We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury you'll want to repeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yabbaloumba Retreat
The Dawn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury you'll want to repeat”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Staying at Yabbaloumba Retreat is the ultimate way to lap up a romantic weekend of luxury with no expense spared.
Waking to a spectacular view across the valley from your very comfortable bed in the cottage is the perfect way to start your day.
Combine this with the breakfast basket of locally produced goodies delivered to your cottage and you don't want to leave the balcony.
But leave you must to take advantage of fishing on the property's dam, walking through the bushland, dipping in the creek and peeking at the wildlife.
After all that activity relaxing in the giant spa where the water is crystal clear, sipping on your complimentary bottle of wine and cheese plate is the way to go.
It really is the place to shut the world out and enjoy a few days of peace, quiet and luxury all thanks to hosts Lloyd and Barb.

Room Tip: Each of the four cottages are equal in luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDawnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have worked in the hospitality industry (chef) for more than 30 yrs, Yabbalomba Retreat even surprised me with all of it's creature comforts. From the king size bed to the luxury spa, the well equiped kitchen and large shower (room for 2), was immaculate. The balcony which views the mountain range to the east has an electric bbq (works like a charm) which gives you the chance to enjoy the star filled sky (you forget how many stars are in the sky when living in the city) and the full moon.
There are walking tracks through the property, whilst there the wild deer were rutting, seeing wallabies hopping around at the back of the property. To our surprise we even came across a couple of platypus (ssshhhh, not too loud) in the spring fed creek which meanders through the back as well.
Back to nature, living in 5 star comfort, what more can you ask for.
PS. the smoked bacon in the breakfast tray is too die for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The accomodation and facilities in the cabins would put any 5 star hotel to
shame and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. The scenery and little
extra touches you provided completed the entire package and allowed us to
have the incredibly relaxing weekend we were after.

Yabbaloumba willl always be particularly special to us as the weekend was so
relaxing and romantic that my boyfriend (now fiance) thought that it would
be the perfect time and place to propose!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Talk about romantic!! We chose the retreat as our wedding venue, and have absolutely no regrets!! This place has all the person touches to make you feel completly pampered and relaxed. From homegrown breakfasts hand delivered to your door, to the large size spa overlooking the valley. Even on our big day, it was hard to feel nervous with the peacefull green paddocks and the wildlife close by. It all started with a stunning sunrise, and finished off with a beautiful sunset, and everything in between was perfect. We have some fantasic pictures thanks to your most spectacular views! We are already planning our first anniversary at the retreat, if we can wait that long. Yabbaloumba really is were country meets elegance. Our hosts, Lloyd & Barb made us feel so welcome and at home. Our day wouldn't have been the same without them. We can not thank them enough!! A special thanks for all the personal touches like the champers and of course driving me to the aisle in your impresively restored old truck. You made our day feel like a thousand beautiful sunsets, and helped us create life long memories. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Dan & Brydie Weston Xx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Western_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Yabbaloumba Retreat was a lovely special weekend away for my husband and I. We found that the cabin was very thoughtfully and well designed. The bathroom was spacious with a huge shower, it could fit more than two people, and provided a private toilet area. The shower head was fabulous, it had great water flow, (I have found sometimes places that use tank water have problems with the amount of water that comes out of the shower head). The cabin also had a gorgeous, genuine two person spa with a view out over the valley below, very relaxing. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything that we needed to cook up some great easy food to keep ourselves well fed for the weekend and the BBQ on the verandah is a great idea. The cheese platter provided was a great way to start our weekend. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, my husband said he had the best night's sleep he had had in ages. I liked the way the cabin was set up so that the bed faced the beautiful view of the valley out across the verandah, you could also watch the TV from the bed or the lounge, and the gas heater/fireplace would have been great for a cool winter night. The attention to detail was lovely with the fluffy monogramed matching bathrobes and the scented candles in the spa area. Very romantic!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Quiet and luxurious! It was the perfect getaway for a romantic weekend. My wife and I knew we wanted to stay in the area but wasn't sure what accommodation to choose. We finally selected on this one and we are so glad we did! We will definitely be back again soon. Maybe for our 2nd wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

These self contained luxury cottages for 2 are truly amazing!!... Whether you are looking for some time out to relax & unwind or a romantic weekend away, it is the ultimate escape!

Set in the sunshine caost hinterlands these beautiful 5 star cottages have everything you need. They have modern furnishings, spacious bathroom & kitchen, king sized bed with gorgeous linen, bathrobes, gas fire place, HD TV and private deck area. The best bit is the beautiful deep 2 person spa bath. You can light some candles and put on the relaxing music CD (provided) and soak the night away.

I was given wine and cheese on arrival and every morning delivered an amazing breakfast of farm eggs, bacon, mushrooms, yoghurt, a fresh fruit platter and juice. Then they deliver you a warm croissant to top it all off!!

The cottages are just down the road from the great Conondale Range walk & a short drive to Kenilworth. I spent 4 nights here and felt so relaxed. My favourite part was sitting on the deck in the evening to watch the sunset and then the amazing stars come out. The hosts Lloyd, Barb & Karen go out of their way to ensure you are well looked after.

Visit their website and you will see for yourself just how gorgeous these cottages are. I am so glad I stumbled across this amazing retreat and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinersManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
12.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
12.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
429 reviews
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Treetops Montville
Treetops Montville
#7 of 15 in Montville
114 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mapleton Cabins & Caravan Park
13.4 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Property: Yabbaloumba Retreat
Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yabbaloumba Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yabbaloumba Retreat Kenilworth, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing