We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had two nights recently in this accommodation including two dinners and breakfasts. This is not a flash luxury resort and does not pretend to be. There is no ornate reception area with liveried staff to fetch and carry. The birds and wallabies are quite at home around the cabins in a landscape that is rural/forest but neat. There is nothing particularly special about the standard of the cabins. Ours was very clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable rather than luxurious. The cafe/restaurant is pretty basic but comfortable. We walked the short distance on a gravel drive to and from the restaurant by torchlight.

Nevertheless, the overall package is little short of magical. There are extraordinary views from within the cabins and all around which change in mood with the time of day and the weather. The beautiful food tastes superb, is attractively presented with attentive, friendly but non-intrusive service. This standard of service extended generally to ensure that we were comfortable during our stay.

We enjoy short breaks to scenic locations in this style of accommodation. We have never made a return visit to any of the previous accommodation sites but this spot is one that is most likely to become the exception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank croosin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just celebrated our wedding anniversary by spending two nights at Spring Creek Mountain Cottages. The views, particularly at sunrise and sunset (the rooms face west), were spectacular.

The food at the cafe was delicious and the service was excellent; dinners were great and the hot breakfast, which was included in the price, was fantastic - the piping hot, light-as-a-feather croissants were a highlight and kept us going all day.

The weather was chilly and clear; perfect for doing the lovely walks at Queen Mary Falls and the Moss Gardens.

The cottages were not quite as fancy as other 'couple's cottages' we have stayed in. There is no spa or bathtub (at least in King Parrot) but the bed was comfortable, the fire was warm and the design was well-suited to showing off the glorious views. Considering the rates included a full breakfast, it was well-priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getaway1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights at this wonderful place. The surrounding scenery is breathtaking and our cottage was delightful with amazing views. We ate our breakfast and dinner in the cafe and the food, service & friendliness was excellent. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather with chilly nights, and a log fire and electric blankets in our cottage kept us warm and happy. I would definitely recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: All three cottages have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great views and location.
We visited the cafe as a family on a public holiday.
As a business person I totally understand public holiday surcharges but $66 for 1 coffee, 1 cup of tea, 4 x OJ's and 4 serves of scones is way over the top. The scones were not fresh but had obviously come out of the freezer.
The cottages look like they are in the perfect location but after this experience we won't be coming back.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank N_Mac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Oh yes, this little gem must be added to the number one place to stay on your "Bucket List".
A wonderful drive up the "Scenic Rim" from Killarney or Boona takes you though spectacular scenery with wonderful attractions like the Queen Mary Falls (please do the easy long walk as you get some great views of these magnificent falls).
Further up the mountain is Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages. The owner, Bev and her husband had the great foresight to build three cottages and cafe overlooking the beautiful Condamine Valley. My wife and I were booked into the Blue Wren Cottage and upon exploring this delightful self contained cottage we were constantly saying WOW, WOW, WOW. A modern cottage with wall to ceiling windows overlooking the valley and nearby mountains and a little veranda with table and two chairs. The cottage had a wood burning fire, fresh ground coffee in the fridge and a lovely bathroom. The bed was so cumfy and to wake up and lie in bed looking at the view and the kangaroos grazing right under our window was really special. The bird life was delightful too.
After a bottle of red on our terrace we venured down the path with the aid of a supplied torch to the cafe. The menu had a wide variety of chef prepared dishes and the food was excellent.
A cooked breakfast is supplied and consisted of assorted cerial with various of wonderful fruit conserves and also a variety of fresh fruit. The largest and freshest croisant was delivered to our table followed by your choice of eggs accompanied by bacon, mushrooms and tomato - all beautifully prepaired.
We are so glad we stayed three nights.
Spring Creek Cottages would be ideal for a wedding and honeymoon.
Do yourself a favour and add it to the top of your bucket list.

Room Tip: Book early as this little gem is VERY popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed there overnight midweek, this is the third time we have been to Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages up in the mountains, that alone speaks for itself. The accomoadation is excellent, the food is superb, the views are amazing. The early morning sunrise was a site to see with the mist rolling though the trees, wallabies grazing on the grass, lorikeets, bowerbirds, fairy wrens, all around you. The stunning Queen Mary Falls a short drive down the road was spectacular, will we be back "absolutely".

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I and my wife stayed here last week for 2 nights & it was one of the most wonderful experiences we ever had. The view was breathtaking, so amazing it seemed you were living between the nature with wallabies wandering around your cottage, cows grazing, lots of beautiful birds and parrots. Early morning you can see the mist suspended over Condamine gorge, seems heaven! The quietness, the peace is unbeatable & so is the host... Bev, a wonderful person and a great host. The breakfast was included which was so yummy. We took our own things for cooking which was good experience too and mostly stayed indoors with a trip to Queen Mary falls 7 km's from the cottage and tried to cross Condamine gorge with our SUV unsuccessfully but managed to get it dirty. You can get some DVD's from the reception, but we took ours, we hanged around on the Carr’s lookout which BTW is right on the entrance to the cottage. We spent god knows how long on the lookout just listening to the birds, and looking at the sunset with beautiful bright orange of setting sun reflecting on the mountains. I highly recommend this place to unwind from the city life or just spend some quite & enjoyable time with spouse or family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
23.5 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
139 reviews
23.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
75 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
546 reviews
7.1 mi away
Killarney Hotel-Motel
Killarney Hotel-Motel
#1 of 2 in Killarney
43 reviews
23.2 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#2 of 13 in Warwick
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages

Address: 1503 Spring Creek Rd, Killarney, Queensland 4373, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $180 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of Spring Creek Mountain our three cottages have all been designed to capture the breathtaking, uninterrupted views of the Condamine Gorge, Wilson's Peak and the Border Ranges. With spectacular views from every window, each cottage is furnished in comfortable open-plan style. Our guests will enjoy lazing in front of their wood-heater - which is just the thing for those chilly mountain evenings! Just a short stroll away is the Spring Creek Mountain Cafe. A fully licensed restaurant, here you can enjoy a full gourmet country style breakfast, which is included in the price of the tariff. An evening meal is also available upon request with fresh, seasonal produce sourced locally as much as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing