We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I thought $66.00 was a bit steep for two adults camping on an unpowered site. I normally travel in a caravan and would pay way less than that on a powered site. Not a lot of sites to dispose of rubbish and amenities were quite a long walk. $15 per week to put the tinny on the water on top of the camping fee of $66 made for an expensive two days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are continually working towards improving our services so we appreciate all feedback.

When assessing our park for affordability, it should be noted that all guests have the opportunity to access a myriad of facilities and activities that are the envy of many other parks in the area.

With regards to the boating permits fees, these are not set by park management but rather by SEQ. Management does not have any say nor do they receive any money from the permits. These are sold onsite as a convenience to our guests saving them having to travel back into town to purchase.

You will be pleased to know that as part of our continuing upgrade program at Lake Somerset we have planned for a whole new amenities block centrally located within the park.

We hope these comments have provided some clarity to the issues you raised, and we hope you choose to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    68
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
107
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

$106 for three nights on a non powered site for two adults and 2 fishing licences. The only amenities was 1 disabled toilet and a broken shower head which was not ideal. We were told due to road maintenance we could not camp at certain places, including accessibility to the water, which fortunately we ignored and thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of walking 15 metres to cool down, and roadworks were not to start until a few days after we left (info given to us on the day we left) We will not stay again however we will use the day park :) I hope this helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us; we apologise that your expectations were not met, and hope these comments resolve some of the issues you raised.

I would like to apologise that the upgrades and maintenance to the roads impacted on your holiday. To minimise disruption to our guests, we always try to complete maintenance works outside of peak times, however as you can appreciate, there is never a perfect time. The period leading up to Easter is generally quiet, so we thought this to be an opportune time to undertake the upgrade works. Extensive works like building new roads require the use of outside contractors, and we appreciate your understanding in that sometimes unforseen delays will occur and work will be put back from the original starting date.

We are pleased to inform you that as part of our continuing upgrade program at Lake Somerset, we have planned to build a new amenities block that will be centrally located within the park.

We would like to apologise that your shower was not in proper working condition during your stay. The shower head has since been fixed, however for future reference, please do not hesitate to bring any maintenance issues to the attention of our staff so that we may rectify the problem immediately.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very beautiful part of south east queensland to stay. The convenience if you own a boat and the close proximity to the water is awesome - cannot be beat! Fishing and water sport enthusiast heaven.

There are plenty of unpowered sites - I liked the fact you could pick your own, you aren't allocated a site that is really cool.

We stayed on the southern end of the park - accross from the little beach near the southern boat ramp. This had a beautiful view and easy access to the water. The site was a dust bowl though - needs to be rejuvenated as anytime someone drove past we copped so much dust/dirt. Our camp table was black at the end of the 2nd day. There was no tap readily available from what we could find - closest water was the ammenities. Ammenities were too far away, it was a long dark walk to the toilet at night. During the day at this time of year the southern side is hard to escape the sun and it gets very hot - try and find a tree to pitch your tent under. Camp kitchen was far away and we had to drive to do our washing up each night.

I agree with other reviewers about the day visitor area. I truly believe they have the better location than the paying customers. The area is cool, shaded by trees and if it was a camping area you would have direct access to water easily! The location of the day visitor area is close to ammenities and the kitchen... Really why is this the day visitor area???

Another con is the jet ski riders who just carry on like idiots too close to the southern boat ramp/beach. There should be a no wash policy. The idiots have the whole of somerset dam to carry on, why so close to the beach? It makes the water merky, knocks any boats in the area around and I just got sick of the sound of them by the end of the weekend.

The ammenities are OK and functionable, I had no issue with them, they were clean and didn't smell. I just think the park needed more! The roads were terrible but being upgraded after we left.

Pros: View, beautiful location, close to water, boating/fishing access, friendly enough staff, good kiosk for essentials.

Cons: Day visitor area being better than the rest of the park, jet skits too close to boat ramp, dust bowl sites, ammenities far away

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback; we are pleased that your experience was an overall positive one.

Here at Lake Somerset we endeavour to make your holiday as enjoyable and unique as possible. As such, we give our visitors the option of choosing their own site. The Day Visitor area is a new addition to the park, and was a requirement put forth by the council. While we would love for all our sites to have perfect view of the lake while still being close to all the myriad of facilities we have on offer, this simply is not feasible.

We would like to apologise that the Jet Ski riders had a negative impact on your stay. As the lake is open to the public, it is difficult for park management to police these behaviours. However, we will contact SEQ to enquire if more random patrols can be done during peak times in hopes that this will assist the Jet Ski riders to be more appreciative of other lake users.

As you noted in your response, the roads are in the process of being upgraded, and we are building a new amenities block; we hope to have both of these projects completed in the very near future.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have been going to Lake Somerset for over 10 years now and have always enjoyed our time there. The staff are always friendly and we have a great time with our friends. As megan said the incident that happened in the office was not the place for any altercation with doors open to customers, but it was the younger 'friendly' gentleman who was in the wrong. What a credit to the older gentleman that he did not react and continue the attack on him. Especially when the younger man was in his face screaming like a lunatic and swearing. NOBODY should have to put up with this type of verbal abuse. Customer or staff. We will be back as usual but maybe it is time for everyone to think about how they treat others!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for leaving this great review!

We will utilise your feedback to ensure we continue to provide our guests will a high standard of customer service.

We look forward to seeing you back for the 11th year in a row!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just had a great three day weekend. Toilets clean, powered site has a mat pad for under your awning. The powered sites were quite large. Very friendly staff at reception. Your allowed camp fires, lots of room for your boat and jet ski on site.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakar1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed your weekend with us, and thank you for leaving this review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent the Australia Day long weekend at the park and found it was a great place with mostly friendly and professional staff. We just free camped and found the amenities to be a little lacking, however they did the best they could with keeping them clean and tidy, considering the amount of people that were there. During the weekend they had an exceptional lady on the gate, greeting and helping people in everyway she could. It was a fairly hot weekend and she seemed to be there from daylight to after dark. A GREATBIG Heads up to her happy and professional approach. I also saw her cleaning toilet blocks with and very friendly gentleman. I was however also witness to a very unprofessional display in the office where there was this unfriendly baldly old guy with glasses having a disagreement with the pleasant gentleman already mentioned. This was the low point of our weekend. You could see all the other staff , who were professional and friendly were embarrassed with this outburst. Something that short if at all was for behind closed doors. My friends and myself left the office not quite knowing what to think. NOT A GOOD DISPLAY!! Other than this we had a SUPER time and would go back hoping not to have to deal with the old fellow. He is very off putting to a lot of people as we did speak to other campers about the incident. I have also recommended the park to lots of co-workers, friends and family. Maybe someone should retire and make it a TOTALLY ENJOYABLE break.

Room Tip: Avoid the grumpy old man!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, it’s great to see how much you enjoyed your Australia Day weekend away with us!

As Lake Somerset has so much to offer in such a beautiful location, we do get very busy over long weekends. I am glad to see that you found the staff were helpful and did their best to ensure facilities were clean and ready for the high volume of guests.

I would like to apologise for the incident you witnessed in reception. I can assure you that the issues you raised will be addressed to ensure that we provide our guests with the best quality customer service.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been camping here for over 10 years. They keep putting money into the day area but not the paid camping area. Toilet are not cleaned well. A hose out at best. Spiders everywhere. Price is way too expensive for what you get. It's not pet friendly but we see people with a dog and even a cat being walked. The old guy that runs it I'm afraid to say. Time to retire. Rude and not helpful at all. They try and rip people off by telling them the wrong price for extras people and he got pulled up by a random person that was standing in the office. The noise/generator is 10 pm. But only when it suits. We have come winter and summer and they lock the toilets and you have to walk a mile almost to the next one. Wouldn't be so bad if they sectioned off areas to regenerate the grass but not. It's still dirt. 1 good point is that they have movies for kids sometimes.
Time to get new management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fleurbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Director of Sales at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

In regards to the new day visitor area, we upgraded this area as it was a regulation put in place by SEQ water and a requirement of our lease. We also wanted to provide an area for people to visit for the day and utilise the great lake without infringing on the holiday park guest areas.

Certain toilet blocks in our park are closed Monday to Thursday in off peak periods however we apologise if you were not made aware of this during check in. The toilets that are open are cleaned twice daily over peak periods. If you should find them not to a standard you are happy with please do not hesitate to inform park staff at this time so they can ensure it is cleaned again. We apologise for the insects and spiders but being close to water and bushland these aren’t completely avoidable but we do our best to keep these at a minimum.

Guests to our park are advised that cut off time for generators is 10 pm and it is policed by security guards. We apologise if this was not the case during your stay and please inform us if this happens again so we can rectify the issue at the time.

Lake Somerset is not a pet friendly park due to its proximity to the lake and the surrounding natural areas. Pets would not have been permitted in the holiday park, however we cannot police what happens outside of our park area. Please refer to the SEQ water Lake Somerset Recreation Guide for full details: http://www.seqwater.com.au/sites/default/files/PDF%20Documents/Recreation/20131127%20Lake%20Somerset%20Recreation%20Guide_web.pdf

We also apologise for the miscommunication in regards to rates for additional people on your booking. All of the rates can be found on our website to avoid confusion next time: http://www.lakesomerset.com.au/pricing-page/ We believe our rates are competitive with industry standards and if you wish to pay less then you have the choice to holiday in low season or take advantage of specials and hot deals that are promoted on our website or via electronic mail to those who sign up to the newsletter.

We are glad the kids enjoyed the free movie nights and there are other fantastic activities we host over the school holidays for you to take advantage of.

Thank you again for your feedback. We will be investigating all the points you have bought to our attention as we are constantly aiming to improve our park for future guests.

We are happy you have stayed with us for the past 10 years and hope that you will consider returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilcoy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcoy
16.2 mi away
Weltevreden Domes Retreat
19.0 mi away
Uluramaya Retreat Cabins
19.5 mi away
Dayboro Cottages & Llama Walks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kilcoy Gardens Motor Inn
Show Prices

Been to Lake Somerset Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Property: Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Address: 78 Kirkleagh Rd, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Somerset > Kilcoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kilcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Somerset Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Somerset Holiday Park is located on the shores of Lake Somerset, centrally located between Brisbane, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. It is a short 10-15 min drive south of the nearby town of Kilcoy and you can launch straight off the bank onto thousands of kilometres of pristine lake. Lake Somerset Holiday Park offers a relaxed 45 hectare family friendly environment for camping and water sports, providing camping sites, modern amenities, electric BBQs, 2 boat ramps, sporting oval and a kiosk stocking drinks, snacks, ice, gas and limited grocery items. Ideal accommodation for Lake Somerset fishing holidays or water sport getaways. Renowned for premier angling, Lake Somerset is a great place to have your next fishing holiday. The waters surrounding Somerset Dam are home to a host of fishing delights, all waiting for you to explore. Our camping and backpacker facilities and family holiday cabins cater perfectly for any type of water sports or fishing holiday in the Lake Somerset/Somerset Dam area. Lake Somerset Holiday Park's patrons are often seen undertaking water sport activities such as waterskiing, wakeboarding, flyboarding, sailing, kayaking and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lake Somerset Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Somerset Holiday Park Australia/Kilcoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing