We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Buderim, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just like to say wow! We have a terrific time being our first visit of many more to come.
The staff were friendly, especially the elderly man and lady in the office on our arrival. The yardman cleaning the BBQ was a bit grumpy and only cleaned the BBQ plate and not the surrounds which really needed a good clean. It is a very big area for camping and the grounds were nicely mowed and the toilet and shower block was nice and clean. My only complain is that too many other people have found this fantastic spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
108
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hello just had the weekend at lake somerset great in the fact that it had plenty of space to camp without being on top of each other until of course the Caboolture 4 wheel drive club turned up and decided to camp on top of use, plenty of open space for them to go but know they had to park on top us a group of ten not really caring that they blocked out view or that they were camping rigth next us with a young family very disappointed in the fact that is wasn't busy so they had plenty of choices to camp elswhere. This time of the year Lake Sumerset is a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s200021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We have four days free to drive around Brisbane and we decided to head out to Mt Glorious and surrounds. Our unplanned trek lead us to Somerset Dam and ultimately the Lake Somerset Holiday Park. What a fantastic decision to stay the night! Originally looking at the safari tents for $70pn (no bathroom) we ended up in a cabin (#3) at $135pn. They have a kitchen, table, TV and lounge area, bathroom & toilet, washing machine, second bedroom and the main room with a QS bed. This was very comfortable providing a great nights sleep-the five cabins being on the edge of the lake at the far end of the park, away from what I imagine would be masses of people in the busy periods. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Only downfall is the cabins and their respective superb, lake facing verandah's, are very close to each other. Number 5 on the end would be the pick unless you are there mid week in a quiet period when it didn't matter. We reluctantly packed up the fishing rods and headed south.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrialRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We camped there for the Easter Weekend Thurs 28 March until Sunday 31 March. We don't usually camp at peak times however, because of the four day weekend, decided to join my cousin and his family. It was jam packed like a sardine tin, I've never seen so many people there. It was great during the days, once you get used to rubbing shoulders with thousands of people. We mainly confined ourselves to the campsite, and the kids got involved in a few activities which was great. Got a few hundred Red Claw which was great too! But, the bad part was the night time. As fate would have it, we camped next to the noisiest people on the park. The language was foul and got worse as the night wore on and liquor was consumed at a great rate. There was no consideration for others, as the noise continued on until at least 12am most nights. Fortunately, I had my ear plugs and some valium which allowed me to sleep soundly. But my pour cousin was right next to them, and spent his days snoozing trying to catch up on sleep - so the cycle continued. I thought about confronting them but they were about six families with six big blokes and didn't want to spoil the weekend. They were absolute grubs, and I'm sure they would have made the weekend even worse if they were given cause to. They even had a homemade PVC tennis ball cannon which they let off at 11.30pm at night more than once, much to their amusement. I complained to management and they said they would speak to them but never did. Obviously, they were overwhelmed with the sheer number of people. Be warned about Somerset - you're fairly close to Caboolture and you will get grubs! My advice is 1) avoid peak times like Easter 2) be prepared - bring ear plugs and sleeping tablets or valium 3) complain to the management if you have noisy neighbours. If they don't do anything the first time, complain again, and 4) leave some stinky redclaw heads and shells next to the noisy neighbours tent when you leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilcoy hotels

Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a great weekend where we could just relax and be carefree, the staff at the park could not have been more helpful and friendly, we found all the amenities to be clean and fresh ( this is very important to me) .As this seemed to be a very busy weekend I would like to say job well done to all staff and thankyou we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Nsw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

After we'd already booked our stay here I read some negative reviews on the park and was thinking "What have we got ourselves into?". Pleasantly surprised. If the park had any problems they've been fixed.
Amenities were clean, staff were friendly, accommodation (Safari tent for us) was excellent.
The location is idyllic, lots of wildlife. Our kids were thrilled to see Possums, 'roos and even Koalas. Only complaint from the kids were the lack of other kids to play with (We were there during NSW school holidays but after the QLD holidays had ended). The park fees are a little expensive. No excessive noise at night.
Easy drive to Australia Zoo (Highly recommend this) and Glasshouse mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast QLD
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stay at Lake Somerset at least every 6-8 weeks as its 60km from home and we ski. The ammenities are usually very clean and there is plenty of camping and cabin options available but we always camp.

The dam is big, great for skiing however it can be hard at times to get glassy water for skiing if the wind is up a bit. There are two boat ramps so you dont have to usually wait very often to launch your boat.

In School holidays the park puts on free open air movies on the oval for kids, there is usually a jumping castle and they often have wine and cheese tasting for the grown ups which is good.

My only negative comment is one particular customer service staff member who is always sour, and comes across rude and that we are a nuisance to have to serve when you go to reception. The staff member has been there for a long time so we are used to it, but it still astounds us every time why the owners dont hire customer friendly staff in such a public facing position, particulary in tourism. You really want friendly, helpful staff that look forward to seeing you every time, not someone rude, abrupt and gives you the perception they dont have time to deal with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcoy
5.0 mi away
Kilcoy Gardens Motor Inn
16.1 mi away
Weltevreden Domes Retreat
19.5 mi away
Dayboro Cottages & Llama Walks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Uluramaya Retreat Cabins
12.0 mi away
No photo provided
Exchange Hotel Toogoolawah
#1 of 1 in Toogoolawah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Somerset Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Property: Lake Somerset Holiday Park
Address: 78 Kirkleagh Rd, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Somerset > Kilcoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kilcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Somerset Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Somerset Holiday Park is located on the shores of Lake Somerset, centrally located between Brisbane, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. It is a short 10-15 min drive south of the nearby town of Kilcoy and you can launch straight off the bank onto thousands of kilometres of pristine lake. Lake Somerset Holiday Park offers a relaxed 45 hectare family friendly environment for camping and water sports, providing camping sites, modern amenities, electric BBQs, 2 boat ramps, sporting oval and a kiosk stocking drinks, snacks, ice, gas and limited grocery items. Ideal accommodation for Lake Somerset fishing holidays or water sport getaways. Renowned for premier angling, Lake Somerset is a great place to have your next fishing holiday. The waters surrounding Somerset Dam are home to a host of fishing delights, all waiting for you to explore. Our camping and backpacker facilities and family holiday cabins cater perfectly for any type of water sports or fishing holiday in the Lake Somerset/Somerset Dam area. Lake Somerset Holiday Park's patrons are often seen undertaking water sport activities such as waterskiing, wakeboarding, flyboarding, sailing, kayaking and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lake Somerset Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Somerset Holiday Park Australia/Kilcoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing