We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a "MUST-DO" in Kuranda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kuranda Riverboat

Kuranda Riverboat
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.85*
and up
Kuranda Riverboat Sightseeing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours depart from our riverside jetty below the Kuranda Railway/Skyrail Stations, over the railway footbridge and down the stairs. Book online via our website or pay cash ONLY on the boat. 45 min Rainforest Rivercruise Departs 10.45am, 11.45am, 12.30pm, 1.30pm 2.30pm daily All tours are subject to group bookings and seasonal river conditions.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“This is a "MUST-DO" in Kuranda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Please do yourselves a favor and make this river cruise a priority during your day in Kuranda. We had read about this cruise in Frommer's and knew we wanted to give it a try. We had a bit of trouble finding the signs, not because they were not posted, but because us humans tend to follow one another like sheep. When I think of all the people who missed this experience, I feel very badly for them as they missed a great 45 minute trip. We found and followed the signs down to the river and met Warren, who told us the next cruise would be leaving in an hour, so we wandered around the Train Station and waited. We were so glad that we did. We saw amazing tree canopies from the river upward, fed the turtles and the fish and learned a lot about nature and the rainforest in this area of the world. We also got an insight into the local weather and living conditions. So folks, look for the signs before taking the free shuttle bus to the Markets, you can do that later. Note: Cruise is Cash Only

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    20
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best think about our day in Kurunda.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We got to the village in the rainforest and to be perfectly honest we weren't very impressed. The shops were filled with cheap touristy things and it wasn't what we were expecting at all. Thank god we sat down to have a look on the internet for other things we could do in the area. The boat trip came up and we thought we would give it a go.
The tour guide DJ was great. He knew loads about the area and was funny and passionate. We saw turtles, fish, birds and even crocs!
It was really great, a must do if you are going to Kurunda and a bargain at only $15.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krystal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent cruise to see the wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Luckily for us we were the only people aboard the cruise and can't understand why people didn't stop to take the time to enjoy the tour. The only thing I can think is that people don't research what they want to do when they go to Kuranda. The guide was brilliant explaining about crocodiles and naming the different birds and fish found in the river. We thought it was brilliant value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsSim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kuranda River Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Best money spent all day in Kuranda, guide was very informative and was excellent at explaining to tourists from other countries about what we were looking at. Recommend doing the trip as soon as you get to Kuranda. Plenty of photo opportunities

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freedom667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“By fair totally amazing and very educating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

There's nothing to say apart from amazing the tour has it all crocs turtles fish and birds the tour guide was funny and shared sum very education information I would recommend this to anybody visiting karanda

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda Riverboat also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing