We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropixx Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have had the privilege of staying at Tropixx one night a week, just about every week for the past 2 years. In that time I can honestly say that I have never felt so welcome as I have every time I checked in at Tropixx. All of the staff from the Managers to the housekeepers, the Chef through to the kitchen hands, have gone out of their way to make my stay as pleasant and hassle free as is possible.
I have had the pleasure of enjoying the best cuisine I have ever encountered at the restaurant. I know from those who have followed my recommendation that I am not alone in saying that the standard of cuisine from Tropixx more than matches and competes with the best either Townsville, Cairns, or, for that matter, Brisbane has to offer.
For anyone wanting a relaxing night or series of nights in a motel where the staff ALL provide excellent, friendly, efficient and unobstrusive service, in the true sense of the word, you would be hard pressed to go past Tropixx.

Room Tip: Personally I like the ones overlooking Tyto wetlands,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clean and comfortable and walking distance to the tyto wetlands - like across the road! Made friends with a baby tree frog in our bathroom. Restaurant menu looked good but we skipped this. Ingham is a nice little town. Missed out on wallamen falls as it was too cloudy - only go when it is sunny!! Saw plenty of birds and turtles across the road

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezzagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I live locally in ingham area, but usually drive down to townsville to eat out, but had the in laws visiting recently and didn't want to drive down so went for dinner in ingham at the tropix restaurant. The place is spotless, and I can't remember the name of the waitress but this lady was great and the best service iv had in ages. The food was delicious and no long waits, even when the restaurant filled up with people. The price is on par with other places but compared with many in townsville the service was outstanding and nice cosy atmosphere, not rushed at all. Best part that made our night was the complimentary glasses of port at the end! Will definately be coming back more often now, its so good and we didn't know it was on our doorstep, no need to drive to townsville for a nice dinner out.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dustys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tropixx is a new well designed motel in Ingham which offers plenty for both business and holiday Travellers. The staff are wonderful, especially the restaurant staff who had to stay late for our group of about 25 who arrived at 9pm, which would normally find most motel restaurants closed. Despite the huge group all ordering different meals at the same time, the food was delicious and very well presented. Rooms have all you need and the showers have great pressure hot water for those cold nights!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Unfortunately i only had one night at Tropixx. And thankfully..all the other motels were booked out due to a football competition that weekend. From the word go..the staff/owners were extremely professional and obliging. Nothing was a problem and their courteous service and attention to detail were fabulous. The rooms were excellent. Beautiful furnishings, great bed/bathroom. Room was furnished with bar fridge..also stocked with drinks/nibblies even noodles and more substantial items like bottles of wine/beer etc. Also plates, glasses etc. There is an onsite restaurant..where the menu sounded very inticing..but for this visit i chose to have dinner in Ingham. They will even gladly supply picnic hampers and even meat for the BBQ also on site. This group of local owners certainly go above and beyond!There is also an amazing fresh and cooked Seafood market directly across the road from the Hotel. Ingham (little Italy)is a lovely place to visit. There are also some beautiful drives and beaches in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livetotravel3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was a good stop, I have had a good run lately, in Bowen, Plaza Hotel in Townsville and now here. Clean room, and very comfy bed, I ate out at an Italian place for dinner but breakfast was good at the hotel. I would recommend this one also.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Townsville is the larger location, but let me tell you that this was by far a superior level of accommodation than I find in Townsville.

The bistro had great food, clean and crisp flavours with friendly staff. They have a great online pre-paid rate (which is about 10-15% cheaper than paying after your stay).

The room I had was large enough to have a couch - yes, couch, rather than just armchair - which you could watch telly from. This is a significant improvement on always having to sit on the bed to watch telly. The desk and minibar were standard, but the bathroom was modern and fully equipped.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Prepay through the Tropixx website and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anasatasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
0.4 mi away
Lees Hotel
Lees Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ingham
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Herbert Valley Motel
Herbert Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Ingham
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Ingham
Motel Ingham
#1 of 5 in Ingham
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hinchinbrook Marine Cove Resort
0.2 mi away
Villa Veron Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Noorla Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropixx Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropixx Motel & Restaurant

Address: 45 Cooper St | PO Box 844, Ingham, Queensland 4850, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingham
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropixx Motel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tropixx Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing