We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a disappointment”
Review of Cassowary House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cassowary House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kuranda B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I wrote polite comments in the Gregory's guest book, but here I have to be honest. As a birder and bird photographer, Cassowary House was the biggest disappointment in several decades of visiting birding lodges around the world.
The visitor should know that Cassowary House is a private residence first and a birding lodge second. It is nestled quite literally in dense rainforest - the vegetation extends right up to the walls of all buildings. This creates an "away from it all" feeling, but makes it well nigh impossible to actually see very many of the forest birds one hears calling around the lodge.
And then there are the dog(s). One can understand the desire to have a German Shepard or two for protection when living in a secluded spot like this. However, it does not make one feel welcome when, even after two days, the dog comes charging furiously at you from within the main house whenever you approach. Nor does it help that the dog starts barking at the slightest sound. Nor does it help when Sue puts cheese on the balcony tray for riflebirds & catbirds only to have it immediately eaten by the dog.
Cassowary House has its upside. The rooms are large, comfortable, and fairly priced. The breakfasts are sumptious. The Gregory's are also to be commended for their efforts in conservation, especially with regard to Southern Cassowary. As others have said, this is perhaps the only reliable place to go if you need that bird for your list.
Cassowary House is perhaps best enjoyed by those who can identify Queensland forest birds by their calls alone, and who love big rowdy dogs regardless of their behavior.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We did visited Cassowary House and took a day tour arranged by proprietors, Phil and Sue Gregory. Our guide was Jun Matsui, an extraordinarily talented birder and naturalist. He took my wife, son, and me to see rainforest species at Lake Barrine in the hills south of Cairns, shorebirds on the Esplanade, the cassowaries in Kuranda, and drylands species to the northwest in Mereeba. Over 100 species in a single day with 80 lifers for my list! I've birded in Costa Rica and northwest India, and never seen anything like it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We saw our Cassowary and lots of other birds, too. Plus Musky-Rat Kangaroos and Pademelons. Sue's breakfasts are a treat. We were introduced to many new tropical fruits and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and Sue's company. The rooms are quite comfortable, although steps could be a problem for some. The immediate area here is great for birdwatching, and this is also a great jumping off point for the many points of interest in the area. We stayed here a week and had plenty to do the whole time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redstart3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed with a bird watching friend for several days at the Cassowary House and this included having our own birding guide to take us to several differant locations in the region. We used the Cassowary House as a base for our operations and this worked quite well. Sue makes a super breakfast and some fantastic dinners. We were able to see some pretty good birds including Southern Cassowary and Red-necked Crake just off the veranda of the lodge itself. We stayed in the small cottage next to the lodge which worked out just fine. I would not recommend this as a lodge for children or those seeking the large Cairns type hotel experience with swimming pool, etc., but for bird watching, enjoying the tropical forest and such it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 1 reason..to see Cassowaries and that we did..over 2 days we had 3 sightings including 2 extended sightings of a male with 3 chicks..truly awesome. we were in one of the two units over the office....clean but basic. There was a small cooking area with a fridge. Beds were Greek style..hard ! The toilet was accessed by going out onto the balcony. Only soap was liquid hand soap and there was no shampoo or body wash provided. WiFi was free but we had to go to the main building to access it. Bkfst was tropical fruits with toast/muffins and cereal . It really depends on why you are in Kuranda..if its to see birds, then stay here..it's definitely worth a few days of basic accommodation ..if you just want some time in Kuranda, there are more comfortable options to consider

Room Tip: Rooms over the office were a good size and had a balcony as long as you don't mind having to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in Cassowary House during July 2012, in the bush shack. The accommodation was of the standard that we expected. Not flash, but we were there to see the Cassowaries!!

And we did!

We were quite close to a couple of Cassowaries, and I do mean couple!

My partner and I love nature and rain forests, so this suited us.

This may not suit everyone, but we got more than we expected.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gypsy_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

A surpisingly relaxing and special place to stay. So close to Cairns and yet feels so far away, up the winding mountain road, and just a 5 minute drive to Kuranda, it feels like you are in the middle of rainforest. The breakfast here is a real highlight, more fresh fruit and freshly baked (and beautiful tasting) bread and muffins than most can handle! The birds and wildlife are on the doorstep, almost in the house, and occasionally there is a Cassowary in a room! The rooms were comfortable and clean, with most things you could want on hand. The local bird and wildlife knowledge is second to none, with Sue seemingly knowledgable of the location of all possible beasts and birds anyone could want. Even as a non-birder, I found it fascinating to see many of the birds easily seen here, including the famous Cassowary 'Missy', and the several different honeyeaters (I think this was what they were called!). With so much within driving distance and such an idyllic location, I can not recommend it highly enough! Would go back specifically to have breakfast on the balcony with the rainforest laid out within reach. Fantastic.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuranda
4.0 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,142 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
0.4 mi away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kuranda
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ronday-voo Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Speewah Country Tavern
Speewah Country Tavern
#4 of 5 in Kuranda
23 reviews
5.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassowary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassowary House

Address: Black Mountain Road, Kuranda, Queensland 4872, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kuranda
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing