We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park
Cambrai SA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park is set in a lovely location but sadly the cabins don't meet up to this standard. We stayed in the Rainforest Cabin for 4 nights and were very disappointed when we arrived.The cabins were quite close together and overlooking each other (at night we could hear people talking and walking over the floor which was quite loud). ( information on the internet site gave us the impression that they were more secluded). The cabin was not properly cleaned (we found a peanut on the floor, luckily none of us had an allergy), the cutlery was rusty and the can opener did not work. When I asked if we could upgrade to a Family cabin ( $10 extra for us) I was told that one was not available even though we noticed no-one was staying in 1 of the cabins for the first 2 nights we were there. The positive was that the two other cabins next to us were not used for all the 4 nights we were there and the beds were comfortable. Another plus was that the resident padymelons were obviously quite used to people and we saw them next to the cabins in the mornings and evenings.We think it would be nice to have face washers provided with the towels. We were also disappointed when we wanted to watch TV because the reception was dodgy and only worked on a few channels. I felt that the staff could have been more accommodating. Two of us happened to get ticks/fleas while staying there.

Room Tip: The family rainforest cabins may be a better choice at $10 extra a night with a full fridge separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped in the backpackers lodge. When we arrived the sheet had a strange white mark on it, which we found rather off putting! Our sideboard was covered in mites which we didnt initially notice until they had managed to make it into our drink, paperwork, camera! The kitchen was pretty rundown with only basic battered pots and pans. It was ok for a night stay, but wouldnt have fancied anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuranda hotels

Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This caravan park, camping ground has a few cabins and an excellent pool.
We stayed in a pool side cabin recently, which although basic was quite delightful and felt homely.
The park has recently changed hands and so reviews may pick up a bit as this place is due for refurbish and definitely has something to offer.

Room Tip: Take a walk .... a definite must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely site with great staff. Pretty quirky and although it pretty much rained the whole time we stayed, we still enjoyed being there. Not too expensive at $30, pretty average but I would guess cheap for this region. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We - 2 elderly danes- stayed in this wonderful camp park for 4 days in nov. 2012. It's rainforest attributes were ekselent with a lot of funny birds sounds - and the cozy little thai restaurant offered very tasty meals and pleasant service at low prices. And all the amenities were clean all the time. But the best feature was that the empatic manager Collin McDonald several times daily walked around in the area to ask the guests if everything was all right - and if you needed help with something he assisted you immidiately - and his wife managed the office superbly. This was the most positive camp site experience on our 16 days trip to Queensland.

Room Tip: we were in a camper van
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Intended to stay here for one night whilst travelling across Australia and ended up staying a couple more. Fantastic location amongst the rainforest. Sites were fairly well spaced out with plenty of room for my smallish van. Facilities were brilliant; good kitchen, clean toilets and showers and wifi available in some parts of the site. Staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. Can't remember how much the site was, but I seem to remember it was pretty good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in our campervan, at an unpowered site. The staff were very friendly and helpful! The campground is well-maintained, with clean facilities (including camp kitchen, laundry, and hot showers). There's also a nice little swimming pool. The sites themselves were a bit small, but certainly enough space to pull the van into, and to set up our camp chairs. It was a beautiful setting to stay in, and we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank descending_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuranda
6.9 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
1.0 mi away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
3 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#19 of 85 in Cairns
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.1 mi away
Cool Waters Holiday Park
Cool Waters Holiday Park
#20 of 85 in Cairns
73 reviews
4.2 mi away
Speewah Country Tavern
Speewah Country Tavern
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park

Property: Kuranda Rainforest Accommodation Park
Address: 88 Kuranda Heights Rd, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kuranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing