We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot of variety”

Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.69*
and up
Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
More Info
$200.33*
and up
Best of Kuranda Including Skyrail, Kuranda Scenic Railway and Rainforestation
More Info
$19.31*
and up
Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest butterfly flight aviary and exhibit in Australia - an all weather experience in the heart of the Kuranda village. Home to over 1500 magnificent butterflies, youll be enchanted by the arial dynamics of these elusive wonders of nature as you wonder through the aviary's rainforest gardens.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a lot of variety”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Several types of butterfies, lots of info, lovely photo ops, gorgeous kids being excited about landing butterflies. It is hard to work everything in when visiting Kuranda. Please try not to miss this. Loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    293
    72
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
qwanta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of butterflies”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lots of butterflies, providing some photography opportunities. But you could see many of these in the wild as well. There was also a small guided tour which was informative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank qwanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We loved our trip to the butterfly sanctuary and found it really hard to leave even after 2 hours. The tour was really interesting and informative and we got some amazing photos. We feel so lucky to have visited such a magical place and feel it's an absolute "must do" if you are in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Australian Butterfly Sanctuary”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visted this place where we were able to view our winged friends from a very close range.It was very interesting and enjoyable.We would definitely recommend this for bird-lovers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SUNILDASWANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Ulysses and Cairns Birdwings!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We all really enjoyed the informative talk/tour and wish them well with the breeding program. Just loved watching the butterflies drinking the nectar. We were still talking about our visit that night. Thanks for a lovely interlude...we will be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rsn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Australian Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing