We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every bit of it”

Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.73*
and up
Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
More Info
$200.89*
and up
Best of Kuranda Including Skyrail, Kuranda Scenic Railway and Rainforestation
More Info
$19.36*
and up
Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest butterfly flight aviary and exhibit in Australia - an all weather experience in the heart of the Kuranda village. Home to over 1500 magnificent butterflies, youll be enchanted by the arial dynamics of these elusive wonders of nature as you wonder through the aviary's rainforest gardens.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved every bit of it”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just as the title suggests, I loved every bit of the experience, worth seeing for sure. I always ensure when friends are visting that they make the trip up

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chazza1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    301
    74
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did this for a rainy day activity and really found an amazing experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and there was so much to learn about butterflies. Magical!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redrosehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressive variety and number of butterflies”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited with my Wife and two children. We enjoyed it other than my Son who wore a blue shirt so was attractive to the butterflies. Most people would have enjoyed this but he became frightened by the extra attention. He ended up waiting for us outside while we had a good look around. We spent about an hour looking at a large variety of butterflies and some moths. The place was educational and interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brolga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina QLD
1 review
“Butterfly Sanctuary”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family of two adults and two children enjoyed the sanctuary very much. The butterflys are beautiful and land on you which is enchanting. Wearing white or light coloured clothing seems to attract the butterfly. They are also have a hatching area which is interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I was reluctant at first to spend $20 to look at butterflies but once inside I was pleasantly surprised and stayed a lot longer than anticipated. The sanctuary was full to the brim with various beautiful butterflies which provides many photo opportunities. They also landed all over me - I think it was because I was wearing white. I would recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallyLouise91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Australian Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing