and not hosptipal.”

Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill
Ranked #32 of 47 Restaurants in Kuranda
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Unfriendly and not hosptipal.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After arriving to what was a busy cafe with people still eating. We took a menu and sat down. Upon going to order at 2:15pm. We were told it was closed. They saw us come in and take a menu but they must have thought it would be more fun to let us study it first. No appologies or a recommendation where else to eat. Poor for a pricey tourist area. Go elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    8
    12
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude & below average food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently went to this restaurant and were very disappointed, especially with the rudeness of the manager. We were given a big cup of hot water with a tea bag next to it.
This isn't what you expect when you order "green tea"?! it was extremely weak, and undrinkable, so when we told the staff, the boss yelled out, you have to pay $1.50 for another bag?
Very angry and rude.
My son had the fish and chips and there was much too much batter, not much fish. We ended up leaving, what an over priced, horrible place.
There are so many nice places up in Kuranda, worth trying them, and keeping away from this nasty place. Wish we had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a nice cold drink in this cafe during out trip to Kuranda, the service was good and there was a good choice of food. The surroundings were very relaxing and peaceful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Interesting and Delicious”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A really interesting and unique dining experience! Desided to be a bit adventurous and had the emu burger, which was quite yummy (although the wife wasn't happy that I was eating a poor emu!) There were also other burgers that would have been cool to try, such as kangaroo or crocodile! The venue and the staff were lovely, and the food was well priced and quick to arrive. Very nice overall, and think everyone should give one of their burgers a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed hippies just chill”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxed a bit to relaxed if u ask me food was good and came out on time but the coffee still had not came out buy the time we had finished our meal when asking the lady who owns the joint for my coffee for the third time she told me to chill we hippies be relaxed u will get when im ready we left while they blasted reggie and burned insence sticks at six thirty in the morning I would also like to note she was wearing nothing but a kaftan which is all good when your being casual but for that line of work I found it most un sanitary and un savoury we go down the road now when were in kuranda

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrheston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Village Cafe Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing