We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, accomodation, food and hosts - all fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location, accomodation, food and hosts - all fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We rented all 3 cabins as we had visitors from the UK and wanted them to have an alternative view of Australia that wasn't beach, city or well known landmarks. We have been to Bev's place before so reckoned this was the experience they needed and I have to say, all four of them are still in awe of how good it was. The scenery from Spring Creek and your cabin as you wake in the morning includes brilliant views across the valley and wildlife (wallabie, rosellas, kookaburras) on your door step. It's so peaceful you feel more than 2.5hrs drive from Brisbane. We spent one day touring some of the wineries and jam factories south of Stanthorpe and another picnicing by the beautiful Mary Falls only 10 mins away. A key part of the experience is also the food served at the Cafe. Don't miss the Kilarney eye fillet or the curry special! Bev is a great host as well as a great cook and will spend time making you feel very welcome, as indeed do all of her staff. Overall, we had a fantastic time - I recommend Bev and Spring Creek highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gyl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    15
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Bev and her team made us feel very welcome and supported. There was no mobile, and we needed contact. They were very helpful, and Skype came through.
We have visited Spring Creek Mountain before, and wanted to stay longer, but decided to move on to a place where the mobile worked! We will be back.
Did I mention that the food is fantastic?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for one fabulous night at Spring Creek Mountain Cottages. We were after something that wasn't 5 star corporate and this was perfect. The views were awesome, the service wonderful and the serenity just devine. We saw plenty of wildlife from the window of the cottage (wallabies, kookaburra, rosellas, magpies, cows ;) Breakfast was delicious and the scenic drive (using the directions on their website) made for a perfect short break away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNElocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a gem, we stayed in the King Parrot cottage and never closed the curtains, the view in the morning over the valley was amazing. The breakfasts in the morning were great especially the rhubarb and strawberry compote which was so delicious. Staff were very friendly and we stayed when it was y dad's birthday and I organised a cake with them and dad knew nothing and was surprised. The dinner were also fantastic, s peaceful and quiet. The 4 wheel drive tour they organised through the valley was amazing, even tho it was bloody cold. All in all a wonderful place to relax and unwind!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had two nights recently in this accommodation including two dinners and breakfasts. This is not a flash luxury resort and does not pretend to be. There is no ornate reception area with liveried staff to fetch and carry. The birds and wallabies are quite at home around the cabins in a landscape that is rural/forest but neat. There is nothing particularly special about the standard of the cabins. Ours was very clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable rather than luxurious. The cafe/restaurant is pretty basic but comfortable. We walked the short distance on a gravel drive to and from the restaurant by torchlight.

Nevertheless, the overall package is little short of magical. There are extraordinary views from within the cabins and all around which change in mood with the time of day and the weather. The beautiful food tastes superb, is attractively presented with attentive, friendly but non-intrusive service. This standard of service extended generally to ensure that we were comfortable during our stay.

We enjoy short breaks to scenic locations in this style of accommodation. We have never made a return visit to any of the previous accommodation sites but this spot is one that is most likely to become the exception.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank croosin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just celebrated our wedding anniversary by spending two nights at Spring Creek Mountain Cottages. The views, particularly at sunrise and sunset (the rooms face west), were spectacular.

The food at the cafe was delicious and the service was excellent; dinners were great and the hot breakfast, which was included in the price, was fantastic - the piping hot, light-as-a-feather croissants were a highlight and kept us going all day.

The weather was chilly and clear; perfect for doing the lovely walks at Queen Mary Falls and the Moss Gardens.

The cottages were not quite as fancy as other 'couple's cottages' we have stayed in. There is no spa or bathtub (at least in King Parrot) but the bed was comfortable, the fire was warm and the design was well-suited to showing off the glorious views. Considering the rates included a full breakfast, it was well-priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getaway1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights at this wonderful place. The surrounding scenery is breathtaking and our cottage was delightful with amazing views. We ate our breakfast and dinner in the cafe and the food, service & friendliness was excellent. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather with chilly nights, and a log fire and electric blankets in our cottage kept us warm and happy. I would definitely recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: All three cottages have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
24.1 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.3 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
19.8 mi away
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages

Property: Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
Address: 1503 Spring Creek Rd, Killarney, Queensland 4373, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of Spring Creek Mountain our three cottages have all been designed to capture the breathtaking, uninterrupted views of the Condamine Gorge, Wilson's Peak and the Border Ranges. With spectacular views from every window, each cottage is furnished in comfortable open-plan style. Our guests will enjoy lazing in front of their wood-heater - which is just the thing for those chilly mountain evenings! Just a short stroll away is the Spring Creek Mountain Cafe. A fully licensed restaurant, here you can enjoy a full gourmet country style breakfast, which is included in the price of the tariff. An evening meal is also available upon request with fresh, seasonal produce sourced locally as much as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing