We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed stay, with excellent service, hospitality and great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

When passing through Innisfail recently, I asked a local for a recommendation for a decent, comfortable night stay and I was so glad I was recommended to the Barrier Reef Motel. Parking was excellent, I drove a big rig and there is a huge central car park in the centre of the complex. The room and bed was extremely comfortable and quiet, with attention to detail on the little things, all the mod-cons and familiar things just like in your own home. The rooms are solid and clean. While not a 'resort', the emphasis in my opinion, is on the experience, comfort and the service during your stay. By the way, there was nothing better at my busy day's end to enjoy a fantastic 5 star meal at the restaurant, sip a drink at the "CAT-5" bar (Cyclone Larry tribute), have a chat with the Manager and staff before calling it a night. 5/5. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Just ask the manager or staff for your requirements and they will look after you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jirrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was not feeling well & was given a room anyway when I checked in quite early. I was very grateful for that & also that they told me to call them if I needed anything or did not feel well. "That is service." The hotel was $127 for the night. The room consisted of a queen & single bed, tea & coffee making facilities, and combined shower, toilet bathroom. The room was a little dated & very compact but the cleanliness was of a high standard. No soap was supplied which would have been nice as I forgot mine. Maybe they do provide & it was an oversight that day. The air-conditioner worked well. There is a pool on the property that looked nice though it was too cold for swimming. Located a short distance from the information centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We thank you for your comments and taking the time to review our motel. We were more than happy to accommodate your immediate needs at an early time of the day. We regret that there was no soap in the room as this would have been an oversight and we will need to tighten up on our room control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at the Barrier Reef motel at a very busy time and secured one of the last rooms available. The room was very clean but there was really nothing special to commend this motel as a stand out among the general run of the mill motels hovering around that price bracket. We paid $127 for our room - slightly more than we usually pay for motel accommodation in these parts - and we were neither disappointed or overly pleased at the experience except to say that the bed was very comfortable. We chose to eat in Innisfail so I'm unable to comment on the food and there was not the occasion for us to get close enough to the staff to experience the friendly service referred to by other writers. We'd probably stay there again but must admit that we were disappointed at the range of choice in Innisfail for accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

We appreciate your review and believe that this feedback helps us to understand our customers and improve the way we manage our business. We would like to get to know our guests better and regret that we did not get the chance when you stayed with us. We would invite you to experience the service in our bar and restaurant if you get choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recommended this motel highly. The Manager, Amanda, was so helpful and accommodating in organising a large family group with differing needs in many rooms for an urgent stay. Nothing was too much fuss. Amazingly, the rooms are serviced daily. Great bar/restaurant on site, which was really convenient for uniting our group staying at the motel as well as entertaining others too who were staying elsewhere. Will definitely put this motel on our return list for our next visit to Innisfail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummakni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrierreefmotel, Owner at Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience and made your pleasurable. We try and make our guests feel at home enjoy the time that you spend with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times, the service gets better every time!
Amanda is amazing, makes you feel like nothing is too much. The staff are very friendly and the rooms have always been very clean and comfortable!
The bar is so quirky and is always busy of a night. (The locals always stop by, showing you how this place is part of the community) the restaurant has a great menu and the food is delicious!

Can't wait to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped at Innisfail for one night on the way from Port Douglas to Airlie Beach. The motel was well equipped, with clean and comfortable rooms. We ate at the restaurant. Food was excellent, with good choices available, including a good kids menu. Kids enjoyed a game of pool in the front lounge which has a nice feel. Owners are very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the pool on this stay - maybe next time! Doesn't pretend to be the Sheraton, but as far as country motels go, this is an excellent choice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Amanda runs a very good, clean motel. She is a most accommodating, hospitable manager who takes pride in providing service and comfort. We arrived late into the evening and were immediately offered a discount for late arrival. The restaurant is extremely good, but, it was a busy night and we waited quite a while for the food to arrive. Although the motel was packed to the rafters with a number of children staying, we slept well with no noise from other rooms. Good value!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpd0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innisfail
21.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Marlin Motel
Black Marlin Motel
#2 of 3 in Innisfail
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
Moondarra Motel Innisfail
#3 of 3 in Innisfail
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.1 mi away
Innisfail Accommodation Centre
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Innisfail City Motel
#6 of 10 in Innisfail
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail

Address: 2 River Ave | Bruce Highway, Innisfail, Queensland 4860, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Innisfail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Innisfail
Price Range: $116 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrier Reef Motel is AAA rated at 3.5 star and is ideally located between Cairns and Townsville. The motel has a fully licensed restaurant and bar with lounge area.... and is the place to stay in Innisfail. The rooms are modern and air conditioned to ensure a comfortable stay. Internet access is available in all rooms and at reception. Guest laundry, cable TV and swimming pool are some of the facilities available to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barrier Reef Motel Innisfail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing