We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The authentic home of the"pub with no beer"”
Review of Lees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lees Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Far North Queensland - Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“The authentic home of the"pub with no beer"”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located in the main street of Ingham, with a large statue of a horse with rider on its roof, this is the actual pub with no beer that became a famous Slim Dusty song, some years ago. It has undergone a major renovation over the past 2 years,but still retains the art deco authentic feel. Definately a must see and the large photo/artworks of all of the areas icons are really stunning. Drop in an enjoy a cool drink or a meal, whilst reading the history of the pub.

Room Tip: Actually I didnt stay overnight, but the rooms look very clean and newly renovated, but being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andromedainfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, you'll be pleased to know that the history and memorabilia of being constantly upgraded and we hope improved. The artwork was always a success, even better than we expected, and people are really starting to appreciate all the history that we are also displaying. In regards to the traffic noise , unfortunately, like a lot of towns, every hotel and motel in Ingham Is on the main road, however we are set away from the highway and over the years had very few complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
13
25
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Road tripping up from sunshine coast to Cairns looking for a place to stay in Ingham we googled and found Lees Hotel -Slim Dusty's original pub with no beer! After making our enquiry and discovering the affordable rates including breakfast as well as their willingness to keep the office open until we got there after 9.30pm we knew we had hit gold. With our car loaded to the hilt with mountain bikes and paddleboards strapped on when we asked about secure parking they could easily oblige. Our car was locked away securely behind a gated barbed wire topped fence behind the hotel which made for a stress free nights sleep much needed after 17 hr drive. After a massive refurb following being smashed by Cyclone Yasi, the rooms are well contained, have very comfy beds,are very clean with awesome hot water pressure in the shower another road triper bonus. Charles the owner happily informed us of his top things to see around ingham which we are stoked about and willl definately do on our return trip. Road tripers and visitors to FNQ I couldn't reccomend anywhere else to stay than Lee's hotel - a true Australian icon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Evelyn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lees Pub with No Beer (or anything else!!). Booked here in July 2012 over the internet. Paid $119.00 for the night for a Motel room but we were given a Hotel room (up a couple of flights of stairs inside the hotel). The room was so small we didn't even take our suitcases up as there was no space for them (not even floor space). The bathroom was so small you had to close the door to be able to get across to the shower.
The restaurant was under new management and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was absolutely terrible.The new owner needs either a new chef or a new butcher.
Breakfast the next day was no better. Went for continental breakfast to find no plates, bowls, cornflakes or bread.
Venue very noisy from traffic early in the morning, staff unfriendly (apart from barmaid in public bar).
Stayed at 23 motels on our trip and this was by far the worst place we stayed and the worst value for money. This room and experience was worth about $60.00 per double.
Parking is unsecured public parking quite some distance behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Manager at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, most people do, so even one unhappy client is one too many.You'll probably not stay with us again, but if you do and you your not happy with your room, please let us know - we have various room sizes and types and will be happy to change to a different room if we have the availability. Likewise if you have any other concerns, we can certainly help if we know about them. In regards to the parking, we have 2 acres of fully sealed carpark with security lighting at the rear gate , and we have lockup garages and a fully fenced lockup Carpark area for cars/four-wheel drives with trailers .Once again these are all available on request. In the meantime, if you would like to contact us by e-mail, attention Helen, just stating your full name and the date that you stayed here, we will send you a gift voucher and an entry ticket to go into the free drawer to win a family car or a holiday, and we hope you win .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingham hotels

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was very nice although slightly high in price. The bar is excellent and also the restaurant. Owners are extremely friendly and we had a good chat with the manager, Charles, who was a top bloke. We enjoyed our brief stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshcockroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed one night at Lee's Hotel. The room was recently renovated and comfortable, the shared balcony pleasant to sit out on as the sun set.

The staff were friendly and helpful, offering a secured lockup for the night for my bike.

The central location is handy for accessing the cafe's, restaurants and supermarket but being on the main road it was a bit noisy till about 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I found my stay most enjoyable and the staff more than friendly. The room was clean and well furnished, with some modern touches. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable, the bathroom was a tad small and dated, but was immaculately cleaned and large enough that it wasn't inconvenient. After-hours key access through the front of the hotel was great, as I was worried that I might have issues returning at 2am one niht and the large carpark behind with direct access to the rooms via stairs during the day made parking convenient. Check-in was a breeze and on checkout I just had to leave my key at the front counter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twistieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hi, Due to wet weather we decided to stay in a motel for the night instead of overnighting in our camper trailers on our way up north. At the last minute we booked into Lee's Hotel, Ingham. We were concerned about leaving our not so secure camper trailers and cars with roof racks outside in the car park. The management kindly let us drive them in behind a locked gate allowing us to have a perfect and worry-free sleep on their very comfy beds. The rooms were large, very clean, well presented and excellent value for money. The dining area was well presented and the meals were very tasty. The staff in the dining room were friendly, helpful and kind to the 6 children accompanying us. A continental breakfast was included in our tariff. If we ever have to overnight anywhere near Ingham, Lee's will be where we choose to stay. Thanks for the very comfy overnighter.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lees Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you, the staff really appreciated your kind words. And thank you for reminding us that we probably don't tell enough people who need secure parking that there is additional space other than the half acre of well lit carpark hidden behind the hotel/motel. We talked about this at our management meeting and it was a real head shaker, we just have to do better at letting people know that there is more to our car parking facilities than just place to park RVs and four-wheel drives with trailers. Once again thank you for your great feedback it has really been appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
0.4 mi away
Tropixx Motel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Herbert Valley Motel
Herbert Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Ingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lucinda Point Hotel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Orpheus Island Lodge
Orpheus Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Orpheus Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Ingham
Motel Ingham
#1 of 5 in Ingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lees Hotel

Property: Lees Hotel
Address: 58 Lannercost St, Ingham, Queensland 4850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a warm welcome awaits you with clean comfortable budget accommodation. Lunch and dinner 6 1/2days, packed lunch available Lavazza coffee, bar service everyday. Pillow top beds, air con, tiled art Deco style ensuite, lockup and secure car parking available-please book. In 2014 the hotel received the Australian Good Food Guide Readers Award for accommodation in the greater Townsville area. Not because it is a five-star high-rise, which it isn't, it received the award for the memorabilia, the artwork, the history and the warm welcome from the staff. 2012 North Queensland Tourism Awards , Lees received the Finalist Award for "Unique Accommodation",something to be proud of when you consider the number of motels in North Queensland. The Motel accommodation Is built over the site of the "Day Dawn Hotel' made famous by Slim Dusty .The entire Motel has been extensively refurbished throughout 2011/2012. Some interesting guests and visitors over the years include the Governor of Queensland in 2007. The American Ambassador, complete with bodyguards, made a special trip in 2010 and has featured on Channel 7's Sunrise as well as Channel 10's travel magazine program.Within the recently refurbished Motel we have 20 ensuite motel rooms. All of our beds are Sealy ensembles for absolute comfort with pillow top mattresses and colour-coded finishes . Rooms are fully carpeted with tea and coffee making facilities and the air conditioning systems that run in almost complete silence.Facilities include a restaurant with seating for over 120 people (just great for family or business functions), a Beer garden/Garden bar with a lawn area for the children to play, Cafe bistro with a la carte and alfresco dining . The Motel and Restaurant house the largest permanent arts exhibition of the natural wonders of the Hinchinbrook Shire as well as an extensive display of memorabilia covering the sugarcane industry and local history dating back to 1883.The Lounge area has comfortable individual lounge seating, air conditioning, full carpeting and wide screen TV. Location: The Hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of the CBD, directly across from Hinchinbrook Shire Council Hall, just 60m to Coles supermarket as well as the Post Office.Style: a substantial building with large verandahs and open-air decks, although there has been accommodation on this site since 1875, the current upgrade has withstood the test of time over the last 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing