We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, but Not Stellar”
Review of Lees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lees Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Bad, but Not Stellar”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The room was clean, however the bathroom amenities are certainly dated. The staff was basically professional, though not especially friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant, though it was never open when I tried to go there. I felt the price was a wee high for what they offer.
Bottom line; adequate for a night's rest, but not one that stands out in any way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
13
26
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The beds were comfortable, and consideration was given to all sensible things such as extra blankets and somewhere to hang your towels. It was cheap and clean, but sadly lacked charm (except fro the gecko in the bathroom - I love geckos).

Charm could still be found, however, in other parts of the hotel. The Day Dawn was demolished and rebuilt as Lee's in 1960, and there's some great 60's features scattered around such as in the dining room. Shame more features weren't retained in the rooms, but it is functional as a stopover.

More info and photos here...
http://www.wheresmyrider.com/2012/08/theres-nothing-so-lonesome-morbid-or-drear.html

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
You will be pleased to know that since your visit last August the hallways and main bar areas have been covered in memorabilia, photographs, news stories from 1863 through to 1943, which is the year that the American convoy drank the hotel dry. [Leading to the Slim Dusty hit song – the pub with no beer] Pride of place among the memorabilia is taken by a horse collar and trappings circa 1883 from a horse drawn sugarcane wagon. The Permanent Art Exhibition "icons of Hinchinbrook" – the largest exhibition of its kind in Queensland – continues to be cared for and updated throughout the hotel.
This year is the 70th anniversary of the "pub with no beer" legend and a festival to celebrate this, supported by both the Council and Chamber of Commerce, is being held on Saturday April 20, 2013. This will involve the north Queensland military re-enactors and collectors group supplying a convoy of World War II vehicles to drive to Lees Hotel, a Tiger Moth will be flying overhead and 16 descendents of Dan Sheahan who wrote the original poem, will be arriving on horseback. There will also be World War II military static displays, a display of iconic motor vehicles, country and western buskers and from 5 PM there will be a country and Western music Festival. We hope you can make it back for the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanaba
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Sit out the front, have a beer, some snacks. Nice. But if you plan on staying over be advised there is no sound proofing and, if people start waking at 5am for work, knocking on doors to get their mates up, talking in corridors, turning on showers etc, you will waking up as well. And the rooms are very small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktravelGuanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Just last Saturday at the North Queensland tourism awards we received the finalist award for "unique accommodation" in North Queensland. When you consider the number of hotels and motels in North Queensland you can understand how pleased and excited we were, particularly when past clients as far away as Sydney and New Zealand called to congratulate us. So this was a timely reminder that although we may be a historic hotel and tourism destination, constant improvement is essential. Yes we do have soundproofing, the entire hotel is built with virtually every wall being concrete filled block construction, however I do know that even staying at five-star hotels in Sydney and Melbourne that noisy neighbours at 5 AM will wake you up regardless. So we have put in place a "friendly reminder” notice asking all of those guests who leave early to please leave quietly and considerately and we are sure this will help. In regards to the room size, we have seven different sizes and types up to family rooms and suites, so that we can try and cater for every budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Queensland - Australia
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located in the main street of Ingham, with a large statue of a horse with rider on its roof, this is the actual pub with no beer that became a famous Slim Dusty song, some years ago. It has undergone a major renovation over the past 2 years,but still retains the art deco authentic feel. Definately a must see and the large photo/artworks of all of the areas icons are really stunning. Drop in an enjoy a cool drink or a meal, whilst reading the history of the pub.

Room Tip: Actually I didnt stay overnight, but the rooms look very clean and newly renovated, but being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andromedainfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, you'll be pleased to know that the history and memorabilia of being constantly upgraded and we hope improved. The artwork was always a success, even better than we expected, and people are really starting to appreciate all the history that we are also displaying. In regards to the traffic noise , unfortunately, like a lot of towns, every hotel and motel in Ingham Is on the main road, however we are set away from the highway and over the years had very few complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Road tripping up from sunshine coast to Cairns looking for a place to stay in Ingham we googled and found Lees Hotel -Slim Dusty's original pub with no beer! After making our enquiry and discovering the affordable rates including breakfast as well as their willingness to keep the office open until we got there after 9.30pm we knew we had hit gold. With our car loaded to the hilt with mountain bikes and paddleboards strapped on when we asked about secure parking they could easily oblige. Our car was locked away securely behind a gated barbed wire topped fence behind the hotel which made for a stress free nights sleep much needed after 17 hr drive. After a massive refurb following being smashed by Cyclone Yasi, the rooms are well contained, have very comfy beds,are very clean with awesome hot water pressure in the shower another road triper bonus. Charles the owner happily informed us of his top things to see around ingham which we are stoked about and willl definately do on our return trip. Road tripers and visitors to FNQ I couldn't reccomend anywhere else to stay than Lee's hotel - a true Australian icon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Evelyn, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lees Pub with No Beer (or anything else!!). Booked here in July 2012 over the internet. Paid $119.00 for the night for a Motel room but we were given a Hotel room (up a couple of flights of stairs inside the hotel). The room was so small we didn't even take our suitcases up as there was no space for them (not even floor space). The bathroom was so small you had to close the door to be able to get across to the shower.
The restaurant was under new management and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was absolutely terrible.The new owner needs either a new chef or a new butcher.
Breakfast the next day was no better. Went for continental breakfast to find no plates, bowls, cornflakes or bread.
Venue very noisy from traffic early in the morning, staff unfriendly (apart from barmaid in public bar).
Stayed at 23 motels on our trip and this was by far the worst place we stayed and the worst value for money. This room and experience was worth about $60.00 per double.
Parking is unsecured public parking quite some distance behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, most people do, so even one unhappy client is one too many.You'll probably not stay with us again, but if you do and you your not happy with your room, please let us know - we have various room sizes and types and will be happy to change to a different room if we have the availability. Likewise if you have any other concerns, we can certainly help if we know about them. In regards to the parking, we have 2 acres of fully sealed carpark with security lighting at the rear gate , and we have lockup garages and a fully fenced lockup Carpark area for cars/four-wheel drives with trailers .Once again these are all available on request. In the meantime, if you would like to contact us by e-mail, attention Helen, just stating your full name and the date that you stayed here, we will send you a gift voucher and an entry ticket to go into the free drawer to win a family car or a holiday, and we hope you win .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was very nice although slightly high in price. The bar is excellent and also the restaurant. Owners are extremely friendly and we had a good chat with the manager, Charles, who was a top bloke. We enjoyed our brief stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshcockroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
0.6 mi away
Herbert Valley Motel
Herbert Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Ingham
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropixx Motel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Motel Ingham
Motel Ingham
#1 of 5 in Ingham
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
10.4 mi away
Forrest Beach Hotel & Caravan Park
0.6 mi away
Villa Veron Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lees Hotel

Property: Lees Hotel
Address: 58 Lannercost St, Ingham, Queensland 4850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a warm welcome awaits you with clean comfortable budget accommodation. Lunch and dinner 6 1/2days, packed lunch available Lavazza coffee, bar service everyday. Pillow top beds, air con, tiled art Deco style ensuite, lockup and secure car parking available-please book. In 2014 the hotel received the Australian Good Food Guide Readers Award for accommodation in the greater Townsville area. Not because it is a five-star high-rise, which it isn't, it received the award for the memorabilia, the artwork, the history and the warm welcome from the staff. 2012 North Queensland Tourism Awards , Lees received the Finalist Award for "Unique Accommodation",something to be proud of when you consider the number of motels in North Queensland. The Motel accommodation Is built over the site of the "Day Dawn Hotel' made famous by Slim Dusty .The entire Motel has been extensively refurbished throughout 2011/2012. Some interesting guests and visitors over the years include the Governor of Queensland in 2007. The American Ambassador, complete with bodyguards, made a special trip in 2010 and has featured on Channel 7's Sunrise as well as Channel 10's travel magazine program.Within the recently refurbished Motel we have 20 ensuite motel rooms. All of our beds are Sealy ensembles for absolute comfort with pillow top mattresses and colour-coded finishes . Rooms are fully carpeted with tea and coffee making facilities and the air conditioning systems that run in almost complete silence.Facilities include a restaurant with seating for over 120 people (just great for family or business functions), a Beer garden/Garden bar with a lawn area for the children to play, Cafe bistro with a la carte and alfresco dining . The Motel and Restaurant house the largest permanent arts exhibition of the natural wonders of the Hinchinbrook Shire as well as an extensive display of memorabilia covering the sugarcane industry and local history dating back to 1883.The Lounge area has comfortable individual lounge seating, air conditioning, full carpeting and wide screen TV. Location: The Hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of the CBD, directly across from Hinchinbrook Shire Council Hall, just 60m to Coles supermarket as well as the Post Office.Style: a substantial building with large verandahs and open-air decks, although there has been accommodation on this site since 1875, the current upgrade has withstood the test of time over the last 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Lees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing