We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient self contained apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Reviewed May 16, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

2 bedroom ocean view is the perfect way to go. Roomy, well appointed and peaceful. Only one downer - better block out blinds in 2nd bedroom as even at night there is lots of outside fluros so the bedroom is very well lit! apart from that an amazing location. Lovely reception staff, hope to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderwoman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at One Bright Point for 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment. I was on the first floor in the Ashmore building, which overlooks the harbour. The room layout is interesting, with the shower curtain separating the bathroom and bedroom, whilst there is nothing at all separating the bathroom from the living room. Which means if you don't close the blinds, then everyone coming past on the ferry can watch you shower. I guess this isn't likely to be an issue in a one bedroom apartment, since it is mostly going to be used by individuals or couples. I wouldn't want to be on the ground floor though, I think that would really compromise your privacy.

There were a few superficial maintenance issues in my room, such as black scuff marks around the legs of the couch and a couple of rust spots developing on the fridge, but these were merely minor presentation issues. Everything in my room worked fine and I had a very enjoyable stay. The location is so handy to ferries and buses, plus the IGA supermarket. A great base for exploring this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oriolus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

But the place is looking quite tired, the beds are old and being so close to the waters edge maintenance can hardly keep pace with deteriorating surfaces. Service folks and efficient but not overly friendly....you get the impression its all too much managing this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Beijingmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a two bedroom facing the ocean and the views are gorgeous. Lying in bed at night listening to the waves crashing right outside is peaceful indeed!! Paying extra for this view rather than a harbour views well worth it.

The apartment was clean, modern, very well laid out, soundproof (yay couldn't hear neighbours), and well stocked with all essential self catering items.

There are 4 pools so even in a peak time were never busy. The signs to the gym are misleading - most of the gyms are empty rooms or a room with 2 bits of equipment, but head up to the rooftop pool and you'll find a better equipped gym there. If you are so inclined!!

IGA across the road was very handy. But not a lot of shops or eating paces nearby and you have to get on the bus to get to a beach you can swim at.

Other reviews have noted rude management ... We didn't experience that...they certainly weren't gushingly friendly....but no one providing service on 'Maggie' is. Our stay is never rated by the 5 minute interaction you have with front desk so didn't bother us at all.

A great stay!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean room!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank meplainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a wonderful time nothing was a bother hired 3 apartments 2 2 bedroom and 1 3 bedroom beautiful views well set out hired a car from them no hassle would definitely go back great pools any problems were attended to immediately

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Trabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
2.9 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
121 reviews
1 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
269 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#1 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#1 of 1 in Nelly Bay
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $157 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing