We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought that Deshon’s Retreats were really worth noting.”
Review of Deshons Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deshons Retreat
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I thought that Deshon’s Retreats were really worth noting.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I don’t usually contribute to reviews, however we have made a return visit and I thought that Deshon’s Retreats were really worth noting. They are contemporary & private, with attention to quality and details that make the difference. Beautiful countryside but don’t miss the awesome night sky. Knowledge hosts gave us plenty to see & do including wineries and walks, dinner pack and a glass of wine by the fire was hard to beat. Great local produce, generous cheese platter & breakfast basket (wonderful home made jam). We don’t have a dog but the kennel for visiting canines looks rather special too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fOOtlOOse2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in one of the ultra modern, extremely comfortable "tin sheds" and had the most scenically beautiful relaxing time looking down the valley below the Booie Range. The fresh local produce provided for breakfast was ultra delicious and and we enjoyed the fact that a high class local winery was a only a short stroll away. If you are looking for a classy comfortable scenic getaway where you can rub noses with a host of bright, happy, chorusing feathered friends then Deshons is a rightfully delightful destination.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We snuck away for the weekend & headed out to the South Burnett for some quiet time. In searching for a place to stay we came across Deshons & I am glad we did. What a beautiful spot up on the "Booie" overlooking Kingaroy & surrounds. Our hosts, Frank & Jayne (& their lovely black Labrador Sheba) were very accommodating. The cottages are simply, but beautifully appointed & breakfast provisions are the best we have ever had. Very much an emphasis on local produce as well as home grown or baked produce. We chose the BBQ dinner provisions on the Saturday night & ate until we were bursting - it was all just divine. What made this place an extra special getaway for us was that it was pet friendly, enabling us to bring our dogs on a break with us. We will be back to stay for sure.

Room Tip: Either cottage is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whytebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Want to get away from it all. Escape the rat-race, even if it's only for a little while? Imagine waking up to a view overlooking a wonderfull rural valley in your very own private bungalow. Imagine going outside your bungalow with a fresh cup of coffee and smelling nothing but fresh air. Go back inside and create a culinary experience from fresh local produce. Do you feel relaxed yet? well its only about ten o'clock on the first day and the rest of the holiday is ahead of you. Tasting of cheeses, wines and of course the best peanuts in the world. Fabulous walks (both inside Deshons Retreat and its surrounds). Or just sit back in your bungalow and let the world pass you by. If you want to relax and rejuvenate, you cannot beat Deshons Retreat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We absolutely loved our three days at Deshon's Retreat (red cottage - pets welcome). The cottages are perfect - modern, meticulously clean and very homely - eco-friendly amenities, huge comfy bed with lots of pillows and crisp linen. The food was amazing - the cheese platter (lasted for the entire stay), evening dinner and the breakfast hamper all made up of exquisite homemade and local produce. Sitting in front of the woodheater indulging in wine & cheese looking out over the Booie Range was very satisfying. As the retreat is pet friendly our kelpie accompanied us and stayed in the fenced dog kennel provided while we visited the surrounding boutique wineries. Wonderful hosts Frank & Jayne encouraged us to walk the extensive tracks throughout the property - breathtaking from the summit. We were also lucky enough to meet the resident eight week old labrador puppies - all 8 of them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingaroy hotels
2.5 mi away
Hillview Cottages
Hillview Cottages
#3 of 11 in Kingaroy
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peppertree Cabins
Peppertree Cabins
#1 of 7 in Kingaroy
66 reviews
3.4 mi away
Room Kingaroy
Room Kingaroy
#1 of 7 in Kingaroy
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lee Farm Stay Cottages
Lee Farm Stay Cottages
#3 of 7 in Kingaroy
28 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kingaroy Country Motel
Kingaroy Country Motel
#5 of 7 in Kingaroy
29 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burke & Wills Motor Inn
Burke & Wills Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Kingaroy
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshons Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshons Retreat

Property: Deshons Retreat
Address: 164 Haydens Rd, Kingaroy, Queensland 4610, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kingaroy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kingaroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deshons Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique wine country Bed and Breakfast. Designer, king-sized retreats brim with character-zesty or luxe. Wood-fired warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Deshons Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing