We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”
Review of Man Friday

Man Friday
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great food in a wonderful setting, with the added benefit of local wildlife wandering around. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank funnychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    81
    25
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We rang to see if they had a take away menu as we were staying in picnic bay. They said definitely, so we got our family together and drove over. We only took about 20 minutes to get there and as we walked in and asked for the menus we were told they could not serve us as they had received too many orders to cope with the demand - well that would have been nice if we were told that before we made the trip over. The restaurant had only 5 tables with people on them and about 13 free so they couldn't say the were overwhelmed with customer. Absolutely pathetic that they told us we could not order takeaways when we were there because they were "too" busy, hello it's the Easter break, maybe they should have more staff and pre-warn people who call. The lady wasn't even apologetic which made our experience worse - definitely do not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Definitely a MUST if you are visiting Magnetic Island. Our favourite restaurant on the island. Quality of the food is excellent. They have both mexican and al-a-carte menu so great if not everyone in your party likes mexican food and all meals are big and taste great - have been here a number of times and the quality of the food is always great and price is very reasonable. Kids menu has plenty of variety and portions are huge. No-one ever leaves hungery from here!!!
Beautiful atmosphere, especially if sitting outside amongst the palms. Basic table and chairs setting but comfortable and the surroundings are gorgeous. Feel like you are in your own little part of paradise. The owners are involved in looking after injured wildlife on the island and happily feed the local possums and curlews - most of them have been rescued and have looked after and released by the owners. Our kids (and everyone else's) love seeing the possums on the fences and the staff give them some food which is reallly exciting. Definitely a highlight for both the kids and the adults and adds some entertainment to the evening.
Staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and service is quick and always with a smile!
Cannot recommend highly enough - but best to book as it is very busy - it is also very popular with the locals not only the tourists.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YS118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mexican Night”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A very popular restaurant especially with tourists.
Eating outside is better than in.
Pretty good service.
The steak with blue vein cheese sauce is to die for.
Not great coffee.
Warm fire pit outside in winter.
Great lighting very atmosphric!!!!!
Reasonable prices.
Would definantly go again but you need to book.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImogenClaireRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The atmosphere of this small restaurant was very enjoyable. It's slightly hiddened away and has a tropical feel to it. Dining outside at night was very relaxing. The waitresses were superb and attentive. The food portions large and the overall quality of the food was very good. The prices were excellent. I would definitely recommend this mexican restaurant to people enjoying Magnetic island.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man Friday also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
 
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
Picnic Bay, Magnetic Island
 
Arcadia, Magnetic Island
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
 

Been to Man Friday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing