We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place to stay”
Review of Lees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lees Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Reviewed April 20, 2012

first time i have done a review on any place but felt i had to do one on the original pub with no beer.Julie the manager gave me a warm welcome on arrival,the rooms are serviced each day and clean and tidy,its just a pleasant change to find all the staff from the barmaid ,the restaurant staff and the ladies who clean your room,everyone has a smile and nothing is too much trouble.would certainly stay here on my next trip to ingham.if there vwas anything i would suggest would be a small desk to enable me to use my laptop.Laurie T

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Lees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Laurie, thank you for your kind words,I have passed your comments on to our friendly helpful staff and they really appreciated all you said and that you took the time and effort to say it.

Thank you for the alert on the small desk, we have now made sure that there is one in every single room as well as putting a slightly larger coffee table/desk in the foyer lounge to make it easier to use a laptop there. Once again thank you for your positive comment, it's what helps us keep on making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Having recently stayed at Lee's hotel, I can say I was very impressed. Not only did the newly renovated hotel look great, but the staff were friendly and the food was great. When we arrived, we had a lovely lunch in the main bar and after that decided to stay the night. The rooms were very clean, well presented and excellent value for money. The dining area had a great feel and the meals were well presented and very tasty. After my stay, it's obvious that the huge effort to make this hotel the pace to stay in Ingham has paid off, and with my regular trips up north, I have secured it in my itinerary. Thanks guys, and see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonodav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Lees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is gratifying to know that all the Refurbishment we have carried out over the last 12 months is really appreciated, and of course it is ongoing. Earlier this month we finished the new “hitching rail bar” at the front of the hotel and we've already had the 1st 2 horses tied up there! Actually that was for the reenactment of the “Pub with no beer” story made famous by Slim Dusty in his hit song in 1975. Everybody have a lot of fun, we didn't run out of beer ! and we look for to seeing you on your return. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

we wanted to stay somewere with real character while site seeing on the way north.just loved lees hotel, comfy beds ,pleasant staff and the food was great, and the wifi was free! we will deffinately stay there on the way back south.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Travel north quite regularly for work, this hotel has gone through an amazing transformation in the past few months. The staff are friendly and courteous and nothing seems too much trouble. The meals are great value and excellent quality. The rooms are very clean and tidy, and the beds are amazing (almost better than mine at home) Will stay there again and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ingham.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattr177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had stayed at Lee's Hotel about 8 months ago, and thought the accommodation was OK.
They were obviously in the prosess of renovating the hotel and you could see the immprovements starting to take place.
This time we stayed there,( December 2011 )the reno's were finished and the place looks Fantastic. If you visit their Web Site you will see what I mean.
We hada great stay, and couldn't speek more highly of the whole experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a pleasant experience when staying at this hotel recently. We were welcomed by very friendly staff and the check in process went very smoothly. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant before retiring to our room for a very comfortable nights sleep. Will certainly be staying at this hotel again when needing accommodation in Ingham.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

One of the worst establishments I have ever stayed at. It started when I checked in. One week previous I had booked by phone, all details confirmed. When I arrived at reception I rang the bell, waited 5 minutes. Finally a disinterested and poorly groomed girl emerged from the bar and when I communicated I had a room booked shrugged her shoulders in a “i don’t really care that you are a hotel guest" kind of way. I was almost about to leave and book somewhere else when she found my details. Any way, walked upstairs to the room, clean queen bed was good but too big for the very small room making movement around the room quite difficult. Bathroom was old, not renovated, the old pink tiles had a bit of a retro feel, but all seemed clean. Next disappointment was dinner. Had the salt and pepper squid for entree. $9.50 for 4 tiny strips of what I assume was processed calimari. Seafoood basket @ $22 was the equivalent of a fried fat fest. Frozen crap served half fried. The people on the table next to me actually refused to pay for their steaks as they were in their words "foul". Needless to say I didn't dine there again. The big topper was on Wednesday night when the PNG barmaid stole money from me twice. $20 given for $5 schooner, $5 change. The first time I let it go, like you do when you think "surely that didn't just happen, it must be me". When the thief struck a second time I fronted her about it. She denied it but returned what she deemed a $10 tip under protest to me – I’m still $10 down for the first drink which I stupidly let go as an “honest mistake”. Lees is a central place to stay but advice to the wary traveller, don’t eat or drink here. – staff are dishonest and inept. I hope the licensee reads this and address the staffing issues, because Lee's would be a great place to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Lees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

There has been a hotel on this site since 1875, it is doubtful there has been a worse review than this in the last 137 years. In 2011, after cyclone Yasi, the hotel went through a $1 million makeover to reestablish it to a much higher standard in line with its history of being the original hotel in Slim Dusty's epic number 1 Australian hit ; “the pub with no beer” and of course the only Heritage Listed Iconic Hotel in Queensland. [Ice cold beer is on tap in the sports bar, the lounge bar, and the restaurant]. It would appear that it is only since regaining its popularity that Lees Hotel has received such criticism. However Lees management team accepts completely full responsibility for your review and can only hope that should you return, you will see all the improvements now that the refurbishment is complete and enjoy the food prepared by the 2 full-time chefs. The team's only request is that should you return, and you find anything at all not to your satisfaction, that this time, would you please contact one of the following people who will be happy to assist: the front office manager, the hotel manager, the duty manager, the head of housekeeping or either of the owners who were all in attendance last October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
0.4 mi away
Tropixx Motel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Herbert Valley Motel
Herbert Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Ingham
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Veron Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
22.7 mi away
Orpheus Island Lodge
Orpheus Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Orpheus Island
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Ingham
Motel Ingham
#1 of 5 in Ingham
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lees Hotel

Address: 58 Lannercost St, Ingham, Queensland 4850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a warm welcome awaits you with clean comfortable budget accommodation. Lunch and dinner 6 1/2days, packed lunch available Lavazza coffee, bar service everyday. Pillow top beds, air con, tiled art Deco style ensuite, lockup and secure car parking available-please book. In 2014 the hotel received the Australian Good Food Guide Readers Award for accommodation in the greater Townsville area. Not because it is a five-star high-rise, which it isn't, it received the award for the memorabilia, the artwork, the history and the warm welcome from the staff. 2012 North Queensland Tourism Awards , Lees received the Finalist Award for "Unique Accommodation",something to be proud of when you consider the number of motels in North Queensland. The Motel accommodation Is built over the site of the "Day Dawn Hotel' made famous by Slim Dusty .The entire Motel has been extensively refurbished throughout 2011/2012. Some interesting guests and visitors over the years include the Governor of Queensland in 2007. The American Ambassador, complete with bodyguards, made a special trip in 2010 and has featured on Channel 7's Sunrise as well as Channel 10's travel magazine program.Within the recently refurbished Motel we have 20 ensuite motel rooms. All of our beds are Sealy ensembles for absolute comfort with pillow top mattresses and colour-coded finishes . Rooms are fully carpeted with tea and coffee making facilities and the air conditioning systems that run in almost complete silence.Facilities include a restaurant with seating for over 120 people (just great for family or business functions), a Beer garden/Garden bar with a lawn area for the children to play, Cafe bistro with a la carte and alfresco dining . The Motel and Restaurant house the largest permanent arts exhibition of the natural wonders of the Hinchinbrook Shire as well as an extensive display of memorabilia covering the sugarcane industry and local history dating back to 1883.The Lounge area has comfortable individual lounge seating, air conditioning, full carpeting and wide screen TV. Location: The Hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of the CBD, directly across from Hinchinbrook Shire Council Hall, just 60m to Coles supermarket as well as the Post Office.Style: a substantial building with large verandahs and open-air decks, although there has been accommodation on this site since 1875, the current upgrade has withstood the test of time over the last 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing